Hyde is a throwback of latter years,he is something special.

Huh?

So, given that he is better than you in Ball, does that make U dumb????

...back to you - Huh?

If you are already proven to be world class in one field, and already in an environment where world class talent is being produced, why on earth would you gamble on another field where the chances of success at that level is much less likely?

If he was my son, even if him was good like Dago Gordon I would tell him to choose track.

if he is given similar teaching immediately (next few months)
        ..but we already know he will not get that over the next few months, so.......?

Why attack manning cup quality and by extension him to justify the youth as average balla ? our school boy league produces quality , problem is after that it goes to the NPL which should be a step up in the development process it does not develop, proof is the youths that migrate to US colleges and buss, or migrate from that competition to the english leagues.Our qualifying for Fifa youth tournaments when we had a program in the late 90s early 2k , all this came from the manning and dacosta cup.How quick we forget, it would seem our youth program was out performing the seniors at a time.

Hyde could be another Bibi, Fuller, Damani etc.What I would say is at this juncture , track offers more in terms of oppourtunity and financial security.

Go for it.Yes i believe in our youths, not the shitstem.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Stoni, yuh ever see him play ball? He may be the worst of the Hyde clan at football even while being good enough to make the national U20 team. But he is not special at the sport just yet.

If Hyde was born in Brazi or Europe maybe we wouldn't even be talking about his track abilities. Likewise, if Bolt was born in Belgium, he may have become a footballer.

Imagine if the other schools competed in the school competitions back in the day. Maybe we would not have had so many representing Jamaica in 3 and 4 sports.

Certainly possible. But we live the world as it exists and must make decisions as such.

As "great" a schoolboy football player as Dago is said to have been, it is a pity he didn't take his cricket more seriously as those in the know say he had the ability to be a part of the all conquering and legendary WI team of the 70s. Clive Lloyd saw him keep wicket in an exhibition game and asked what manner of a player is this. Instead, he played football for Boys Town.
                  Last edited by Islandman; August 6, 2014, 07:07 PM.

To that I say he went where his heart was....the vibe at the time and for that , i say respect, wasnt there talk about bibi and T & F ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

With Dago it was more about lack of discipline than any kind of honorable choice. He could be indisciplined and still play for Boys Town. With Lloyd's WI team he would have not lasted long. Lloyd was told just that.

His counterpart Danny Germs found that out the hard way. Dago is a tragic hero in Jamaican sport, he could have been an international hero.

No I cannot remember Bibi discussed as any kind of world beating T&F athlete.

Hehe world beating , no (champs ) wolmers athlete, thats where they start,that might have come later.

Hyde is world beating now, today. Please tell me what Bibi accomplished in T&F.

Nothing , like Asafa & SAFP, its a process, history has proven that.

Gardner actually passed the Common Entrance Exams to attend Excelsior High, went there for a week, then transferred to Wolmer's because of his abilities as a track athlete, which had made him Champion Boy at Harbour View Primary.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports9.html

What baffles me is your objective to prove a point it just dismisses commonsense, all I am saying is it could have been....dammm...typical of Jamaican reasoning, its not that you are wrong or I am right....damm.

X, the obvious difference is that Asafa and SAFP did not have another sport. They were not in Hydes position. Neither was Bibi.

Try and find someone who is at least close to a national representative in 2 sports. There are not many.

Hyde is world class at one sport and a good local player at another. So was Dago , so was Danny Germs. In Dagos case he was an excellent local player at football. Still he went nowhere.