WI U19 beats Bangladesh and advances to

• WI U19 beats Bangladesh and advances to

the World Cup finals. Congrats to the team.

Very good game of cricket, it kept me up most of the night.WI was always slightly ahead but I had the feeling that they were going to collapse like the senior team does. However they never did and performed creditably with bat and ball.

India will be tough to beat in the finals but the game is played on the field.

So who performed well?

nice one, youts.

i only saw the west indies bowling performance...they have a blistering pace attack...

Bangladesh Under-19s 226
          West Indies Under-19s 230 for 7 with about an over to spare

In the batting lineup the Guyanese skipper, Shimron Hetmyer, ha a solid innings of 60 and dominated the middle overs. He was really upset with himslf when he got out. The man of the match was a Bajan named Shamar Springer who made 62 not out and took a few wickets as well. He took it home when the tail started getting exposed. WI also has an opener named Pope who hits the ball hard and gave them a flying start, but he is the kind of batsman that always looks like he may get out at any minute. His approach seems more suited to T20 to me but it worked today.

On the bowling side, the WI pacers were quick, bowled short , quite a large number of no-balls and had a slow over rate. However they also got wickets at regular intervals, so they were very reminiscent of classic WI pace bowlers.The commentators said the WI opening bowlers were the fastest in the tournament.

Most impressive to me was the composure of the youngsters. Bangladesh were playing in front of their home crowd and on two occasions when the WI lost wickets in quick succession and had 2 new batsmen at the crease, the crowd got very loud and animated. However both times the new batsmen took their time and played themselves in without the need for panic.

Good to see that there is still some decent talent coming through the pipeline. The big question of course is what happens to them in the next 5 years and will they have the guidance and support required to transition to the next level.

No dominant island in the team, they are from allover the place. A few are yardies, but none of the star players as best I could tell.
          Last edited by Islandman; February 11, 2016, 11:13 AM.

pope has no discipline...they need to do something about him...embarrassing...

shamar springer & holder are ones to watch...ferocious pace bowlers with great control...

Yep, they look good.

I have noticed that in recent times many of our fastest young bowlers develop injury problems. Seems like something is missing in their development. Perhaps they are trying to bowl too fast too quickly? I don't really kow.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=po3rC97UV9U

And also problems with delivery technique.

these guys didn't show any problems with technique or delivery...they bowled straight & consistent line all day...

Pope is a real yam licker, lol

did you see him berating his captain for his field placement while he was bowling? he needs to be disciplined...

I bet he is the Jama...wait deh, mi pot a bwile!

nope vincentian...