• Jamaica's Team to the World Relays

My source: The Daily Gleaner, May 15, 2014
    (http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=52890 )

Jamaica's IAAF World Relays Team

Women’s Team
    Sheri-Ann Brooks
    Schillonie Calvert
    Simoya Campbell
    Christine Day
    Simone Facey
    Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
    Chris-Ann Gordon
    Natoya Goule
    Samantha Henry-Robinson
    Shericka Jackson
    Anastasia LeRoy
    Yanique Malcolm
    Loraine McKenzie
    Anneshia McLaughlin
    Stephenie-Ann McPherson
    Natasha Morrison
    Chante Roberts
    Kaliese Spencer
    Kerron Stewart
    Elaine Thompson
    Novlene Williams-Mills

Men’s Team
    Nickel Ashmeade
    Oshane Bailey
    Kemar Bailey-Cole
    Yohan Blake
    Jermaine Brown
    Nesta Carter
    Rasheed Dwyer
    Andrew Fisher
    Chumaine Fitten
    Julian Forte
    Michael Frater
    Dane Hyatt
    Omar Johnson
    Jason Livermore
    Rusheen McDonald
    Edino Steele
    Warren Weir

No participation in the men's 4x800 & 4x1500, and women's 4x1500.
    This shows much work is needed in the middle distance events, and yuh mean we couldn't find any college athletes worthy of sending to Bahamas?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      My source: The Daily Gleaner, May 15, 2014
      (http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=52890 )

Jamaica's IAAF World Relays Team

Women’s Team
      Sheri-Ann Brooks
      Schillonie Calvert
      Simoya Campbell
      Christine Day
      Simone Facey
      Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
      Chris-Ann Gordon
      Natoya Goule
      Samantha Henry-Robinson
      Shericka Jackson
      Anastasia LeRoy
      Yanique Malcolm
      Loraine McKenzie
      Anneshia McLaughlin
      Stephenie-Ann McPherson
      Natasha Morrison
      Chante Roberts
      Kaliese Spencer
      Kerron Stewart
      Elaine Thompson
      Novlene Williams-Mills

Men’s Team
      Nickel Ashmeade
      Oshane Bailey
      Kemar Bailey-Cole
      Yohan Blake
      Jermaine Brown
      Nesta Carter
      Rasheed Dwyer
      Andrew Fisher
      Chumaine Fitten
      Julian Forte
      Michael Frater
      Dane Hyatt
      Omar Johnson
      Jason Livermore
      Rusheen McDonald
      Edino Steele
      Warren Weir

No rich lazy bolt, too much daggering hurt him?

You Are Right

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        No participation in the men's 4x800 & 4x1500, and women's 4x1500.
        This shows much work is needed in the middle distance events, and yuh mean we couldn't find any college athletes worthy of sending to Bahamas?
        I agree with you, Hortical. We are on top of the world in the sprints and, to some extent, the hurdles, but there definitely is much work that needs to be done in our middle distance events and our field events. This is why in my posts I never refer to Jamaica as a “track and field power,” but rather, as a “sprint power.”

The NCAA outdoors will be June 11-14, and so I’m not sure if much of our college athletes would have been available for the IAAF World Relays (May 24-25).

As far as the 4x100-meter and 4x200-meter relays are concerned, we have assembled the best that we have at this time (minus, of course, the aging VCB, Sherone Simpson and Asafa Powell), and if the baton gets around, I expect some impressive performances from both the women and men. There are notable absences from the USA 55-member squad – Justin Gatlin, Carmelita Jeter, Allyson Felix – and this should make the going a bit easier for Jamaica’s sprint relay teams.

While our women’s 4x400-meter relay should do well, I certainly don’t expect much from our men’s 4x400-meter team. I never do! Last year we owed a debt of gratitude to Javon Francis who, single-handedly, took our lackluster men’s team from nowhere to a second place finish. We need a team with guts and drive!

The Bahamas Positioning Itself

The Bahamas is positioning itself nicely for the title of Sports Capital of the region.

This is apparently a deliberate strategy on their part, and their Sports Ministry will be inviting NFL football teams and European soccer teams to utilize their stadium in Nassau. Last year (or was it early this year?) LeBron James and his basketball teammates in the Miami Heat spent several days in the Bahamas practicing for their big games.