• Pocket Rocket focuses the afterburners on the short sprint

ATHLETICS: Fraser-Pryce Drops 200m, May Return To Event In 2016

Published:Friday | July 3, 2015Andre Lowe, Special Projects Editor - Sports
    PARIS, France:

Days after suggesting her coach Stephen Francis will make the call, Jamaican sprinting superstar Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce confirmed today that she will not be attempting to defend her 200m title at the World Championships and will instead focus on the 100m.

Fraser-Pryce, who left the 2013 World Championships with gold medals in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m, says even though the decision was initially taken last year, she wasn’t certain that Francis would not have a change of heart, noting that her focus is now to sharpen up in areas where she had been lagging in recent times.

ATHLETICS: Fraser-Pryce Drops 200m, May Return To Event In 2016

Published:Friday | July 3, 2015Andre Lowe, Special Projects Editor - Sports
    PARIS, France:

Days after suggesting her coach Stephen Francis will make the call, Jamaican sprinting superstar Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce confirmed today that she will not be attempting to defend her 200m title at the World Championships and will instead focus on the 100m.

Fraser-Pryce, who left the 2013 World Championships with gold medals in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m, says even though the decision was initially taken last year, she wasn’t certain that Francis would not have a change of heart, noting that her focus is now to sharpen up in areas where she had been lagging in recent times.
    So the strategy behind the play with ET is manifest....No need to phone home to get it

Well, if you couldnt read up the play from Jump...hahahaha

Its funny how man and man was ah seh that Franno was protecting SAFP from ET...its seems people cant yet fathom ringcraft.

If a guy cant understand ringcraft, he will always be a sitting duck for a sucker punch!

Easy Willi, the playing possum and ringcraft a bit shaky. People make decisions that are theirs to make and that is that. I personally still don't buy the rationale....get four medals or two?

Not strong enuff for rounds yet in 2 events.200m is weaker tha 100m, especially when start is inconsistent.

If you unnerstan that franno is fiercely logical, then its easy to decipher what a clock a strike.

Possum and Rcraft ah 2 different things.

What yuh think about Asafa this trip? Talent was always there, but he finally seems to be able to put it together. Will see after rounds and nuff pressure...

we'll get a glimpse of how asafa handles pressure on Thursday in your neck of the woods.

fact is though SAF-P is defending champion in the 200. not an easy feat, she has shown that she can do it at worlds and olympics, so it is not a guessing game. I would buy that argument for ET ....and you are right, franno is logical so the important thing is his premise which I don't think is being accurately (honestly?) stated.

ET is more of a guessing game in the 200 but as you say franno is on the ground.

bottom line though, the ringcraft doesn't ring tru this time.

Not strong enuff for rounds yet in 2 events.200m is weaker tha 100m, especially when start is inconsistent.

If you unnerstan that franno is fiercely logical, then its easy to decipher what a clock a strike.

Possum and Rcraft ah 2 different things.
              Translation: Shelly is in shape to perform at less than her usual stellar level therefore the coach 'run' from 'running' her in the event he expects she would lose!!!

OK! I got it, Willi!

What yuh think about Asafa this trip? Talent was always there, but he finally seems to be able to put it together. Will see after rounds and nuff pressure...
              Tole yuh! ...dat foolishness of running 80 meters and shutting down was just that, foolishness!

The new coach has thrown that through the window.
              Just imagine if his start & first few steps was on point 9.70 change! He might just drop a 9.60 change before or during the World's!!!

Still technically our 'sweetest' male sprinter! ...hell sprinter!!! None of our ladies can present 'form' as he does!!!

we'll get a glimpse of how asafa handles pressure on Thursday in your neck of the woods.

fact is though SAF-P is defending champion in the 200. not an easy feat, she has shown that she can do it at worlds and olympics, so it is not a guessing game. I would buy that argument for ET ....and you are right, franno is logical so the important thing is his premise which I don't think is being accurately (honestly?) stated.

ET is more of a guessing game in the 200 but as you say franno is on the ground.

bottom line though, the ringcraft doesn't ring tru this time.
                Unless there is a loooooog game and it starts with a wish for a medal for Elaine. With Shelly Ann present the medal prospects would go poof!

btw - That medal shot for ET is still long odds!

Why do you say medalling in the 200m is long odds for ET? I think she has a better than 50/50 chance to medal.

I was talking about ET not being strong enuff to do both!

You will soon understand the craftiness.

So you dont think Franno giving D. Powell tips? LoL

Breddah can finally get Safa to work in a way Franno could not.

SAFP is in the shape of her life. Those 10.7s are with negligible or negative wonds. She is 10.6 with anything over 1.2ms.

She wont double as they dont need the donkey load with Rio coming up next year.

Unno just watch di ride..

ok ET not doing both I understand because SAF-P was managed the same way. but ET has looked and performed better in the 100 than in the 200.

oh I do not doubt in the least that CRAFTINESS is in play ... not for an instance.

willi, its ok to be a fan, a disciple even, but not a sycophant!

So you dont think Franno giving D. Powell tips?

its not impossible but it is not an elementary type deduction. in fact it is great if that is the case but if as you say d powell is getting a pwell to do things that s francis could not get a powell to do, then who should be taking tips from who?

wow what a lawyery answer to a question Missah Barristah.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015