Hyde is a throwback of latter years,he is something special.

Karl, many of the above average Track and field athletes have been able to travel and compete at the highest level and world beaters, even those who haven't proven themselves on the track has been able to secure sponsors such as Donkeyman and Dexter Lee.

Can't say the same for most Manning cup footballer.

Kmt.

Without even checking times, I'm sure he would have made the finals of the last two Olympics.

He's already world class, period!
      World Champs 2013- Results 400MH Heats

http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaa...t#resultheader

400MH Semi-finals

400MH Finals

Jaheel Hyde's - Best times

http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/jamaica/jaheel-hyde-272373

World Class at Junior level. Senior - Perhaps within top 25 - 50 (Some countries have deep field)?

btw - Little earnings being outside world's top 5...and even less below that.
      Unlike football where those making good earnings - [above USD500,000 annually(?)] - in the tens of thousands.

...you did not grasp all he taught.

LOL. I would not argue with that statement, but I learnt enough to "handle miself well".

Will he be running the 200M in 20.5 or faster by then?
        Will he then be running the 400M hurdles on or around 48.00 sec. or faster?
        Will he ever run 400MH in 46.00 change?
        This is what you call "analysis paralysis" .

We cannot predict with certainty the answer to those questions, but I see no reason at this stage why those are beyond his capabilites. We do know is that for his age, he is fast,can hurdle well, and can run a more than decent flat 400m. He is the world's best among his peers in not one, but TWO hurdling events.

Tons of scouts and clubs have association with 'Jamaka ball'.
        Yet none are getting the attention of top or second tier leagues. Given that TALENT ABOUNDS why is this? I know, it is because they have mostly been poorly coached. The scouts know this and are taking a pass.

Yet you would advise Hyde that has a better chance at a successful football career than he does a track career?

LOL. I would not argue with that statement, but I learnt enough to "handle miself well".

Not too long past realized that Gilroy was related to you. Gilroy was a 'big bat' and good schoolboy footballer.

Clive (Gilroy's bigger brother) who was a 'best friend' of mine ran track, played cricket (although could not hold a bat to Gilroy) and was a very good footballer. Di worl suh-maal fi real!

This is what you call "analysis paralysis" .

We cannot predict with certainty the answer to those questions, but I see no reason at this stage why those are beyond his capabilites. We do know is that for his age, he is fast,can hurdle well, and can run a more than decent flat 400m. He is the world's best among his peers in not one, but TWO hurdling events.
          Yuh repeat yuhself - and I shall follow: Yes! He is world class at junior level!

Yet none are getting the attention of top or second tier leagues. Given that TALENT ABOUNDS why is this? I know, it is because they have mostly been poorly coached. The scouts know this and are taking a pass.

[B]Yet you would advise Hyde that has a better chance at a successful football career than he does a track career?[B]
          I did not say that. I said do not write him off on becoming top world footballer. For that to happen he would have to do the 2 things I mentioned:
          a) take that 'crash course' on 'how to play the game';

b) ...and be placed by a scout in good professional club within a year.

His chance at making a good living as a track pro is a long shot!
          Much better doing well at academics...and leaving the island. The job market in JA is already a saturated dog-eat-dog fight and is worse on worse year after succeeding year!!! The odds in Jamaica of landing a good job or starting his own 'good' business gets loooooonger and loooooonger year over year.

How yuh put Donkeyman in that class of haven't proven themselves on the track, donkey,an has shown on the track his superiority in age group and also his willingness to compete on the highest level as a schoolboy in the world champs 4*400. Cho man wha yuh ah deal wid!

Well he is top in his age group and even though he hasn't delivered yet he has secured sponsorship. Not saying he won't deliver, just hasn't gotten the chance to yet.

Comedy to ..... delivering the silver medal at worlds doesnt count, his junior accomplishments dont count and yes delivering for school at champs doesnt count.

It goes back to what i said about SAFP and ASAFA they delivered nothing at the junior level....its a process.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X he was a part of the relay team. When I am talking about delivering , I am talking about base on his potential to be a world beater, not a relay team.

Karl, many of the above average Track and field athletes have been able to *travel and compete at the highest level and world beaters, even those who haven't proven themselves on the track has been able to secure sponsors such as Donkeyman and Dexter Lee.

Within context of higher quality teaching for T&F athlete than the football athlete and available opportunity of exposure - to quality competition inside and outside of the island - and established tried and trusted avenues for mobility along career path...

Sass: Talk numbers nuh man.
                    Here is your context - Relative proximity to World Class Junior times on age grouping v age grouping comparison e.g. the school's class 3, 2 and 1 age groups - Check our kids times and distances achieved. Total numbers that fall within such a group say each year...

Inform on percentage that - (Take your above *bar) - those who travel the world and compete at the highest levels. That would be interesting info. The vague many tells nothing.

btw - Our young 400M runner you referenced is a proven talent at the highest level...Dexter Lee, as prospect with potential to advance to the highest level is a complete different matter. My assumption, based on past results, is he is wasting his time.

Bwoy Sass, yuh good!
                    Looking at your true comment,
                    Why did you not make that **comparative true comment about the track & field athletes? Surely you did not wish us to believe/think differently for the T&F athletes?

Most of our above average athletes do not progress beyond school performance stage=i.e. performing on the schools' champs stage or at the even lower individual school's stage...the alpha and omega of their T&F "glory days".
                    Last edited by Karl; August 8, 2014, 11:40 PM.

No Karl, he is more than that. He is the greatest Junior of all time!
                      He almost broke the W Youth 100m H mark going into a significant negative wind and ran 49.49s in March this year, which I think was the WL time of the year then. This was over the SENIOR hurdles height!

Get it now?

In terms of ball, he is not even the best in the manning Cup last year. Benbow and Junior Flemmings were better. Just what has he done in ball that makes you think he is that special?

Yuh mad?

We still talk about Ed Moses to this day.

Plus he was 0.1s shy of the WY 100m hurdles record art year!

Shhh
                          Don't tell den nutten.

He would not be a shoe in to make StGC starting 11 in the last 2 years.

Hyde is a greater track talent than SupaDonx right now...

SAFP won in class 2 champs.

Asafa was barely in the sport until about 18 years old.