Gayle: Blast All for 6 !

• Gayle: Blast All for 6 !

His new book charts his tough childhood in Rollington Town, Kingston, and confronts the endemic racism in cricket. Gayle argues that, even in Jamaica, lighter-skinned players are favoured. “It’s reality,” he says. “Even in Jamaica, your own country, coming into youth cricket you need to be from an upscale high school or have a light skin. As you get older you get used to the culture. My club, Lucas Cricket Club, was the only one to accept black people back in the day. So people would say: ‘We can’t have this Chris leading his country. His background doesn’t suit us.’ That’s the reality I faced.”

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...indies-cricket

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

His new book charts his tough childhood in Rollington Town, Kingston, and confronts the endemic racism in cricket. Gayle argues that, even in Jamaica, lighter-skinned players are favoured. “It’s reality,” he says. “Even in Jamaica, your own country, coming into youth cricket you need to be from an upscale high school or have a light skin. As you get older you get used to the culture. My club, Lucas Cricket Club, was the only one to accept black people back in the day. So people would say: ‘We can’t have this Chris leading his country. His background doesn’t suit us.’ That’s the reality I faced.”

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...indies-cricket
    That's true. Jamaica is yet to face up to its racist past and present. It will one day come to haunt us. Only a matter of time before the sh... hits the fan.

And then there is Kingston Cricket Club!

Every major island in the West Indies has had a club like Kingston CC. It was an essential part of the colonial governing structure.

Queens Park in T&T, Wanderers in Barbados, to name two.

Nuff black members at KCC these days. I can think of seceral

Yes things have changed to a large extent. I was more referring to their historical significance, which was not isolated.

Ok ... There may still be a residual thing too....had a discussion this morning about how past perceptions sti hold true today even though things have changed

Perception is a hell of a thing .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It are

Perception and complexion. I can hear it now " why can he just get over it after all he's rich now". Funny and coincidental that Usain said pretty much the same thing.
                    These guys are just too sensitive, Jamaica has changed since the good ole days.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      Perception and complexion. I can hear it now " why can he just get over it after all he's rich now". Funny and coincidental that Usain said pretty much the same thing.
                      These guys are just too sensitive, Jamaica has changed since the good ole days.
                      I used to say the same thing for years but HL dem tell mi say mi too race-conscious and how I must free mi mind and stop mek dem tings hold mi back!

Guess yuh have to have money fi say it or people don't tek yuh serious.

Your problem is you are probably a dry head maroon. Just get over it and log on to prosperity. Remember our motto or get rich and deal with the the JA pallor posse.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                          Your problem is you are probably a dry head maroon. Just get over it and log on to prosperity. Remember our motto or get rich and deal with the the JA pallor posse.
                          DWL!

He is a fine one to talk. His decorum is not an inspiration for youngsters coming. Lead by example or shut up.

Like clockwork. Surprising it took so long. So let me get this straight, his lack of decorum now precludes him from talking about the prejudice he faced in his own country when growing up. Let all and sunder know that only those with proper decorum can talk about the reality of Jamaica. Know you place Chris Gayle. You guys never cease to amaze but then again maybe not.