Historian's Beijing Predictions (Sprints)

• Historian's Beijing Predictions (Sprints)

Please note that these are just personal predictions which are based, largely, on performance in recent times. As such, some predictions may fall short during the actual IAAF World Championships, to be held in Beijing, China, starting August 22, 2015. Finally, because they are based primarily on my DVD recordings, these predictions have not been influenced by any other predictions that exist elsewhere.

WOMEN’S GOLD MEDAL:
    100-meter: Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce (JAM)
    200-meter: Elaine Thompson (JAM)
    400-meter: Shaunae Miller (BAH)
    100 Hurdles: Brianna Rollins (USA)
    400 Hurdles: Shamier Little (USA)
    4x100 Relay: JAMAICA (Simpson, Thompson, Campbell Brown, Fraser Pryce, Morrison)
    4x400 Relay: USA (Beard, Hastings, Felix, Richards-Ross, McCocory)

MEN’S GOLD MEDAL:
    200-meter: Usain Bolt (JAM)
    400-meter: Kirani James (GRENADA)
    110 Hurdles: David Oliver (USA)
    400 Hurdles: Bershawn Jackson (USA)
    4x100 Relay: USA (Rodgers, Bromell, Gay, Gatlin, Young)
    4x400 Relay: (Difficult to Predict This One)

Men's 100m?!?!

Bolt cyaaaah lose.

No men's 100,and why isn't that cut throat mimicking piece of.. on the US men's 4 by 1?
        I do not think ET will be on 4 by 1,some weird logics apparently still missing to me.
        Without the beast,we have no chance of equalling or beating the OUR 4 by 1 WR,but I would be very disappointed if we do not win,Bolt is faster than Gatlin,and Powell will beat Gay.
        Last edited by Rockman; August 21, 2015, 09:15 AM.

Willi,it would have been nice if ET was in the 100,she has competed against largely that bunch.
          Silver medal has lost its value.

We know! Apparently, Historian has his doubts!

True dat!!

Every time has its season and every decision, its reason...or some such nonsense. LoL

KBC was running 9.8 low in training and pulled his hammy. pity.

I susoected that they all improved recently but that is a HUGE blow.A ova deh dat happen?

Our 4x100m Men

No men's 100,and why isn't that cut throat mimicking piece of.. on the US men's 4 by 1?

Without the beast,we have no chance of equalling or beating the OUR 4 by 1 WR,but I would be very disappointed if we do not win,Bolt is faster than Gatlin,and Powell will beat Gay.
                      Rockie, leaving Ryan Bailey off my list of the USA’s 4x100-meter team was an oversight on my part. I expect him to be a part of that lineup in the finals (if they reach the finals).

Normally, I would have said Jamaica for the men’s 4x100-meter gold without the slightest hesitation! The extremely impressive fact is that the last time our senior sprint relay men got beaten in a global event was 2007 at the IAAF World Championships in Osaka, Japan. Since the 2008 Beijing Olympics, we have ruled, in the process setting world records in 2008, 2011 and 2012.

However, the absence of Kemar Bailey-Cole and Yohan Blake, and the less than impressive performances by Nickel Ashmeade, are bound to affect our chances. Also, is Nesta Carter his dependable, impressive self in 2015? To make matters worse, a sub-par Michael Frater did not make the team, while the much maligned Andrew Fisher has switched nationalities.

Who maligned him? I thought the sentiment has been 'mek him gwaan'?!

Yeah

The youngman should have our best wishes. There is the matter of thinking on life after 'the track'.

I Agree

The youngman should have our best wishes. There is the matter of thinking on life after 'the track'.
                              That’s my feeling as well, Karl.

By the way, scratch Bershawn Jackson from my hurdles prediction. Lol, the dude came dead last in his heats.

While I didn’t make any predictions for Trinidad & Tobago in the men’s 4x100-meter relay, we can forget about them being on the medal stands -- no Thompson or Bledman (both injured) means disaster for them.