One of the better write-ups about Bolt's victory

• One of the better write-ups about Bolt's victory

"I spoke to Gatlin's camp in the afternoon before this showdown, heavy grey skies and dark thunder clouds over the city, a portent for the superstitious of what might lie ahead for the sport if a man who has twice been banned for drug offences were to win its premier event."

I thought the writer would have added: "Clearly, the conditions were right for a bolt of lightning!"

Wheeeeeeel!

Maybe it was implied.

http://m.bbc.com/sport/athletics/34033556

Excellent writing for real.

Do we realise the greatness of the man in our midst?

I get bringle every time I see reports that call Powell a drug cheat. Even though proven innocent through the courts the English press continues to call him a cheat.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mi done tell people...enjoy the era while it last, cause none of us will see the likes of Bolt in the rest of our lives.

Momentous period in the sport. Di man mek CL and JO look small...Unbelievable!

Good one Mo'... I'll mentally add that to an already excellent piece.

My favourite quote: "A fraction (of time*) between them, a chasm in class and character."

* my insertion

Good one, thanks for sharing!

Loved that one too. And there were others!

And as for SAFP, we don't say enough about her but she's also a legend in her own right!

Tru dat.

I was remiss.

I was bothered by the Ali reference,it was a national battle for Bolt,Ali defeated a fellow American.Also,Tyson probably would have murdered the technically superior Ali,there is no guarantee that Ali is the best heavyweight boxer in history,Bolt is undoubtedly the best ..ever,as such he is in a category by himself.

I would be receptive to the Ali reference if self sacrifice was highlighted,Ali's career proved harmful to his health ,and Bolt doctors probably suggested a career change but the Icon continues because he knows he represents a crucial pride and joy for Jamaica.
                        Injecting Ali in..for all other reasons is ill-advised.

yes ... well to begin with the world record is unattainable for reasons we all know, and other than that he has matched bolt so she should get the diplomatic passport too.

Mi done tell people...enjoy the era while it last, cause none of us will see the likes of Bolt in the rest of our lives.

Momentous period in the sport. Di man mek CL and JO look small...Unbelievable!
                            Yes. Agree. I have been on the earth at the same time as Bob Marley, Usain Bolt, Mohammed Ali, and King Pele. What a privilege to be alive!!.

Rockman for you to make a comment that "he was fighting an American", it seems like you are not aware of the global magnitude of the Ali fights of the early 70s. It was not an ordinary thing.

The first Frazier fight and all the political implications that came with it which made it transcend sports; the Foreman fight and the absolute certainty by the experts that he would be no match for the heavy hitting young champion.

In an era before cable tv and internet, the hype generated by those events is not something to be taken lightly.

All things considered, Ali is still probably the greatest athlete that has ever lived.