Can JA become an Athletics factory?

• Can JA become an Athletics factory?

No doubt the Sprint Factory is alive and well, for now, but what about other disciplines beyond the 200M? I was disappointed in Dacres' final position, simply because he did so well to qualify for the final 12 in the discus. I was looking forward to a medal outside one on the track! Did we even have one? I don't think so.

Yes remember the bronze in the shot putt by O'Dayne Richards? That was historic for that event.

We have been making strides in the throws and other events on the field even where it was not making a lot of press. For example Kimberly Williams came 5th in the women's triple jump. I am a bit disappointed that we haven't produced more world class long jumpers as I think with our speed we have more raw talent to exploit those.

The 800m is another event that we have had world class athletes and olympic medallists in the past, so I see no reason why we can't produce a few again.

To answer your question , I think we can have a more rounded team with medallists and sometimes champions in non-traditional events, but the sprints and other events where explosive speed is an advantage is our "bread and butter".

I understand the bread and butter thing and would never want to see that change; it's just that I'd like to see just a little more, maybe guava jam, on the side.

The strange thing is that the 400m is the event that we first made our name in athletics on, and yet we haven't produced a World or Olympic champion in this golden decade of Jamaican track. They are coming through the pipeline at Champs, but are not making the transition. This is on the boys side mainly.

Hopefully at least one of the current crop of extremely talented youngsters can become a contender for a World or Olympic title in 2020.

Would be really nice to see that happening... the "raw material" is there!

StGC, bronze in the shot put!

Yuh too lie!!!

Hey, I'm just happy that we have underlined our position as Sprint Factory of the world, while completely obliterating any warped and lingering view that the USA still holds some sway in that regard.

I don't think so Peter R. The resident track and field guru says we are not a track and field world power so we are not ... Despite what we may want to think or how many medals we may win

AHEM!

Which resident guru yuh talking bout? Di one weh mi expose as a fraud and who nuh show him face pon do Forum since den?!!?

Alas, no!

No doubt the Sprint Factory is alive and well, for now, but what about other disciplines beyond the 200M? I was disappointed in Dacres' final position, simply because he did so well to qualify for the final 12 in the discus. I was looking forward to a medal outside one on the track! Did we even have one? I don't think so.
                          Shot Put! Bronze!

7th in discus final.

AHEM!

Which resident guru yuh talking bout? Di one weh mi expose as a fraud and who nuh show him face pon do Forum since den?!!?

LOL