Is Jaheel Hyde the best hurdler ever?

Islandman - Just found this on Liu Xiang

2012 earnings: 38 million yuan (US$6.09 million)

2011 ranking: 3

Liu Xiang is unquestionably one of the most renowned and successful Chinese athletes in the world. Born in 1983, Liu won his first Olympic gold medal in the 2004 Athens Olympics, China's first and only gold in the men's track and field event.

Although his fans were eagerly awaiting an encore in the 2008 Beijing Olympics, Liu was forced to withdraw from the Games at the last minute because of a lingering foot injury. After four years of waiting, on August 7, 2012, Liu crashed into the first barrier during the opening heat of the 110m hurdles, and with that came an end to his third time participating in the Olympics. Till now, whether or not Liu can ever return to the competition remains unknown, but he certainly is a cherished national icon of China.

----------

Rockman?
    Packaged? ...how has "The Pocket Rocket" been doing? ...and she is TOP WORLD performer.

...and Yohan Blake?

Now young Hyde performs in a 'lesser discipline'. What would he have to do to make 'good money'? ...and as footballer at less than very TOP OF THE WORLD performances?

Granted both are hard road to travel...but...I would not write him off on making it as a footballer if he chooses that path. ...now as hurdler? Could be much tougher path to go down????

Hyde is perhaps the Usain Bolt of hurdles! A half decent agent should be able to make him make millions!

Hurdles is already one of those glamour events so it's all up to him and his managers.

Wasn't suggesting that Lui was typical, I was responding to your statement that you never heard of a hurdler who makes a living from it and used Lui to show what is possible at the high end.

Lolo Jones also made a lot of money and I am sure there have been others who have made a few hundred thousand a year. Hyde is a potential hurdling phenom who should do very well if he progresses gradually and stays healthy,

The larger point is that the odds of him making any type of a decent living from football is probably ten times less likely than from T&F based on what we know about him today. The choice of course is ultimately his but if I was his advisor and he stated that he loves both and has to choose one eventually, I think it would be a no brainer. Let us not forget that he also has 8 CSEC subjects so he is no dummy, maybe he might decide to go into sports medicine or something else!
        Last edited by Islandman; August 24, 2014, 07:53 PM.

Wasn't suggesting that Lui was typical, I was responding to your statement that you never heard of a hurdler who makes a living from it and used Lui to show what is possible at the high end.

Lolo Jones also made a lot of money and I am sure there have been others who have made a few hundred thousand a year. Hyde is a potential hurdling phenom who should do very well if he progresses gradually and stays healthy,

The larger point is that the odds of him making any type of a decent living from football is probably ten times less likely than from T&F based on what we know about him today. The choice of course is ultimately his but if I was his advisor and he stated that he loves both and has to choose one eventually, I think it would be a no brainer. Let us not forget that he also has 8 CSEC subjects so he is no dummy, maybe he might decide to go into sports medicine or something else!
          You make your case...well!
          The genes!

It is that gut feeling on the likelihood of success in either that has me leaning to football. No stats to look at on which to base which is more likely or for that matter more unlikely that the hurdles =obstacles be overcome.

It is the devoid of logic/facts to make logical assumption, a 'gut feeling', that tells me that an athlete with equal potential to be a world beater in the discipline of football and Track hurdling should choose what 'the gut' says...football! It is a TEAM game and doing the simple things well..simple logical things well repeatedly brings multi-million dollar rewards.

The hurdles as told to me by that same 'gut feelings' - ...and experience as a Munro boy who failed at 'picking it up' in a 2 month season as requested by a Sports Master who had not a clue or word on how to go about 'picking up that skill of hurdling' but wished me to represent the school at it. - is, we know a difficult...an extremely technical event...where physical injuries - knee, ankle, heel, various muscles...where every race or practice run is one step away from career ending injury...as there is no pulling out or half-measures during each competition...presents greater risk of ever having sustained success... Just 'the gut'!

Who are the hurdlers with say, 10 years at the top?
          Edwin Moses! ...cannot think of another at this time...

Footballer? - Many!
          Last edited by Karl; August 25, 2014, 02:57 AM.

The hurdles as told to me by that same 'gut feelings' - ...and experience as a Munro boy who failed at 'picking it up' in a 2 month season as requested by a Sports Master who had not a clue or word on how to go about 'picking up that skill of hurdling' but wished me to represent the school at it. - is, we know a difficult...an extremely technical event...where physical injuries - knee, ankle, heel, various muscles...where every race or practice run is one step away from career ending injury...as there is no pulling out or half-measures during each competition...presents greater risk of ever having sustained success... Just 'the gut'!
            Hmmm... never found the event that challenging.

