Asafa 3rd!

Which fragile Bolt?? Which rock have you been living under for the last year?
    Bolt has the speed to win! He certainly is fastest to 180 meters...but, as to his mental strength?

We all better hope he keeps his mind as far as the mechanics of the race is concerned...and, on another plain, runs scared - as did Cosmond Vaughn in 1960 champs and runs 'out of his skin'!

btw - For those who were not yet born - It was 440 yards on the Sabina Park track. The straight way to the finish line was 40 years. Vaughn came around the corner last - a good last...perhaps, 2 yards behind his good friend McBean from Cornwall...and, ran to the head of the pack in a 20 yard burst. Record breaker and Champion for the then great time of 50.1 secs.

The only case in a 440 yards race (...and, or 400 meters race for that matter, where the runner ran the last 40 yards as fast as his first 40 yards) where my eyes told me the impossible happened - last 40 yards appeared fastest covering of ground by the runner.
    Last edited by Karl; August 26, 2007, 11:06 AM.

That's what he said!

no sickko... he ran a couple 400m early.. maybe 3... thats not what i am referring... i am talking about consistently running 200m races hard to win... not just as preparation...

imho, asafa needs mental strength... to know that it is ok to lose if you give your best effort is a quality that the usa runners and sportsteams in general, have over most of the world athletes...

thats an overlooked aspect of sports that i believe asafa could have benefited from a college program... seems to me, the us athletes going through their college coaching systems have gained that over the rest of the world...

Some knock the NCAA program, saying that they race too often and that they burn out for big meets like this.

listening to juliet cuthbert...

i heard her say at that level, asafa or no athlete should stop fighting (in so many words)... i heard a former national representative who have been successful at the highest levels offer an insight that is rare among jamaican sports journalists...

it was evident that she was cultured throughout her career to give 100% at all times in every event... continue fighting, give all your effort... neck muscles straining to get that last bit of energy to will the body to give the best effort... she was disappointed that asafa gave less than his best effort...

she acknowledged his honesty and candor, but was nonetheless annoyed with his explanation of his subpar effort...

however, can they knock the success of the athletes that have gone through the grind of the ncaa programs when it comes to big meets requiring rounds...

the people who knock the ncaa programs are the ones who either fail through indiscipline or refusal to acknowledge that their talent falls short...

asafa is a choker... although a bit harsh, i believe his coach has a role to play in his failures at the big events...

i dont believe asafa is being pushed to the max... maybe he needs to change coaches to get him to the next level... this is not a knock on franno as his achievements are beyond dispute...

Mi lose offa Powell. Eediat athlete that to me now. If u cant win a Gold medal, it nuh matter how much u want bruk world record. RUX!! A fool dat man. Eediat only coulda get bronze. Me like him mi woulda too shame fi go pon di podium. All this hype everybody a build bout u and u can only manage third place. *hiss teeth*

Mi a line up some a mi bredrin dem fi we go airport go boo him.

Karl - not because is track and field you have to move the post. This is INTERNATIONAL news of some significance. Most people read the other forum. How yu so quick on the draw...mek people read it nuh!!! Cho!

Not so sure that is what Asafa needs. Seems like every time he runs a 200m his groin acts up.

Except for Tyson Gay and Allison Felix how many other works classed sprinters are doubling 1/200 these days?

I am not going to second guess his program at all

Well Kerron Stewart looked badly burnt out and she had an outstanding NCAA season this year but I do get the point Mosiah.

You are a wicked man and disengenious as well, the medical people confirmed that Bolt had a tear and if you recalled he was not able to run for the rest of the year.

Then again two years is a long time and people memory short

Is Felix really doubling? Don't think so.

Tear!! that was a subsequent injury, athlete with tear muscle stop, drop, and hold on to dem injured leg. We all debated that scenario after the race..forumites were even debating if he should have participated in the relays. Bwoy walk off nice and healthy...him tear him muscle doing the chakka ckakka at Quad. Anyway that is water under the bridge, lets move on. I wish him all the best in this championship.
                              Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                              Mitty

Mi nuh know bout nuh tear. He had a very suspect attitude and drive.