well done veronica campbell! congratulations!

VERY! Statuesque! Unnu memba di race whe dem call back after di athletes dem did almost finish, and Merlene tek har time walk back to di blocks - what a sight to behold!

sub 10.80? Man that a miracle time ten years ago and still is today. Not many people can manage that at all. 10.90 was enough to win most meets unless you are FLO JO.

Veronica Campbell of Jamaica sprints to the finish to win the women's 100m title (Getty Images)Osaka 2007 - HIGHLIGHTS, Day 3
        Monday 27 August 200727 August 2007 - Osaka, Japan - It took eleven seconds to run, and ten minutes to decide who won the women’s 100 metres.
        Campbell over Williams by the narrowest of margins
        It looked to most expert observers that Veronica Cambell of Jamaica had just got up on the line to snatch victory from defending champion, Lauryn Williams of the USA. But the computer decided that Torri Edwards had won. Justice prevailed, and Campbell, the Olympic 200 metres champion rescued some pride for Jamaica after another sort of high drama the night before when Tyson Gay beat Asafa Powell to the men’s title. It was close though, Cambell winning in 11.01sec, with Williams sharing the time, and the third US sprinter, Carmelita Jeter third in 11.02. Edwards was fourth in 11.05.

But Merlene could. That is the point.

merlene was a world champ...she won the 200!

10.49? unnuh realise how RIDICULOUS that look and sound!?

true...but dont forget she tested positive for nandrolone and got off on a technicality

but she coulda win 10 2s, that mek it 20?

Fair. If only she used drugs when she was younger!

den dem did out fi "merlenise" these championships too? that would have been too much...."ho no, ho no, not anedder phodo finish!"

easy fi say still. She has the time and I understand your point but only 3 and 4th place runners do them best times in Olympics. Most of the stars while doing good will never break their personal best especially since the 80s unless you are Flo Jo and Ben J

well dem have it fi seh dat when she was younger she was on boil dumplin, boil yam and cornmeal porridge. all of which i understand and nor on the IAAF list of banned substances.

Islandman you see the time here?

Bredren I not arguing absolute time, I am talking about losing with performances much worse than what you are capable of. If an athelete does a PR or even season best and come 4th you can't feel too bad bout that. But if you consistently running sub-11 races and then keep losing big meets with with a 11.1 performances then you have a problem.

If you win it is less relevant what you time is really, because you win.

So VC won with a time quite slower than her best for the season, but look at the next 4 competitors.

1 7 577 Veronica Campbell JAM 11.01 . 0.167
                              2 4 1007 Lauryn Williams USA 11.01 (SB) 0.145
                              3 8 972 Carmelita Jeter USA 11.02 (PB) 0.189
                              4 6 959 Torri Edwards USA 11.05 . 0.141
                              5 3 239 Kim Gevaert BEL 11.05 (SB) 0.143

bwoy you memory good brethren.

you have me a stare inna space