Winston Fanna Griffiths

• Winston Fanna Griffiths

I have been out of touch with horse racing for many years. It is amazing to hear that Fanna is still working as a jockey. Has the nation honored him for his services?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...lames_19234394

I think he was honoured ....

yeah man. Bigtime Jockey. Still riding a few horses now and then..

Yes he got a I think a O.D. and he is the Caribbean all time leading jockey.

Respect Fanna G.

Was never into horseracing but was absolutely fond of how the races were delivered over the radio,names like Fanno,Bimbo,Hosang,and Ramgeet remain etched in my mind to this day.
        Same thing regarding the horses,Legal Light,Royal Dad.and Harliquin..
        Not to jump subject but I had the same fascination with the way cricket games were called too,I remember one game in which a batman hit the ball for six and the commentators said something like all that is left of evidence of the ball is the vapor streak showing the path the ball took..
        Last edited by Rockman; October 22, 2015, 03:18 PM.

A get de feeling dem build Portmore around Camanas Park,starting wid Independence City,I remember as a child Portmore was just swamp land that you would have to navigate to get to Helshire beachnthere were always thise scattered small communities(Old Braeton,Naggo Head and Newland always all pointing the direction to de old capital,Spain Town.

Chris Hammond di bes race horse commentator jamaica produce.

Mi jockey still ah fan away, big jockey dat. Dem days an him an Chess, Hussey locked up di straight. Chess ah lif an drop di horse, Fanna an fan away an Hussey wid him typical arm chair ride, ah sight to behold.

Yep,the Barry G of racehorse commentaries,even when de hurricane dem come and we a race twigs inna de streaming watah flow we try we best fi sound like him calling our races.

True dat, ah memba dem days, ah di duh dat nearly every day. Di Barry G analogy a teacha still nah lie.

yes Fanna has a O.D.. Charley Hussey also have one.

The only two jockeys to do so.

Maybe the best race I have ever hear is the 2000 Gineness with Common Law/Holy Cat, with Fanna and Bimbo in the saddle.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...ouble_19235351

Originally posted by myYout View Post
                          Chris Hammond di bes race horse commentator jamaica produce.
                          I remember him saying .... 'Here come Legal Light heating up the ground and storming forward...' that was like music, pure music to my ears

What I would have given to hear some of those classic racing commentary again. I search youtube but nothing. I doubt JBC have any archives of this.

Such legacy.