• Lay Off Stephen Francis

Lay Off Stephen Francis
    Share on googleShare on twitterShare on facebook
    Published:Friday | July 3, 2015
    Previous
    Next

Ricardo Makyn
    The University of Technology's Elaine Thompson.

Depending on who you talk to, Stephen Francis is either a genius who has come to put Jamaica's track and field on the map, and should be celebrated at every turn, or he is a selfish, arrogant, unpatriotic coach who couldn't care less about Jamaica's track and field, but is tunnel-visioned as far as MVP is concerned. Never in our history has there been any coach, in any field, who has had admirers and detractors in such huge numbers.

His decision to pull Elaine Thompson from the 100 metres at last week's national trials is still being debated, and, like the man himself, opinions seem to be split straight down the middle between those who like, or at least understand, the move, and those who feel that it was outright wrong.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...3ouzY.facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hey let us call the thing what it is, definitely self fish and own way, like many of us, put he probably has ten tines the helping.

We are lucky he is Jamaican, that was just an accident, I am sure if there was an alternative and it could mess with Jaaa, MVP athletes would be running for another country just because it was an option to do something else. Not saying Jaaa is any saint or close to it, but all the typical gamesmanship in public at the big games, open to the world need to be sorted out a yard and not out for the whole world to see.

So we benefit from his methods due to an unusual algorithm in human logistics and get the benefit from excellent competition ready athletes, now if he could bottle that knowledge and pass it off to a few young yard coaches then I personally will forgive everything else. Otherwise, I just realize that whenever he decides to do anything positive at Olympics or WC is just broughta as I expect unusual antics at that time.

Mi rate im.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Huh?

JAAA actively sabotaged him in the early days and did so till they were powerful enuff to resist.

Franno head may tek him now and then , but is not him draw first blood.

The case of the dog wagging its tail or the tail wagging the dog. The JAAA has over the years has tried to marginalized Franno while being lenient towards Glen Mills. Why isn't there a big hullabaloo about Bolt not running at the Trials and doubt about him and the upcoming WC? When Asafa was with MVP and being constantly injured the public used to give him and Franno hell. Franno has more than earned the respect that the JAAA and John Public refuse to bestow upon him. I don't think there is or has been another coach in the entire world who has had so many world champions in various disciplines.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thank You, Sir!

Huh?

JAAA actively sabotaged him in the early days and did so till they were powerful enuff to resist.

Franno head may tek him now and then , but is not him draw first blood.
            Willi, you saved me the trouble of pointing out facts like this!!

Stoni is a good guy, but he has A LOT to learn about track and field in Jamaica! I wish he knew, just to cite one example, the immense struggle that Franno had in his journey to make Asafa Powell into a star! And there is a lot that so many others, like England-based triple jumper Trecia Smith (not connected to MVP) could share.

Thanks at least I am a good guy!!