so the Patterson report was just blowing hot air & what does all of that have to do with New Zealand paying their players more with the same limited resources the WICB has?
David Warner
Haven't read the report cover to cover.
The FACT is over the years and perhaps since inception. WICB and it's predecessor WICBC were not good custodians of our cricket.
Calling all prayer warriors, I have a lot on my mind and heart.....so much that I have been praying about for quite a while, and even more currently so, I figure getting an online prayer circle going wouldn't hurt. Much love to everyone who reads this. I believe that when someone asks you to pray for them, you pray because prayers are free and should be given wholeheartedly! I decided to do this today because I'm standing in the need of prayer and so many others are as well. Let's pray for each other today, regardless of who or what your spiritual foundation! All prayers needed right now. If I don't see your name, I'll understand. I ask my family and friends wherever you might be, to kindly copy and paste this status for one hour to whisper a prayer for all of those who have family problems, marital problems, health struggles, job issues, or worries of any kind and just need to know that someone cares. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune. I hope to see this on the walls of all my family and friends just for moral support. I did it for a friend and you can too. You have to copy and paste this one, NO SHARING. Praying for several families and people in need! Put your finger at the top of the post until the word copy shows, then go to your status and put your finger until the word paste comes up-click on paste and the passage should be there!! Amen! Praying right now.
Because of the crisis the world is in right now we need prayer more than ever!!l
In an era where it was amateur everyone was in the same boat but while other boards invested and grew we depended on our players honing their skill in county cricket and when the bottom fell out there was no contingency
In order to progress from this stage there will have to be austerity measures and the players have to take this into consideration. Funny that it is the players are making big money that are most strident when the board is trying to spread less money amongst more players.
the players need to take that into consideration? the players? the same players who have attempted to work with the WIBC by agreeing to lower retainer contracts & lower match fees only to be met with disrespect every step of the way? obviously those that can earn outside of west indies cricket are most strident...becuase they don't have to put up with the disrespect from the entity that got WI cricket in this mess to begin with...
Absolutely the players. Just like the JDX and NDX asked investors to defer calling in their investment in Government paper WICB would need some sort of austerity measure to begin the process. The players who need the money the least, are the ones most strident or put another way, the ones who make the most money from WICB as well as outside the WICB are the ones who most against the reduction in match fees as agreed by WIPA.
Again you leave out WIPA! That is telling though. WIPA represents the players and so when they have a grouse WIPA is who they should take it to.
I do admit that the WICB should have more quickly addressed the non WIPA members' concern but that too was fraught with pitfalls.
a 75% pay cut is unacceptable...you wouldn't accept a 75% cut in your salary...you would go earn your money somewhere else...there is a reason those earning more making noise...because they are the biggest losers...yuh can't play both T20 league & international cricket..WIPA already sold them out...they have no legal recourse...so they have all left WIPA & have private representation
What cramp yuh talking? WICB accommodate them with NOC's....that is the austerity measure. They still mek dem big money .... WICB trying to get more youngsters a little something.
Players have a right to reject it, no one is denying that but it's not all on the WICB. Nth at is my point
now they are victimizing darren bravo...a player that did not seek to go and play for money but instead choose to play first class cricket...WICB previously said there was no legal means why he can't play regional cricket for Trinidad...now they are backtracking...worst cricket board ever...
Yes you are 100% right! Bravo should be able to call his boss a big idiot without any repercussions and then talk about victimization?!!!
Bravo choosing to stay is licence for him to be able say that? And then not only refusing to apologise and then doubling down? You cannot be serious!
he breached his contract with WICB...his contract was terminated & he was sent home & is not eligible for selection to the West Indies team...T&T wanted him to play regional cricket & WICB said there was no legal issue stopping him from doing so...what changed?Last edited by Bricktop; January 9, 2017, 10:02 PM.
"Clause 9.3.1 of your match/tour contract provides that in default by you in respect of your obligations under the contract, WICB may in its absolute discretion cancel the contract by written notice to the Cricketer. In light, therefore of your breach of your obligations to WICB in clause 4.7.2.2 of your match/tour contract, the letter serves as a written notice that your match/tour contract is hereby cancelled."
"If you continue to keep giving him an A contract then what is the motivation to get better? He has been on an A contract and he hasn't done well."
Keep moving the goal post. The sad thing is I KNOW you know better .....
Was Bravo's contract terminated for breach as you said earlier, yes or no?
Regarding Cameron's statement,, it is nebulous at best. I read it as an 'for example'. He would have been better served to say 'the same contract' rather than 'a contract'........ If you are saying that justified Bravo in making his statement and the. Doubling down in it ... Well you know better in sure
Was Bravo's contract terminated for breach as you said earlier, yes or no?
Originally posted by Gamma View PostRegarding Cameron's statement,, it is nebulous at best. I read it as an 'for example'. He would have been better served to say 'the same contract' rather than 'a contract'........ If you are saying that justified Bravo in making his statement and the. Doubling down in it ... Well you know better in sure
Nebulous?
"He has been on an A contract and he hasn't done well..."