US college a bun dem out - Champs track star.

• US college a bun dem out - Champs track star.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v...type=2&theater

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wow. Wishing him the best, good to see that he finished school though.

Back in the 70s and 80s that was the story for 9 out of 10 Jamaican star athletes

True dat, true dat. Nuff waste weh ah foreign.

fi real no news there.

you can hear the joy in the young man's voice when he speaks about training and being home.

hl would be quick to point out that he should not complain because he got a degree out of it ... and he may have a point.

And all along we were thinking that they must know what they were doing, that is, the college coaches and system. Afterall, they had produced so many Olympic medalists.

Maybe it's time for us to reconsider how we develop footballers who can really compete against the best in the world.

truth is though, something similar was being done with high school athletes in jamaica, it was all about winning championships. there is a restriction to 4 events now, not sure if that was always the case.

The fact is you have college and you have college. Not all colleges and coaches have the athlete's interest at heart. It goes for every sport in the US. That is why I tell people to do their research.

yes but when coaches change...as an athlete you have no control over that...

The other thing is, when a school is giving you a scholarship that could be worth upwards of $30 grand a year, yuh better run. Often!

Remember who hires the college coach & what his/her job is. The athlete's success for the college is paramount, for the college coach, not what he does for Jamaica.