• Eyeing the Gatlin/USADA secret deal

Eyeing the Gatlin/USADA secret deal

Within recent weeks, I have been watching, with great interest, what appears to be a subtle move by track and field interest in the United States to find a way around the doping ban imposed on sprinter Justin Gatlin, who tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs for a second time last year.

Based on information filtering down through the media, it would appear that Gatlin is poised to benefit from a questionable deal he struck with the United States Anti-doping Agency (USADA), which promised him leniency should he provide information to implicate his former coach, Jamaica-born Trevor Graham.

secret deal
    It would appear that Gatlin has kept his part of the deal by secretly recording conversations with Graham, and then turning over the tapes to USADA. That process on his part appears to be the prelude to a carefully orchestrated plot to destroy Graham and exonerate Gatlin on the grounds that he was a victim and not a villain.

Personally, I see the Gatlin/ USADA scheme as yet another case of arrogance and hypocrisy by the American authorities, which seem to suggest that there should be one rule for American athletes and another for athletes such as Ben Johnson, who they vilified back in 1988 after he tested positive following a victory over their beloved Carl Lewis.

As far as I am concerned, the rules governing the punishment for using performance-enhancing drugs are clear and unambiguous to the extent that not even a layman should have a problem understanding them. So, it is difficult to understand the ********************-footing by USADA.

The rules clearly state that if you are caught cheating twice, you face an automatic life ban. Gatlin, who was previously caught as a student at the University of Tennessee prior to his 2006 positive test, has had his two strikes. He should be out whether or not he becomes a campaigner in the crusade to remove drugs from sport.

serve life ban
    While there might be some value if Gatlin is able to provide proof that all is not well with coach Graham, especially if there is really a genuine bid to rid athletics of drugs, I still think he should serve his life ban. In fact, I hope the rest of the world does not stand by and allow this plea-bargain between Gatlin and USADA to circumvent the rules.

While I might not have all the evidence, I believe that the Americans have been operating in murky waters insofar as their athletes and drug testing are concerned. It would appear that even some of their star athletes have escaped punishment in the past because the results were not made public.

When one looks at the situation with the infamous BALCO lab and the number of athletes who have been implicated, but have escaped punishment because of an apparent unwillingness to properly process the cases against them, it really leaves one to question the sincerity of the U.S. authorities.

While the hands of coach Graham might or might not be clean, I have a feeling that the fact that he was the one who initially spilled the beans on the BALCO situation has made him the enemy a lot of very powerful persons. It, therefore, stands to reason that a good way to punish him would be to make him a scapegoat for Gatlin's indiscretions.
    I recently read in the media that Mr. Gatlin is quite hopeful that he might be cleared as early as next week, which would pave the way for him to participate in the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. I am waiting with bated breath to see what will happen because if he is set free, it would be rated as, arguably, the greatest mockery that has been made of athletics.

Groooannnn.......Karl spare us the agony

..but, do you believe that Gatlin will get another 'bly'?

Better you ask me if I care, cause I don't. I have never been under any impression that our athletes were clean while the 'evil Americans' were all drugged up.

Think how many of our athletes have tested positive including your dearly beloved Merlene and Jumping James Beckford

Better you ask me if I care, cause I don't. I have never been under any impression that our athletes were clean while the 'evil Americans' were all drugged up.

Think how many of our athletes have tested positive including your dearly beloved Merlene and Jumping James Beckford
          Merlene?
          ...medication for known and proven ailment!
          Cho man, duh betta dan dat!
          ...yet...on the matter of the taking of "enhancers" you know I have no problem with that. Simple premise - man always has,...and always shall strive to be better at living and has and always shall use products that enhance performance and life. Cannot expect athletes to suddenly or at any time renounce 'being man'!

Karl, you cant rewrite history, Merelene Ottey's defence was never that she ever took anything containing Nandrolone for any illness..no man you going on too bad now.

Blouse and skirts you good to rhatid...what was this 'known illness' again Karl????

Merlene come from Hanover, round di corner from him. Cool nuh sickko man!

Actually Karl claims kinship with Ottey, he did not say how....but be warned Mosiah you dont want to say anything that is not high praises of Merlene here or you could have the wrath of certain posters come down on you

well i have no kinship wid merlene...would have loved to "fostered" some though....

Karl, you cant rewrite history, Merelene Ottey's defence was never that she ever took anything containing Nandrolone for any illness..no man you going on too bad now.

Blouse and skirts you good to rhatid...what was this 'known illness' again Karl????
                    Was there not a question on one occasion about pseudoephedrine? I think, that was explained away as a pre-existing condition flaring up.

Young Reggae Boyz grounded
                      published: Friday | August 17, 2007

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz, defending Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-15 Cup champions, will forfeit their title, after last-ditch efforts by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) to get emergency visa appointment dates from the United States Embassy failed yesterday.

With the tournament scheduled to kick off tomorrow in Trinidad and Tobago the contingent will have to stay put, owing to the fact that 13 members of the 22-man squad have no U.S. visas. The visas have become a requirement because the flight, which would have taken the team to Trinidad via the Miami International Airport.

The team was originally expected to travel straight to Trinidad via Caribbean Airlines, but lost their seats on that flight due to an inability to finalise the squad so the airline could confirm the booking.

Sources close to the JFF organisation have, however, also indicated that economic concerns might have been a factor in the decision to change flight plans, with the JFF having a current deal with national carriers Air Jamaica.

When The Gleaner made an attempt to clarify the issue general secretary Burchell Gibson refused to comment, stating that the facts of the case were generally known already. The team had an almost identical problem when they won the tournament in 2005 with most of the players being granted U.S. visas at the last minute.

No fruit
                      According to a press release sent out by the JFF, online applications for emergency visa appointments resulted in November being the earliest possible date. A subsequent attempt to hold a meeting with the consular section of the U.S. Embassy bore no fruit. The JFF had earlier managed a successful emergency meeting with the Ministry of National Security, as many of the players also had no passports.

The situation was a distressing one for head coach Patrick 'Jackie' Walters, who was given a mandate to start preparing the team just a little over two weeks ago, after what seemed to be a very late selection of a technical team by the JFF.

"Of course I think that all of this could have been avoided, but that's an administrative issue. As the coach and manager, we did everything possible to go to that tournament," said Walters, who was assistant coach when the team won the tournament.
                      "It's a major disappointment for us, but more than that, this set the programme back quite a bit," he added.

-------------------------

This post is in the wrong place/forum...and for some reason I just cannot delete it.
                      Last edited by Karl; August 17, 2007, 08:14 AM.

well i have no kinship wid merlene...would have loved to "fostered" some though....
                        Sickko got it wrong. There is a family connection. This is Jamaica we are talking about. ...and, the old man and her Grandfather went to school together and were very good friends. Hell...we lived shouting distance apart.

One step forward (Pan Am silver), two steps backward (CFU U-15 debacle).

You seem to be correct. I just did a search and I saw no mention of pseudoephidrine only Nandrolone.

Give you winnings, sah! ...and, additionally the ban was overturned because the tests were deemed to have been not properly carried out...not pre-existing condition as I said. Suh mi strike out twice! (Nearest tuh egg pan face. Needed, such an emoticon).
                            Last edited by Karl; August 17, 2007, 09:06 AM.

On that premise all a we a cousin even you and Brain Damaged, in my book anything over third cousin dont count