I am trying to determine if T20 has totally

• I am trying to determine if T20 has totally

distorted my expectations or if this WI/NZ match is boring even by Test cricket standards.

It is really painful for me to watch and not just because NZ is batting fairly well.

-------------------------------------------------------------
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, takes a bit of a back-and-across step, unorthodox footwork against a pretty full ball, and defends towards mid-on
    Shillingford to McCullum, 1 run, that's tossed up just outside off and McCullum comes forward to force it to the left of mid-off
    Shillingford to Taylor, 1 run, was it that short? Taylor seemed to premeditate as he went right back in his crease and across to try and pull. Doesn't get hold of it and the ball dribbles towards square leg
    End of over 104 (4 runs) New Zealand 259/3

Benn to McCullum, no run, drops a touch short and McCullum is beaten as he rocks back to cut
    Benn to McCullum, no run, angled in towards off stump, very full, and McCullum presses forward to defend
    Benn to McCullum, no run, bit more spring in Benn's stride through his action. Drops this down outside off, and McCullum stretches forward to defend
    In comes McCullum, batting in a Test match for the first time since his triple hundred against India
    Benn to Williamson, OUT, got him! Benn looked dangerous with this slider yesterday morning, and this one skids through and hits off stump as Williamson inexplicably lets it go. Kept going with the arm from outside off
    KS Williamson b Benn 113 (298b 12x4 0x6) SR: 37.91
    Benn to Williamson, no run, stretches forward to this and plays with an open face towards point
    Benn to Williamson, FOUR, down the pitch and hits through the line to launch it over mid-off. Two bounces and over the rope
    End of over 103 (maiden) New Zealand 255/2

Shillingford to Taylor, no run, this one dips a little more, and turns sharply into Taylor to hit him high on the pad. Bounces up into short leg's hands
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, more flight, but the length drops back just a touch, and Taylor gets this high on the bat as he defends
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, just the same. Slow and loopy outside off, Taylor is watchful in defence
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, he looks to be in good rhythm. Another loopy ball that drops on a nice length outside off, another dead-bat defensive shot
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, gets this wider outside off again, and Taylor goes forward and across to defend
    Shillingford to Taylor, no run, nice loop, dropping onto an off-stump line, and Taylor defends watchfully
    Spin from both ends. Here's Shillingford, in a pair of snazzy sunglasses
    End of over 102 (maiden) New Zealand 255/2

Benn to Williamson, no run, very full again. He needs to put more overspin on the ball maybe, to get it to drop a bit on the batsman. As it is, it's very easy for Williamson to get forward and defend
    Benn to Williamson, no run, Benn moves his line straighter, and Williamson defends into the leg side
    Benn to Williamson, no run, full again, and he moves his front toe out of the way and drives inside-out to cover
    Benn to Williamson, no run, down the pitch as soon as he sees some air, but he's possibly too close to the pitch and drives it back to the bowler
    Benn to Williamson, no run, very full again, and Williamson gets low on the ball to defend
    Benn to Williamson, no run, bit of air, very full, and very straight. Williamson drives it back to the bowler

Spin now. It's Benn, left-arm around. Or it will be, as soon as they get rid of this black plastic bag that has floated into the ground

Well, the Windies lower order tried to indulge your T20 fantasies with some lusty blows an figget seh is a Test match a play... an leave Chanderpaul shy of another Test century.... at least that would have been something to cheer about!

Re: I am trying to determine if T20

Lol. I’man, let’s put it this way: a T20 match and a test match can be compared to a relay meet (for example, the Penn Relays or IAAF World Relays) versus a regular track and field event.

Like the relay meet, the T20 is fast-paced and genuinely challenging and exciting.

Good analogy. I really have never thought of it that way but there is some merit to what you say.

I have enjoyed Test cricket most of my life and there is still no form of cricket as gripping as watching two evenly matched Test teams engaged in a fierce battle session after session. The main problem for me though is that far too much time in a typical test match is spent with very little engaging action taking place on the field. Case in point the NZ first inning in this test match.

Then there is often rain which comes along to spoil so many games that are setup for a exciting finish. I don't know if there is any other sport where rain plays such an important role, and always for the worse.

I often wonder if something could be done with the rules in Test cricket to make it more engaging more often but to not take away from its essence. I would think so but all of the attention and innovation in cricket these days is with T20.

Good analogy. I really have never thought of it that way but there is some merit to what you say.

I have enjoyed Test cricket most of my life and there is still no form of cricket as gripping as watching two evenly matched Test teams engaged in a fierce battle session after session. The main problem for me though is that far too much time in a typical test match is spent with very little engaging action taking place on the field. Case in point the NZ first inning in this test match.

Then there is often rain which comes along to spoil so many games that are setup for a exciting finish. I don't know if there is any other sport where rain plays such an important role, and always for the worse.

I often wonder if something could be done with the rules in Test cricket to make it more engaging more often but to not take away from its essence. I would think so but all of the attention and innovation in cricket these days is with T20.
          True... I agree. Except, for the last... fifteen plus years, the Windies have been everyone's whipping boys! Look what a gwaan right now!!! DISGRACEFUL and EMBARRASSING!!! We should just STOP playing Test cricket, throw in the towel, admit our shortcomings and just play T20! at least, you don't have to prove whether you can bat and bowl, or not... just swing yuh blade an bowl yuh ball an hope fi dei bes' ...

good analogy historian... peter, I've been watching the match from the beginning... the kiwis first inning showed all that is wrong with test cricket... it was like watching molasses roll down a hill on a cool day... the result worked for them because of poor application by West Indies batsmen... however, from a fans perspective, it was not entertaining...
            west indies need to give marlon samuels a break... he needs to regroup and come again... they should also sit Kieran Powell... give blackwood and braithwaite an opportunity while they are young and hungry for success... if we didn't have chanders, don't know if we could even be considered a test side...

nothing wrong with how NZ played...if WI can't bowl them out that is the reason it's boring...not NZ tactics...

Good to see the man passing through Baddaz.

Some shuffling of players here and there may help marginally, as will good captaincy but you hit the nail on the head. We simply do not produce Test quality players anymore, yet we continue to fool ourselves about that reality.

i-man bless up... happy father's day... well, you see the selectors and i are on the same line of thinking... they dropped marlin samuels and kieron powell and drafted blackwood and leon johnson into the squad... good moves in my opinion...
                  the west indies has the talent to compete... they just need discipline in their approach to the cricket... test matches are over 5 days and require concentration to bat for longer periods... this is the west indies weakness... stay at the wicket and make runs... west indies need players who love to bat for long periods, like chanders... having watched blackwood, i think he enjoys staying at the crease and he is a terrific stroke player... should be interesting...