West Indies win's W.I win ....demolish India
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
April Fool's Day joke!
Lucky Simmons sees West Indies through
Updated: April 1, 2016 00:27 IST | Amol Karhadkar
Lendl Simmons played a memorable innings to put paid to India's hopes in the semifinal of the ICC World T20.— PHOTO: VIVEK BENDRE
Kohli’s heroics and India’s challenging total not enough to carry the day
No team has won a Twenty20 International at the Wankhede Stadium after losing the toss.
India made a strong case to reverse the trend, but Lendl Simmons had other ideas. West Indies won the World Twenty20 semifinal encounter by seven wickets and two balls to spare.
Man-of-the-match Simmons, who led a charmed life — twice out on a no ball — led the charge with a 51-ball 83 not out. His knock included seven fours and five sixes.
Andre Russell 43 (20b, 3x5, 4x6), who hit the winning run, gave Simmons good company from the 14th over when the West Indies was 116 for three.
W.I is not a one man team,Gayle is just the icing on the cake.Who say wi cricket dead,we do well in 20/20 and that today is cricket.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Not really Mo'... in this format we shine!! you don't have to concentrate for too long.
I wasn't worried that we couldn't compete given our batting line up... we got there with seven wickets to spare!
Now, if Gayle shows up again (he spanked a hundred off forty five (?) balls whe day) in the finals, England will lose for sure! Otherwise, they still will have to overcome the WI juggernaut! LOLPeter R
If England eva win after your utterance,yuh affi hold the goat mouth title.....heheTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
That was an awesome display of power batting. When the sixes started raining down it was like the Indian crowd was on mute!
This must be the best year WI cricket teams have had in a while. With U19 world champions and both male and female senior teams in the World T20 finals, that is not too bad a performance.
We really should be able to put together a decent 50-over team with this talent pool if the board and players can get it together.
I still don't see us being competitive in test cricket again unless something changes to make the economics of it work for the top players."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Bravo should stick to cricket... but the Windies antics might give this a little boost!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y963o_1q71MPeter R
I actually don't think we should even worry about trying to produce test cricketers anymore. The payoff is not worth the effort. Even if they play test under lights, which doesn't happen now.
T20 is more in line with the expectations of the viewing public (of the big popular sports). Football, baseball, basketball, (ice)hockey, T&F (you buy tickets for specific events) etc. are over in one to three hours, with an outright winner/loser (except for football which doesn't need to change that) and filled with plenty action.
BTW, I find of the sports I listed, T20 to be the most entertaining and fun to watch. We are doing well in the format, and players are making a good living so in spite of the Windies Board dragging their feet on many issues, this is where our niche is turning out. The CPLT20 league is proving to be a success and as you alluded to, economics will dictate the way forward.Peter R
Well Peter R I totally agree, but I must say that when even a cricket purist like you has become comfortable with that reality, the end must be near for the long format of cricket in the Caribbean.
Those of us who grew up on Test cricket will always appreciate the level of intensity, discipline and intrigue that the best players of the format are capable of producing. However outside of the Big Three, the hours are too long and the payoff too small to make it worth a typical professional cricketers time.
I think that eventually those who view T20 players who have walked away from Test cricket as as mercenaries will finally accept this."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Test cricket is like a eureka moment, long and drawn out , my memories of it ,were listening to it on the radio and hearing the older heads talk tactics.Truly a spectacle that was for a different era, one that you have to be born in to appreciate.
I dont see the money in that form of the game, who has money to go to sabina park for 5 days straight to buy rum and chat fawwt, in our economic times, the market just isnt there for that.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by Peter R View PostI actually don't think we should even worry about trying to produce test cricketers anymore. The payoff is not worth the effort. Even if they play test under lights, which doesn't happen now.
T20 is more in line with the expectations of the viewing public (of the big popular sports). Football, baseball, basketball, (ice)hockey, T&F (you buy tickets for specific events) etc. are over in one to three hours, with an outright winner/loser (except for football which doesn't need to change that) and filled with plenty action.
BTW, I find of the sports I listed, T20 to be the most entertaining and fun to watch. We are doing well in the format, and players are making a good living so in spite of the Windies Board dragging their feet on many issues, this is where our niche is turning out. The CPLT20 league is proving to be a success and as you alluded to, economics will dictate the way forward.
True, just not suited for the present era in most markets.
It is still viable in England, Australia and India but even there the T20 leagues are far bigger revenue earners."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass