Oh when CBar...go marching in...Oh when Cbar..

That is certainly true but people respond to them. While the experts and policy makers need more detailed and specific data for analysis, there is value in a public debate based on the data which is used for the ranking , not so much the rankings themselves.

WHY is Vere Tech producing at 17% while another Clarendon-based school, Glenmuir, is producing 95%? Is it the quality of the GSAT intake? Is it the school community support? Is it the school staff and administration? All of the above and more? We need to ask WHY, and not everyone will have the time or inclination to go through a detailed study to find out.

As to the use of the rankings themselves, we cannot use them to determine if school #1 is producing better value than school #4 or if school #160 is worse than school #149 ,BUT we can determine, for example, that the bottom 50 schools are essentially useless as learning institutions.
    Absolutely correct.

Yes rankings get people interested and engaged in education matters... but unfortunately they focus on peripheral or sometimes trivial issues.

This is not the fault of the ranking per se.... It's the fault of a non-scientific approach to data and a lack of interest in solutions to problems by the people looking at rankings

This is an important issue which deserves its own thread imho. I will oblige

So how mi nuh see Munro college on that list?
      Maybe too insignificant ... Ow much yute guh Manroe?? 300???

Mebbe nuhbaddy nuh bizniz wid dem numba deh ar dem look but cyaan find wich part unnu deh

Woooiiieee mi Likkle House Pon di Prairie Top!!!!!!
      Last edited by Don1; February 9, 2015, 02:34 PM.

In Arce Sitam Quis Occultabit

Bobo ski watten alla, alla ski wah!

Go dung, heathen bwoy!

In Arce Sitam Quis Occultabit

Bobo ski watten alla, alla ski wah!

Go dung, heathen bwoy!

LOL!!

Yuh ah Talk in Tongues!!! Pentecostal tings!!! Mi did tink unnu ah Anglican!!
          Yuh all ah bring Satanic Occult tings dung pon mi

Woooiiiee mi Epiglottis!!!
          Last edited by Don1; February 9, 2015, 03:24 PM.

You betta watch it wid the alla, alla business, dem soon think you is ISIS and send NSA come fe you!

A nuh lie!

Di run yah mek yuh jaw drop an mout wide open. An di coach seh him did know seh dat time di present but not suh early. Dis yout yah nuh normal at all.

A think MyYout ran against Dunn back in the days.

Well, Bolt at 16 dropped 45.35 not full out.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                      Pure yard youd, nothing but that. In athletics, Tradition, process, goals, measurement, self doubt, encouragement, hard work, respect, competition, analysis, next steps rinse and repeat five hundred times over one hundred years and Calabar emerges, unfortunately we have totally lost the path on the most important side, the education of our boys and turning them to responsible men.

I was looking through the CDC pass rate and was truly surprised at the numbers, Seems only Wolmers and George's have retained a decent standard and surprisingly KC is doing ok. Calabar is horrible and JC have really fallen on hard times.
                      You weren't doing too badly until "surprisingly KC is doing ok". All credibility just melted like the skill level of snow ballers in the Jamaican sun.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                        You weren't doing too badly until "surprisingly KC is doing ok". All credibility just melted like the skill level of snow ballers in the Jamaican sun.
                        LOL!!

OK, yeah probably.

Dunn played a little D'Cup too. He wasn't that skilled but had speed. Titchfield used to run Zone D in those days though, Kingsley Chin was the big baller of that era. He eventually became a big time doctor nuh so?

Yeah man. Mi and Chin use to be in same year. His brother in law is Rudy Speid and I use to be in same class from 1-5 form. We also went to the same all age school from the same district We were close.

Anything Chin accomplish didn't surprise me as he was a genius on and off the field. He was also a top TT player and A1 quadrille dancer. LOL!! Yeah he is doing some very good work in the medical field. That is one player who could have made it professionally in today's environment.

Titchfield was the king of the east in the ball, players like Chin, Oral Hyde(transfer from St.Mary), Glen Gurrell, Bobby Leslie(who was Doreen Small neighbor) Teddy Taylor to name a few and later Clive "Ninja" Smith who became Jamaica national goalie. A bit unlucky in DCup a few times.

him nevah been normal

Maybe too insignificant ... Ow much yute guh Manroe?? 300???

Mebbe nuhbaddy nuh bizniz wid dem numba deh ar dem look but cyaan find wich part unnu deh

Woooiiieee mi Likkle House Pon di Prairie Top!!!!!!
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015