True!

novlene got the baton in a MUCH BETTER position than did Donks. Much better so that right away is an unfair comparison.

despite the fry chest it was a matter of millimetres and still nownobady has anything to say about chambers. oh the hypocrisy. I agree wholeheartedly with orville higgins' piece.

We speak of Donx as he is the class horse who we depend on for Rio.

Chambo might not even make the side for Rio.

Higgins and dem man deh a waggonists. I recall when 100 fans used to show up for International football matches in the 1980s and how when we qualify in 1997, you could not get a seat in stadium and suddenly everybody tun football expert.

Mile relay is a RACE, not a time trial (is not a physics equation neidah)! All ah unno split crazy and dont even realize that the split is when the baton travels 400m, not when/if the runner covers 400m. Same way nuff man couldnt see how Gatlin could lose the 100m.

Had Donx used better tactics, it matters not if he ran a bit slower or faster, the race dynamics would have changed and he could take advantage of his natural role/advantage as PREDATOR, rather than the prey (rabbit) he became.

Also people bringing up flat event as 100% parallel to relay running are quite sophomoric.

As I constantly repeat, its not about the medal...di likkle bronze nuh mek much difference to me (but could to Donx and company), what is important is that he learns for next year when we will be much stronger.

Nah cuss Chambo too much as he ran hard to get us in the final. I more cuss the mad seeding that forced us to run 2:58 to make the final, and Donx eased up to finish 3rd instead of 2nd. Matthews also left the blocks slowly in the final, so we can blame many small things that contribute to 4th place.

You know the sport Mo.

Been reading your posts and I see depth of understanding (not just here, but with Bolt and in general). Kudos and go to the head of the class.

Willi, I have to agree with your analysis here. Some are misguided into thinking that the "criticism" of JF is other than constructive. I think those who have "criticised" Javon Francis have NOT in fact berated him, but simply questioned the strategy in that final lap. MAYBE, a different approach would have seen a different result... but anyway, I've been watching the Vuelta a España and I believe the same principles apply... the rider who tries to take it out big too early, invariably gets caught and gobbled up by the pack. I'm not saying it isn't possible to actually maintain a lead ( that is typically the exception), but the timing of when you make the big move can be critical to where you want to place when you cross the finish line.

That is the basis of how 800m and 1500m races are run. Even if the WRH takes it out too hard, he/she will lose. It is a balance that the best know of come to learn.

The #1 thing is that NO ONE is blaming The Lion for not medaling. We just have exceptional expectations of him since he's set the relay bar so high. It's possible that our expectations are too high tho...He's still an inexperienced & developing athlete.

What many don't grasp is that when considering ALTERNATIVE race scenarios...the times that medaled in the ACTUAL scenario are irrelevant. They absolutely DO NOT APPLY in alternate scenarios...So to say "how could he medal by running slower" or "this was the fastest he's ever run" really misses the point.

Had The Lion (or anyone else in the leading pack) run differently...the times achieving a medal would have been different...They could have been FASTER or SLOWER.... but almost certainly NOT THE SAME. This because the tactical permutations and consequent responses of the athletes would have been different.
                Everything is in flux in nature..especially TIME which is 1000% RELATIVE

That being the reality...we can say that out of the infinite variety of different possible race scenarios on that 4th leg...there are definitely some or even many that could result in The Lion medaling

What we can't say is what the exact likelihood of this is....but it's just an interesting academic argument in my view.

The Lion is still a Relay God

Relay ANIMAL.

Ultimate predator…but he makes poor prey, unlike SAFP!

This time, in Beijing at the 2015 IAAF World Championships, with Francis on anchor -- again fifth -- and with the Americans in striking distance, he flew past the British; the Belgians; our Caribbean friends, the Trinidadians; and our staunchest rivals, the Americans, into first place by the 250-m mark. In 150 metres, he overhauled the 1.33s (~12m) deficit -- more than twice that which he faced in the 2013 World Championships. The commentators bellowed over the speakers, "Javon Francis has gone crazy here", but not me. He did the same thing in 2013 and many hailed the performance when he won silver in surprising fashion.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...tless_19227729

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

• my exact question.

• Facts are annoying things aren't they?

But we nuh have nuh Champs silver medal nor are we Merrits bredren

• Yes we are greedy and heartless.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

• Originally posted by Willi View Post
                            Relay ANIMAL.

Ultimate predator…but he makes poor prey, unlike SAFP!
                            Yes...The Lion is best at chasing...Mi dun tell dem dat areddy

• LoL

Yes, facts are annoying and you wont face them.

Predator vs prey. Common horse beating thoroughbred. Mhhhh?

• You must know yuh enemy.

Not even mi bredrin Hubert come with them foolish argument yah, fi try defend n obvious blunder.