Usain Bolt Cancels His Participation In The Paris And Lausan

• Usain Bolt Cancels His Participation In The Paris And Lausan

Six-time Olympic Champion Usain Bolt today informed the organisers of the Paris and Lausanne Diamond League meetings that he will be unable to compete in their events on July 4 and July 9.

The 28-year-old Jamaican has been feeling discomfort in his left leg since his last competition which has restricted his training.

He visited Doctor Müller-Wohlfahrt in Munich who confirmed that he has a blocked sacroiliac joint which is restricting his movement and putting pressure on his knee and ankle.

Usain will spend the next couple of days in Munich getting treatment after which he will resume full training in his quest to defend his titles at the IAAF World T&F Championships in Beijing at the end of August.

"I'm disappointed not to be able to compete in Paris and Lausanne. I love running at these meetings but at the moment I am unable to compete at 100 per cent. I look forward to getting back into full training as soon as possible", said Bolt.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tough decisions ahead. Should he run in Beijing without being fully ready and risk major injury or go back to the drawing board for the grand finale at the Olympics next year.

I can imagine how badly he wants to silence Gatlin but is it worth the risk.

still to early to make that determination though.

my advice to him, better to not participate if you are less than 100% injury free and/or not race fit. nothing is to be gained from that.

on the other side of it, if ASAFA can silence gatlin, then there is a whole new dynamic there.

Yes there is still a small window of time but it is closing fast. The lack of races is what really concerns me. I know him is Bolt, but....

Who said he would be risking "major injury" if he runs?

As sure as I am that Usain can beat Gatlin running at 80%, I'm just as sure that Asafa can't beat nobody good when it matters.

him back out of alignment again...simple ting to fix in 8 weeks

Maybe it is a question of between a rock and a hard place,to recover may necessitate stop training.

Usain cannot beat the 2015 version of Gatlin at 80% fitness.

Not sure about that Islandman,at 100 percent fitness level Bolt beating his WR is viable,besu
                    besides,80 percent fitness level may be more consequential in the 200 as opposed to the 100.
                    A fully fit Usain is a whole new spectrum,seems Gatlin fitness level would have to be over a 100 percent..

I disagree , but I doubt we will get an answer to that question because he won't be showing up at 80% fitness.

Fair enough, boss.

Except that....

Tough decisions ahead. Should he run in Beijing without being fully ready and risk major injury or go back to the drawing board for the grand finale at the Olympics next year.

I can imagine how badly he wants to silence Gatlin but is it worth the risk.
                          I’man, there might not be a grand finale next year in Rio, as Bolt has already indicated that he will retire in 2017; that is, after that year’s IAAF World Championships.

Ah yes, thanks Historian. I forgot he had changed his plans to run in one more World Championship.

All the more reason not to take any unnecessary risks with his health this year.