No, but there is a strain of unprofessionality in both yet not a peep about Sharapova till now.
Chris Gayle Asks Journalist Out During Live Interview In Aus
Of course there is! And the reporter should not have responded about liking her form too, or whatever he said.
But, again, had Gayle left it at "eyes" we would not be having this conversation. And he would be 10,000 Australian dollars richer!
But no one is going to get away with "baby"!
Originally posted by Gamma View PostWhat is it to be treated like a lady?
Dat did always ah beg fi dem kinda treatment deh inna di Rum BarTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
What would have been wrong for the lady to decline?
Her reaction?
Seems to me that she considered the offer!
I have never understood how women claim "Im cute!" or "Face-sty!" in response to the same question or compliment when the only difference is it was offered by two different men? ...and the society let them get away with it????
Harassment - Would be somehow insisting she agreed to his request to have that drink. Sure I would not 'ask' on camera...and the reasons would be conflicting!
Let me ask - Would someone asking your wife out be sexual harassment?
...before you answer let me tell you what I think; No!
My wife is her own person and is free to go or not go out with the person. ...if she does go, and I know about it then surely I would have a decision to make...right? After all I also have the right to make my own decision.
Now if she said, no...and was badgered to accept then my reaction to the harasser would not be...let me say, 'friendly'!
It would be a hell of a thing, if I were the only person in the world to find my wife attractive and worthy...! Wouldn't it?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Frankly, it was not harassment! ...neither was the ask inappropriate.
The backlash is silly. Men ask women out. Women either take them up on the 'ask' or not(=reject the 'poor' guy)."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl , what you are totally missing is the setting, ie the lady was doing her job which required interaction with him, she was not socializing. That is what made it inappropriate.
If my wife told me that some guy on the street asked her out and said he liked her eyes I would probably smile. If she told me that her manager or an executive at work, a known womanizer, was doing that I would be concerned. The reason is she can easily walk away from the guy on the street and probably never see him again. She cannot as easily walk away from her manager or co-worker"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostKarl , what you are totally missing is the setting, ie the lady was doing her job which required interaction with him, she was not socializing. That is what made it inappropriate.
If my wife told me that some guy on the street asked her out and said he liked her eyes I would probably smile. If she told me that her manager or an executive at work, a known womanizer, was doing that I would be concerned. The reason is she can easily walk away from the guy on the street and probably never see him again. She cannot as easily walk away from her manager or co-worker
She was doing her job interviewing...and he was doing his job self-promoting his business by doing the interview...they were also promoting their respective businesses...he took the opportunity to ask her out (had nothing to do with either her job or his job). That asking her to have a drink with him was an attempt to initiate interaction outside of their jobs! After work 'ask'!
...unless she thought he was not worthy of her 'high brow' company and it was a put down being asked out by him????
We have to accept that some guys are better at 'asking' than are others. Another guy may have found a way to ask for 'a meeting' outside of the work environment would all then say not harassment?
Just think on this you are the reporter:...You meet a lady who speaks only our vernacular and she asks as best she knows how - "You cute eennh! Mi wudda like-hah reason wid yuh...mi caaan kaul yuh?" Throw in she is as ugly as sin!
...then you interview a real beauty and she asks..."There is more we could discuss when I am not so pressed for time. Please arrange a meeting?"
Two pick-ups attempts. Would you consider either harassment?
..."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl,
I'm surprised you don't consider the advance IN THAT CONTEXT (TIME & PLACE) inappropriate. CG first complemented her on her eyes... which was ok I suppose, but to be perfectly professional, in THAT PLACE AT THAT TIME, he should have stayed away from commenting openly on her physical appearance. However, that wasn't so bad, but to then ask her for a drink?? what did he expect her to say? Yes? Had she said yes, or maybe, then she would not have been doing her job but using (valuable TV time) to pursue a personal interest. How would her employers have reacted?
She reacted in a way that suggested to me that she was "taken aback"... while CG did himself no favours by coming across as conceited and full of himself with his, "don't blush, baby" remark.
It was totally inappropriate.
Now, where I have a problem is with the "punishment" that is being considered (not sure if it's a done deal), which is they want to ban him from any future BBL participation. That, IMO is a consequence that outweighs the offence. The fine is fine etc. etc. BUT the banning is over the top.
At the end of the day, I hope CG recognises that there is a TIME and PLACE for everything. He has to remember that the TV audience is not just his buddies who might be getting a laugh out of his advances on the woman, but a wide cross-section of society. That's how I see it.Peter R
Peter, I bet this attempt to ban him has more to do with what they have discovered since, because even for those ex-convict racists, that would be too much for just this.
But clearly, a quick Google search would reveal, among other things, what he said in Antigua a couple years ago, where he told the reporter he doesn't know how the pitch was because he was yet to touch hers, or something to that effect. That statement was infinitely worse than the ones to Mel in my book, yet our own CPL thought nothing of them.
Only God knows what else they may have uncovered. I wouldn't be surprised if they were making it easy on the batting star by just asking him to step rather than reveal a whole bunch of indiscretions.Last edited by Mosiah; January 8, 2016, 02:16 PM.
There is a lot of space between outright sexual harassment and what is acceptable. What Chris did was in that space and it was inappropriate.
When the person being propositioned is put in a position where thier response to the proposition could have reprecussions on the job they are doing, then it is probably inappropriate. Thats roughly the standard that I use these days. Even so I have often told female friends at work that they are "looking good" today without any real fear of them feeling uncomfortable. Thats because I would have already had some kind of a non-business relationship with them before I go down that road."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
...but I did consider "time and context".
...as I have had occasion to say, 'the only difference about many of the things done at or by yaaardies is the smoothness years of practice our brothers and sisters have had and the more sophisticated way they go about it'.
Gayle was not as smooth with his ask as some of us would have been. He never worded his request...exact same request in, for example, words such as 'I would like to continue the interview but I am pressed for time...could you arrange for us to continue at a mutually agreed time?'
Look if you tell me about "mi r@%SSS" 'straight up' or in some 'pretty way' yuh still tell mi bout "mi r@%$$$"! Gayle asked the lady to have drinks with him after work. She could say yes or no...even if he had 'prettied it up' as suggested.
PS: Agree with your take on the 'ban' 'talk'.Last edited by Karl; January 8, 2016, 02:23 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."