Taking a look at the Pan Am standings,

• Taking a look at the Pan Am standings,

it's interesting to see the results, or rather, in what disciplines medals are won. Cuba for example, won GOLD medals in TEN different sports, JA by contrast, only won GOLD in a single sport and overall, only one medal other than track & field, swimming silver by Alia Atkinson.

On the results link below, click on the number of medals won under each of the the medal categories and the breakdown of the winners is there.

http://results.toronto2015.org/IRS/e...edal-count.htm

So what is Cuba, among others, doing? are we so one-dimensional in our sports focus? and is that okay from a sporting perspective?

cuba does boxing, gymnastics, volley ball etc.

we focus on track and field mainly...

No reason why Jamaica cannot be more diversified in sports. In fact, locally they are....

We spoke about this in the last olympics.

In Cuba, sports is state sponsored, in Jamaica it is not. The fact that Jamaicans excel at so many other sports besides track and field, has me now believing in the genetics argument. We were the stronger breed of slaves. I saw all those Snow Ballas running faster and being stronger than all the other CONCACAF teams and most of them only have a third of Jamaican blood. Something to consider.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

funding. its a struggle already. too many sports chasing to few dollars.

cuba has nationalised sport so great effort and amphasis is made to direct scarce benefits towards that. under that system of government it is easier to do.

funding. its a struggle already. too many sports chasing to few dollars.

cuba has nationalised sport so great effort and emphasis is made to direct scarce benefits towards that. under that system of government it is easier to do.

HL, I Suggest You Ignore This Thread

No reason why Jamaica cannot be more diversified in sports. In fact, locally they are....

We spoke about this in the last olympics.
              The fact is that I have raised at least one lengthy thread about this issue long before the 2012 Olympic Games!

HL, ignore the hand wringing in this thread. This is the VERY TOPIC that certain posters have lambasted me about over the years!! From my recollection, only Sickko and Islandman have ever seen and positively acknowledged my concerns!

Nothing is going to change in the near future. In the meantime, my friend, ignore the excuses, etc. that inevitably are always given on this forum. They claim that Jamaica is The Sports Power of the Caribbean, and so there is no harm, in my opinion, in leaving these people to continue to exist in their make-believe world.

if is cheerleader yuh looking look no further.....

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...573B65DB17A9A0

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  The fact is that I have raised at least one lengthy thread about this issue long before the 2012 Olympic Games!

HL, ignore the hand wringing in this thread. This is the VERY TOPIC that certain posters have lambasted me about over the years!! From my recollection, only Sickko and Islandman have ever seen and positively acknowledged my concerns!

Nothing is going to change in the near future. In the meantime, my friend, ignore the excuses, etc. that inevitably are always given on this forum. They claim that Jamaica is The Sports Power of the Caribbean, and so there is no harm, in my opinion, in leaving these people to continue to exist in their make-believe world.

Historian: I think the 3 most used words on this forum (and indeed Jamaica ) are....."we need to"...........

We need to do this...we need to do that. Everyone knows what is needed to be done--but in the end nothing is accomplished. Things remain the same.

The excuses of which you talk about is a mainstay of Jamaican life. "We" are just full of big chat. "We" brag and boast about how great we are as a people. "We" think we are the best in the caribbean; and believe me, some will say the world.

The games show how far behind Cuba Jamaica is in Sports. This was one of many points you made some time ago.

Hold tight Historical One, stick to your guns. I always look forward to your wise admonishions.

Sure no problem there, look at Canada's Panam haul, pretty hefty, lets see what they do at the next Olympics, same with Cuba.

The point is not necessarily about medalling; the distribution of the medal count simply demonstrates involvement in a wider range of sports... the Cubans and Canadians may not be world beaters (medal at the Olympics), but there will be a wide array of sports practitioners, each with (theoretically) a chance to win something. In JA where we pride ourselves as being athletic, not everyone will be a Bolt, a Walsh or a Ricardo Gardner... all I'm saying is it would be nice to see some of our youth in non-traditional sports, or seeing other sports like e.g. boxing, cycling (expensive) and martial arts rise...

I much prefer we focus on sports with massive participation worldwide that maximize our visibility and we can focus our limited population to concentrate the talent to best effect, we are not wealthy so we must allocate our human, financial and knowledge resources as efficiently as possible for maximum effect.

1. Football
                        2. Track and field
                        3. Cricket
                        4. Boxing
                        5. Netball
                        6. Tennis
                        7. Swimming

I would focus on seven and those who can't compete in these can drop down and find a place in these other five.

----------------------
                        8. Table tennis
                        9. Volleyball
                        10. Cycling
                        11. Golf
                        12. Rugby

Hold tight Historical One, stick to your guns. I always look forward to your wise admonishions.
                          But ah wha dis Faada??

13. Basketball?

True, boxing is a great sport to get kids of the street, especially in the innercity.