Jamaicans switch allegance to Bahrain

• Jamaicans switch allegance to Bahrain

Andrew Fisher, Shericka Williams and Kemarley Brown will no longer represent Jamaica. They have switched allegiance to Bahrain.
    ---
    $$$ & good luck to them, they will get support from their new association.

This worse than UB40 or snow balla syndrome. World track & field should put a stop to this.

Really Mosiah? What about the Jamaican lawyers, doctors and other professionals who work overseas? Should they be forced to work only for Jamaican companies?

These 3rd rate athletes need to eat a decent food! National pride can't nyam!

I must say I agree with time.

if the IAAF allows it, why the hell not. I will admit that I am being a hypercrite when I say that if it was bolt or asafa or SAFP ... FIYAHH!!!!

Really!

That's what Diamond League is for, to make money regardless of one's country.

So, if we are to allow this so-suh-suh, then why should FIFA have arbitrary rules tying any balla to a particular country. Raheem Sterling should immediately be allowed to play for a country that can win the World Cup!

The implications are ridiculous!

Diamond League money a monkey money. Only US$10k goes to the winner of each race or event. For those who can't win a race or who don't have a sponsor, it's just a free trip. Why you think Bolt don't need to haul up and down a run DL races. His appearance fee alone done all a the promoters money.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So, China should be free to send all their table tennis players around the world to play for other countries.

Simple economics. The same reason which fuels our ghetto youths to achieve world beater status is the same reason that will drive them to switch allegiance.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Kiss teeth. $10,000 fi share among how many people? I was part of a group that was organizing a track meet and the appearance fee that I was advised to budget was about $5000 for a good athlete. A low as expenses plus pocket money for those who not yet buss and just filling up the extra lanes. How will that help these 3rd rate workers? A good wuk the people them a look!

Here's another take on it from a poster on the T&F forum next door:

Sportstechnocrat
                    When you sit and brainstorm this thing through....
                    Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26

Its not a bad idea....A lot of Track Clubs here are strapped for cash and its really a way to make some money...Its most obvious Mr Franno or any other Senior coaches will not send their elite away...but a lot of so called 400m dudes here sit and not doing a damm thing...i am just saying those who would not make the national team but still posting qualified time to world games...Let them train here and run for rich oil nation...I know Qatar will shell out huge some of money for representation at World games....We have more than we can handle...Have 100 athletes running for some of those oil rich nation but live and trained here in Jamaica..and see how clubs here get rich....else we just sit here and waist time and talent...and stay poor....It need to be regulated underground so we don't lose focus and out best...

I wish these athletes all the best...and success at what them chose to do.....God be with them through...

as long as is our second and third string atheletes I don't have a problem....

merlene, vcb and the others who went ot college in the states to "develop" their talents would fall amongst the raheem sterlings and could/should rep the states.

@ Mo

.......nuhbady nuh righteous like you.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why???

If di yute dem cyaan buss ah yaad cause wi ovaflow...mek dem buss ah foreign yes

What kills me is the lack of sponsorship or marketing the Jaaa has, if nike can value USTAF at 500 million ,how much are we worth as their main T *F competitors branded with Bolt ?

WE should have a sports marketing arm in europe ,selling our wares ,The JFF can find a merchandising deal , the JAAA cant ?how far that would go from stopping that talent flight,instead of cussing these youths (MO) , wi need fi look inna di mirrior ,mi a dead fi mi JAAA jersey.Is it because we corporate wi self as amatuer and not JAA , so wi programmed ?

We need fi brand wi self...Jamaica run fi di worlllll.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.