Maybe I am just bad-minded

• Maybe I am just bad-minded

but I am getting tired of Michael Holding as a commentator when he is working games involving the West Indies.

I used to think he was a refreshing change but now I realised he is just bitter and chat too much. He continues to undermine everything the West Indies does and today he was talking about poor selections for the third Test and minutes later the same guy he was saying should not play, Darren Sammy, he gets a vital wicket.

When you listen to both Sir Viv and Colin Croft and even Jimmy Adams you get a more balanced and might I say more West Indian-centric view and more support than adverse criticism.

Croft still talks about 'we' and 'us' while Sir Viv always has a positive spin on what the team does.

Holding reminds me of Ato Bolden trying too hard to earn the Yankee Dollar, one would think he would have learned after his 'Minnows' comment that he needs to think before he talks.

but I am getting tired of Michael Holding as a commentator when he is working games involving the West Indies.

I used to think he was a refreshing change but now I realised he is just bitter and chat too much. He continues to undermine everything the West Indies does and today he was talking about poor selections for the third Test and minutes later the same guy he was saying should not play, Darren Sammy, he gets a vital wicket.

When you listen to both Sir Viv and Colin Croft and even Jimmy Adams you get a more balanced and might I say more West Indian-centric view and more support than adverse criticism.

Croft still talks about 'we' and 'us' while Sir Viv always has a positive spin on what the team does.

Holding reminds me of Ato Bolden trying too hard to earn the Yankee Dollar, one would think he would have learned after his 'Minnows' comment that he needs to think before he talks.
    There ain't no maybe about it.. look up bad-mind in the dictionary and ah yuh dat smiling and posing..

Sick,

It look like Sammy mussi did hear Holding comment... an tek it to heart. If is suh de man dem goin respond to Holding I would seh , "Mikey keep it up!"

Congrats to the man from St Lucia for his 7 wickets.

pr

West Indies finally find somebody who can bowl?

Sass, we've become expert at locating "one match wonders". As you can tell, when it comes to WI cricket. the cynic in me has the upper hand over the optimist (sigh)..

pr

Sass, we've become expert at locating "one match wonders". As you can tell, when it comes to WI cricket. the cynic in me has the upper hand over the optimist (sigh)..

pr
            ...then, there is this - Holding knows his cricket. One performance...damn! ...many one off performances do not a cricketer make!

If it were so...the Windies would still be at the top of the world. The number of one-off good performances we have been getting from our players since we have been bouncing around at or near the bottom of the barrell? Nuff-Nuff!
            Last edited by Karl; June 13, 2007, 09:19 AM.

True sah, I thought Samuels would be the next great thing.

What amaze me is at the end of the series when there is nothing to play for is when man a make score. Every test we play is the same thing then you hear how we improving.

Fact is Holding has gotten it badly wrong in the last year or so, continually but I guess he wont give up trying to be 'outspoken and forthright'.

This happens to a lot of people in the media not just on the local but in the international market as well, they make some headlines or open some eyes with some pointed, maybe worthy comments and they think they need to change the world with their words, they never know when to stop or back off.

Maybe Sammy did hear the comments as right after his inclusion was thrashed by Holding, winin minutes he bowled two straight maidens when England was threatening to tear the Windies a new one.

Fact is Holding has gotten it badly wrong in the last year or so, continually but I guess he wont give up trying to be 'outspoken and forthright'.

This happens to a lot of people in the media not just on the local but in the international market as well, they make some headlines or open some eyes with some pointed, maybe worthy comments and they think they need to change the world with their words, they never know when to stop or back off.

Maybe Sammy did hear the comments as right after his inclusion was thrashed by Holding, winin minutes he bowled two straight maidens when England was threatening to tear the Windies a new one.
                  Well it that is so...as far as I am concerned, Sammy...the entire Windies team need to be hearing Holding's disgust in their ears and prove him wrong. I can't wait for that proving of Holding wrong and the Windies moving to the TOP OF THE CRICKET WORLD.

As it stands, I reserve judgement on Sammy.