Rae Rae

• Rae Rae

The year 2012 was the first time that female boxers were allowed to compete at the Olympics. And the first female to represent Jamaica in the Olympic qualifiers was 33-year-old Sarah-Joy Rae, a Swiss-Jamaican public prosecutor.

Rae packs quite a punch not only in the courtroom but also in the boxing ring. She says she always had a liking for law enforcement.

“If I had not studied law, I would have studied forensic psychology, and if I had not had a chance at those, I would have probably joined the police force,” she says.

The boxing trait didn’t come from her family, in fact the family is a cricketing family — grandfather, Allan Fitzroy Rae was a famous West Indian cricketer as well as the president of the West Indies Cricket Board for many years. “My grandfather was celebrated on the $4 Jamaican stamp alongside the Barbados Cricket Buckle in 1988. My dad played cricket too, but not on the same level,” she said.

Her father, Philip Rae, is Jamaican, while her mother Iris is Swiss.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...ampion-fighter
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015