• State of the Jamaica Invitational

Source: The Jamaica Observer, Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...ional_18757062

Gay replaces Gatlin for the Jamaica Invitational
    Wednesday, April 15, 2015

KINGSTON, Jamaica (CMC) - American sprinter Tyson Gay has been added to the line-up of the Jamaica International Invitational, replacing compatriot Justin Gatlin, who was forced to withdraw due to other commitments.

Gatlin was earlier announced to compete in the 100m at the May 9 meet set for the National Stadium.

However, the organisers of the event were informed that the 9.77 seconds man will no longer be available, since he will be focusing on the April 23-25 Penn Relays and the May 2-3 IAAF World Relays in The Bahamas instead.

I think we are Ok.

The three reigning global 400m champions will take on the Diamond Race winner on 9 May at the Jamaica International Invitational, an IAAF World Challenge meeting.

Olympic champion Sanya Richards-Ross will face world champion Christine Ohuruogu, world indoor champion Francena McCorory and Jamaica’s Novlene Williams-Mills over one lap of the track in the Jamaican capital next month.

http://www.iaaf.org/news/news/jamaic...huruogu-richar

Gatlin need the money im old by T &F standards(NIKE)

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Testing, testing, 1-2-3....LoL

not nice

wat yuh a seh?
          a duck n hide?

Who dem when wi buss our own.

Wi nuh partial...or wi partial against our own?. We eat our own.

have to agree wid yuh..

"We Eat Our Own": Meaning???

Who dem when wi buss our own.

Wi nuh partial...or wi partial against our own?. We eat our own.
                Willi, there are many things we will have to agree to disagree on! Of course, the anti-Historian chorus line leader will pipe in with his comments, but I have passed the stage of paying attention to uninformed people who have a personal agenda!

Bahamian IAAF council member Pauline Davis worked extremely hard behind the scenes to ensure that her country got what, in some respects, can be regarded as one of the ultimate sports tourism products. Now, her country has been assured of the first three IAAF World Relays (2014, 2015 and 2017).

The Jamaica Invitational is a very important meet on the IAAF calendar, but whether we like it or not, it pales in comparison when compared with the new, and obviously increasingly popular IAAF World Relays. The IAAF hierarchy, including President Liam Diack, has so far been present at the World Relays 2014 and now 2015.

The crux of my argument, Willi, with which I suspect you will strongly disagree, is that we need a creative Sports Minister in Jamaica, as well as a useful JAAA. I first realized this immediately following the 2004 Athens Olympic Games! I also mentioned in a previous post that we missed the boat when the delegates failed to elect Grace Jackson and her team as the new JAAA, and even more so at the 2004 JAAA elections!

Well here goes .... You're such a little girl!

Compromises will be made for Jamaicas benefit as it pertains to the world relays, it will have to fit our calendar by being staged in Jamaica , which I believe is the move, the bahamas is just a stepping stone for bigger things, I mean seriously having a decent 4x400 team isnt much to sell the world, especially given our T&F history , esp Bolt and all what comes with him in team Jamaica.

Our calendar is desinged to buss people when it counts, this W.R is just developing its hype, it says alot when Penn carries more weight than this meet or our invitational, another aspect is the cat and mouse game of not giving away too much before the right time, the mental aspect.Franno is a master at this.Sorry Miss- torian but thats how i see it and I believe thats what it is, after 2017 when the bahamas stages the last meet, it will revolve around Jamaica, most likely in Jamaica.

Unnuh juss safff.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I totally agree with the last paragraph.

I disagree about the importance of the WRs, not per se, but due to its timing.

Not sure it will survive unless its strongly tweaked for timing in the year and which years its run. In Oly and WC years there is a problem. Last year was an off year and most everyone was there.

In on years, maybe Sept will be better?

As far as importance for tourism,the stadium is too small to make it a really lucrative thing. How many tourists really come. The biggest foreign contingent is likely the "bruk pocket" Jamaicans. IAAF dignitaries are there becuase its their event and Coe/Bubka etc are busy glad-handling on the campaign trail.

They made a silly move not go put this in Jam and capitalize on the Bolt era. Pauline Davis politics not withstanding, if the IAAf was thinking big and long term, they should have partnered this with Jamaica and work it around the KGN invite. Bah is really too small to take this to the level that is needed. They cant even fill the tiny stadium and have to be giving away free tickets so it dont look too bad.

In Jamaica, every day would be rammed up with paying customers like World Juniors, as we would hype it as US vs Jamaica dual meet.. a senior Gibson relays.

Very Good Points, Boss

I totally agree with the last paragraph.

I disagree about the importance of the WRs, not per se, but due to its timing.

Not sure it will survive unless its strongly tweaked for timing in the year and which years its run. In Oly and WC years there is a problem. Last year was an off year and most everyone was there.

In on years, maybe Sept will be better?

As far as importance for tourism,the stadium is too small to make it a really lucrative thing. How many tourists really come. The biggest foreign contingent is likely the "bruk pocket" Jamaicans. IAAF dignitaries are there becuase its their event and Coe/Bubka etc are busy glad-handling on the campaign trail.
                          You have made some very logical points here, Willi. In fact, there is nothing you said here that I have any disagreement with.

All he did was support my arguement, are you giving me credit indirectly,is that so hard for you ?....hehe...wha gamma say....girl

get it right please ..... LIKKLE girl!