Should Hyde get sportsman of the year?

Really, Islandman?! There is really nothing magical about 13 seconds.

Advantage Hyde!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      Total waste of time argument, this is for sportsman of the year not sports schoolboy of the year, people really get it twisted and totally drop the whole context piece. What he did was great, but that level is just dolly house to the real thing, means nothing, just a sampler, just icing on the finger, a little flavor or taste, a hint of things to come. Mek we leave the youth alone and stop swell him head with foolishness and make him hunger for greater things so we can name him sportsman of the year when he dominates at big man level. Geezam!!!!!!
      Joy Foster at 8 years old?
      Granted Joy is female...

Stoni added a realist perspective to it ,twisted my view .I agree with Stoni.Strike my other position.
        Flip-flopping as usual.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what are you talking about? he is being consistent.

Consistently flip-flopping inconsistent views? Did I get this correctly?

Hyde achievements were not just 'Jamaican' they were 'International.' Hyde wins by 3 lengths

Nothing magical, except that only 15 people in history have done it.

Will Hyde do it one day? Perhaps, but until then......he hasn't done it.

karreck!!!

It is outstanding, but for me in the context of national Sportsman/Sportswoman of the year a junior level achivement carries less weight. It would have to be a REALLY weak year at the senior level for it to be the dominant performance for me.

Lets take it a step further, suppose a kid won the world U-12 60m dash? Or a youth scored a double century in U-15 international cricket? I think you have to put a weight on these things.
                    I deliberately left out that Joy Foster when she won she had performed at the senior level. ...so you, sir, have come up with the one factor that could disqualify young Mr. Hyde; he has done nothing at the senior level. However, which athlete has so far put in outstanding performance or performances? I cannot think of one... The hypothetical then becomes, is there a senior male athlete who has been as outstanding as has young Mr. Hyde? ...and if there is not one such, what then?

At his level he broke that 13 second barrier, the only person to have done so!

He lost at Champs, no?