Interesting Calabar fact!

• Interesting Calabar fact!

Just realized that Calabar now has a Olympic medalist in every single male event from 100, 200,400,800,4*1,4*4

100 Herb Mac
    200 Warren Weir
    400 Herb Mac, Arthur Wint
    800 Arthur Wint
    4*100 Dwight Thomas
    4*400 Herb Mac, Arthur Wint, Sanjay Ayre.

Looks like a Weir seal up the thing in London!!!!

Across five decades of active achievement 40's,50's,90's,00's,teens's.

Interesting, somehow I would have expected there to have been more CBar relay medallists than those.

I think the ongly Oly medallist we have is David Weller, the ongly one outside of T&F.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        Just realized that Calabar now has a Olympic medalist in every single male event from 100, 200,400,800,4*1,4*4

100 Herb Mac
        200 Warren Weir
        400 Herb Mac, Arthur Wint
        800 Arthur Wint
        4*100 Dwight Thomas
        4*400 Herb Mac, Arthur Wint, Sanjay Ayre.

Looks like a Weir seal up the thing in London!!!!

Across five decades of active achievement 40's,50's,90's,00's,teens's.
        Quite an achievement

Stoni you forgot George Rhoden. Other notables:

Dennis Johnson
          Maurice Smith
          Maurice Wignall
          Andrew Riley
          Jason Morgan
          Josef Robertson
          Donkey Man

plus many more
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I have searched high and low for evidence of a Rhoden at Calabar but have never found it, I heard from some people I know that he actually went to Kingston Tech while they were there.

Especially so on the 4*1 teams. Add to that Keith Gardener 4*4 in Rome but competing for BWI.

Stoni you forgot George Rhoden. Other notables:

Dennis Johnson
                Maurice Smith
                Maurice Wignall
                Andrew Riley
                Jason Morgan
                Josef Robertson
                Donkey Man

plus many more
                Medalist!
                DJ came close - 4th as member of a relay...4 x 1.
                Wignall I think made a final...and was it 4th? ...or lower?
                ...of course Donkey man was a silver medalist on our 4 x 400M!

The others I do not think ever won a medal at the Olympics...(?)

Stoni you may be right. I've always thought that we had 3 Bar men on that 4x400 relay team. Here's what I found:

In 1943, the Technical School (later Kingston Technical) had its application refused, and was still not admitted in 1952, although in the Olympics held that year, a past student, George Rhoden, defeated both Arthur Wint and Herb McKenley to give Jamaica gold medal in the 400 metres. Up to 1944, the year in which Jamaica was granted Universal Adult Suffrage, only Calabar (1913), Beckford and Smith (1927), Cornwall (1928) and Kingston College (1929) had been added to the original four schools.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news5.html
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnCyrQEcC3M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0enxHyZhrU

Stoni you may be right. I've always thought that we had 3 Bar men on that 4x400 relay team. Here's what I found:

In 1943, the Technical School (later Kingston Technical) had its application refused, and was still not admitted in 1952, although in the Olympics held that year, a past student, George Rhoden, defeated both Arthur Wint and Herb McKenley to give Jamaica gold medal in the 400 metres. Up to 1944, the year in which Jamaica was granted Universal Adult Suffrage, only Calabar (1913), Beckford and Smith (1927), Cornwall (1928) and Kingston College (1929) had been added to the original four schools.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news5.html
                      Unnu all a transfer posthumously! Unnu nuh easy at all!

Blup, blup blup!!!!

Donkey man was world champs not Olympics. As you say others came quite close like DJ.

Wignall was 4th in a PB.

LOL! Good one.