Carifta Games (T&F) 2014

• Carifta Games (T&F) 2014

I strongly suspect no poster here follows the Carifta (T&F) Games.

I have been trying to follow at CTF but the following there is. So intense they think we all know the results and you really have to dig between the lines to figure for example that Ohara won the 200 U20. Funny thing is I went to Track and Field News and found a nice little package of the top videos of champs all in one place, I had a hard time trying to find the vids within the thread at CTF and T&F had it all packaged in one dedicated thread.

Medal Count combined Men + Women ‪#‎CariftaGames2014‬ ‪#‎TeamJamaica‬
      1. Jamaica : 88 medals
      - Gold 42
      - Silver 34
      - Bronze 12
      2. Trinidad and Tobago : 25 medals
      - Gold 6
      - Silver 7
      - Bronze 12
      3. Barbados : 16 medals
      - Gold 5
      - Silver 5
      - Bronze 6

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.n...28175699_n.jpg

You suspect wrong! My likkle cuz won a gold and a bronze....

Yeah! And I won silver at Boys Champs!

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

who is that?

Slap him again deh lazie!!!

Sorry Histy, but the Carifta Games just doesn't get my blood boiling. The competition is too weak for us. It's like shooting fish in a barrel. I'll wait on the WJ.
                    This is getting from bad to worse now. The medal table says it all.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You can imagine the disappointment of the Jamaican athletes who returned home from Carifta medal-less! Mi woulda hang up mi spikes, a swear!

Lol: Joke of the Month

You can imagine the disappointment of the Jamaican athletes who returned home from Carifta medal-less! Mi woulda hang up mi spikes, a swear!
                        Lol. You have me in tears, boss! I just saw your post, but I’m sure that I’ll be laughing all day. Good one!

On a more serious note though, you do have a point. Winning 88 medals (including 42 gold) in a regional competition in which more than 20 countries were represented (and around 17 medaled) is no joke! Any Jamaican athlete who didn’t manage even a bronze medal is most likely feeling “a way” right now.

Jangle is also correct. However, I would hate to see the Carifta Games diminish as it is a valuable learning experience for our region’s youngsters, in addition to the tremendous exposure it provides. One possible way of making it more competitive would be to eventually include Cuba (and the other two Spanish-speaking islands) into Carifta.

It is time now that the organizers of the Carifta Games face the stark reality. The Caribbean region is small and have very limited resources to spend. Firstly, they need to dispense with the idea of rotating the venues between these smaller countries where T&F is not popular. The event should be restricted to the larger countries where you can at least get a half full stadium. They should also restrict the number of athletes in a team to a per ratio based on population size - maybe (?). It makes no sense for a larger country like Jamaica sending a team of 80-odd athletes to compete against a small country like Martinique. The event started out as a festival but evolved into a more competitive competition over the years. I saw Bahamas running their mouth about beating Jamaica, but the reality is, none of these islands will ever beat Jamaica in medal count or the quality of the medals, unless there is some equitable restrictions put in place. It is a good event to get our first time young athletes competition overseas, but we can send a F or G team and still dominate.

Jangle! But WTF... all ManUre supporters look alike, especially this year... peased off and peeved!