Christine Day 50.15!!!

• Christine Day 50.15!!!

What happened here, when did she go from a 52 plus runner to 50.15 I missed that totally.

Amazing really, I always thought she was the weakest runner on the 4*4 team when she made it, now here she is overachieving, 50.15 beating Mcp, would never have guessed it. Ja 400 trials time is faster than us trials 400, would never have guessed that either.

110 h men, 800 women, 400 men, 100 women definite highlights of the meet.

Very interesting trials!!

and it was not in Oregon!

anyway, reports say it equals her PB so she has done it before

Yeah serious business, funny you don't notice something until they breakdown the door with a big win, I never thought Christine would ever get here and to run that time and fight for that win was impressive. I am now wide awake.

This summer will be interesting,everyone is eyeing Gatlin and Bolt, i see Asafa in there ,something about him this season ,the hype of america through Gatlin is coming to kick ass, while good is hype ,we have 2 months to go more than enough time for Bolt to wind into form and Gatlin to lose his.

The ladies are ready to kick ass.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

MVP Club

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          What happened here, when did she go from a 52 plus runner to 50.15 I missed that totally.

Amazing really, I always thought she was the weakest runner on the 4*4 team when she made it, now here she is overachieving, 50.15 beating Mcp, would never have guessed it. Ja 400 trials time is faster than us trials 400, would never have guessed that either.
          Has anyone noticed how MVP club has performed really outstandingly at this recent Jamaica Championships? Go back to 2008 and 2009 as well to see what is arguably the world’s greatest sprint club in action.

And there is no need for anyone to jump on my case, as nowhere in this post have I tried to make a single comparison with any individual club in Jamaica or elsewhere. But the proof of the pudding is in the eating, and I am looking at the overall results before me as I type.

by contrast ... mills top guns not really firing for one reason or the other.

MVP seems to have a special gift with the ladies. Can the experts explain this?

I hope the JAAA don't come with no foolishness about mandatory camp. Franno should be given the respect and length (within reasonable limits) to do what he feels is best for his athletes....which will work out the best for Jamaica. 9 females and 7 males from MVP making up Team Jamaica.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Rudi !!!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                  MVP seems to have a special gift with the ladies. Can the experts explain this?
                  “The ladies,” Rudi?? Are the following athletes “ladies”:

Asafa Powell (prior to about two years or so ago when he left MVP)
                  Michael Frater (until very recently when he left MVP)
                  Nesta Carter
                  Julian Forte
                  Andrew Fisher
                  Kemarley Brown
                  Tyquendo Tracey

In fact, if you think back to our first ever men’s 4x100-meter relay world record, set in 2008 at the Beijing Olympic Games, three of the four team members in the final (Nesta Carter, Michael Frater and anchor Asafa Powell) were MVP athletes!! Curve runner Usain Bolt was the sole exception in that final.

Olympic Games silver medalist Germaine Mason, jumping for Great Britain, was also a MVP athlete athlete when he won his medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Trust me, my friend, MVP is much more than just successful female sprinters and hurdlers!

Notice no dominant champions on male size.

Btw Dominant champions = Multiple combination of world and Olympic titles.

How many dominant champions has Jamaica ever had, period?

Bolt, VCB, Shelly Ann....any others?

Point taken. It just seemed to me that his female runners were always more dominant. I see what you're saying though.

MVP certainly are producing a steady stream of world class female athletes in various events.

Racers seems to be a lot more specialized , I don't know if that is by design or just the way it is.

Perfect, that is just the point, the bottom line is no one remembers also rams it is the champions and really the multiple champions that are remembered and thus judgement is truly rendered at that level.

Thus Racers has produced two individual world champions Bolt and Blake, Blake has one championship so he is close to grade but not quite fully there.

MVP has produced two females, Fraser and Walker, both multiple championship/ Olympic champions, that is the real judgement right there.

Anything you can think of over the years you only remember the multiple champions or distinct and best vintages, from racehorses to wine and coffee.

Fair enough that is true, and maybe that gives rise to the perception that MVP are female specialists and perhaps that Racers are male specialists.

However I think that would be an overgeneralization. MVP has a lot more diversity and variety in their camp than Racers. Now that is not a knock on Racers in any way, some organizations have a narrow focus and differentiate themselves that way, others broaden their scope more. Nothing wrong with either approach.

Lets hope Akan and some of the other smaller clubs find their own niche.