...tells me that an athlete with equal potential to be a world beater in the discipline of football and Track hurdling should choose what 'the gut' says...football! It is a TEAM game and doing the simple things well..simple logical things well repeatedly brings multi-million dollar rewards.
              I would not disagree with this idea....if all things were equal. But alas, in the real world they never are. He lives in Jamaica in 2014 and that matters, it matters a LOT.

With track and field we already know Hyde is in the best of company, world class company in fact! With football....well lets just say that though TALENT ABOUNDS it goes mostly unrealised

To your point, if a scout who fell from the sky by way of say Ajax came next week and said "I have seen enough, we want this boy" then sure I would say go ahead and all the best to you. However the chances of that happening are slim to none. He is getting little exposure in the way of top class football for his age group and I doubt that will change much in the next 12-15 months. I think you agree that once that window closes this discussion is over.

Unoo please find some other young baller to spearhead the attempt to save Jamaicas football, this youths destiny is elsewhere.
              Last edited by Islandman; August 25, 2014, 07:40 AM.

Who came second to Jaheel at Champs? Maybe we could work on his football potential. We could also look at the also-rans in the sprints, but hurdles suggests he may have some spring in his feet.

... and if his father was the coach of Charlie Smith?

Him jus need fi keep humble and focussed an big tings in store. Special talent widout a doubt.

I would not disagree with this idea....if all things were equal. But alas, in the real world they never are. He lives in Jamaica in 2014 and that matters, it matters a LOT.

With track and field we already know Hyde is in the best of company, world class company in fact! With football....well lets just say that though TALENT ABOUNDS it goes mostly unrealised

To your point, if a scout who fell from the sky by way of say Ajax came next week and said "I have seen enough, we want this boy" then sure I would say go ahead and all the best to you. However the chances of that happening are slim to none. He is getting little exposure in the way of top class football for his age group and I doubt that will change much in the next 12-15 months. I think you agree that once that window closes this discussion is over.

Unoo please find some other young baller to spearhead the attempt to save Jamaicas football, this youths destiny is elsewhere.
                      Well stated, sah!!!
                      At 17 clubs should have been beating down his door...but it shall almost never happen for our talented young as the avenue for exposure - OUR National age-group TEAMs - is locked by the administrators leading us - JFF and its affiliates.

They refuse to develop our young using professional well administered methods. Hey! ...go no further than think on the fact that our JFF administrators are products of our schools - failed teaching and academic guidance - academic development process.
                      Last edited by Karl; August 31, 2014, 09:43 PM.

...go no further than think on the fact that our JFF administrators are products of our schools - failed teaching and academic guidance - academic development process.
                        Yuh went to school in Jamaica, Karl?

- The foregoing...with 'head in hand', is how I interpreted your comment. Disgust at my questioning of 'our education system'?

If correct then my response is...

I am sure you did!
                          ...as you surely did not think about the results of our education system on percentage numbers of 'graduates' vs numbers entering same.

However, you may have forgotten the context here is performance by our JFF and school administrators as it relates to results from our 'football industry': So a reference to discussion on 'graduate outcomes' where *English and Mathematics were targeted in other threads on this board begs of you the following:
                          - Do you consider the 'real' percentages mentioned worthy of giving the schools a passing grade?

- Do you consider that the job done in the past and is currently being done by our school's graduates who have been at the helm of our JFF worthy of a passing grade?

If your answer is, on both counts: FAILING GRADE! ...then clearly you were 'marred' at school as your dig at me suggests your attention span can be questioned and or your* ability to comprehend, assess and make reasoned assumptions or ability to arrive at logical conclusions. Compromised at school...?

Follow me carefully if you can? - On that which you responded:
                          a) There was no deduction/conclusion to be drawn that all graduates from our school system were dumb or failing.

b) There is a deduction to be drawn that whatever was absorbed - take something in mentally: to see, read, or hear something and understand it fully - by those leaders of our JFF during time of schooling has had direct bearing on how they have been performing in the jobs as 'football administrators'.

Aside: We all know that at school "logical thinking" is encouraged and indeed it is required that such ability be greatly heightened.

A primary goal of teaching developing logical thinking. - Logical thinking is a learned mental process, which is a foundational skill of math and makes people smarter.
                          Last edited by Karl; August 27, 2014, 06:53 PM.

Does that answer your question?

Best youth hurdler perhaps, he has a long way to go to replicate success in even one of those two disciplines at the senior level, but clearly he has the tools at this point to make an excellent attempt to master one of the two hurdles event.

He has already mastered them both. He should do both at the senior level.