Super Bowl vs World Cup
Thanks for this. From time to time one ends up in a debate with a Yank who thinks America is the world. World Series, World Champions when only two American teams are playing each other.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
merican football, cho it not wut di time, ah hour game an five hours latah it jus ah done. Mi watch more ads inna all merican tradition sports dan di sport itself, dat nuh mek no damn sense. Plus dem call dem worl chmp'ship, dem yah people nuh easy. Idiot sport dem (choreographed sport, dem nuh bettah dah synchronized swimming), if yuh ask mi.
Originally posted by myYout View Postmerican football, cho it not wut di time, ah hour game an five hours latah it jus ah done. Mi watch more ads inna all merican tradition sports dan di sport itself, dat nuh mek no damn sense. Plus dem call dem worl chmp'ship, dem yah people nuh easy. Idiot sport dem (choreographed sport, dem nuh bettah dah synchronized swimming), if yuh ask mi.
Originally posted by Gamma View PostWhere is cricket on that list? As we should know by now "Jamaicans prefer ...."
....'fraid to complete the statement? A guess yuh closeted cricket loving fren' might bex wid yu.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
You must admit that they have got this business thing down to a 'science' with ALL American sport. Much $$$ is made!!!!
I recall the days when the US was trying to do the same with soccer (football).
In the 70's and 80's they used to cut away to show commercials during broadcasts. They stopped doing that and had little windows showing the commercials during the game. That was scrapped for ticker across the screen.
Even in early 2000, the US wanted to change some of the rules--so that it would accommodate TV commercials.
They also wanted to have multiple substitution and time-outs. I hated with a passion the introduction of shoot-outs. If a game ended in a draw, they have this silly shoot-out.........>>>>>~~GROAN~~The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Well that is all it is really, since the actual game is only 12 minutes long....
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the...dist=afterbell"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by HL View PostEven in early 2000, the US wanted to change some of the rules--so that it would accommodate TV commercials.
They also wanted to have multiple substitution and time-outs. I hated with a passion the introduction of shoot-outs. If a game ended in a draw, they have this silly shoot-out.........>>>>>~~GROAN~~