• Campbell-Brown implores JAAA to "be more supportive of the a

Campbell-Brown implores JAAA to "be more supportive of the athletes"
    March 14th 5:26pm

Sponsored links

By Vijay, TrackAlerts.com writer

Veronica Campbell-Brown, less than a full week after returning to competitive action, has hit out at the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA), imploring them to take care of their athletes.

Campbell-Brown, who hosted a press conference at the Pegasus Hotel in Kingston today, was critical of the handling of the JAAA, saying “There has to be a more open line of communication and more trust”

“I implore you to be more supportive of the athletes you govern. We need the confidence to know that you are working on our behalf and that we are in a partnership towards the better of Jamaican track and field and the sport in general,” said Campbell-Brown, who finished 5th in her come-back-competition at the World Indoor last weekend.

“I know there are some good people in the JAAA so I hope that collectively they can get it right for the good of the country,” said Campbell-Brown, who has won back-to-back Olympic Games 200m gold medals for Jamaica in 2004 (Athens) and 2008 (Beijing).

On February 24, the Court of Arbitration in Sports (CAS) cleared Campbell-Brown, who was tested positive at the Jamaica Invitational in May 2013, to resume her career.

Campbell-Brown sent a strong message “upcoming and aspiring athletes” saying “be careful in selecting your inner circle.”
    She added, “You need people who are emotionally strong, spiritually sound in their decision-making and advice.”

“I respectfully ask the JAAA to hold a symposium with stakeholders both foreign and domestic,” added the 2007 World Championships 100m champion.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Vampires
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Veronica Campbell-Brown slams Jamaican Athletics and 'false reporting'

Sean Ingle
      theguardian.com, Friday 14 March 2014 18.42 EDT

The Jamaican sprinter Veronica Campbell-Brown, who last month was cleared to run again by the court of arbitration for sport after successfully appealing a two-year ban for doping, has attacked her country's athletics federation for not doing more to help her – and accused the press of "smearing" her.

In her first press conference since being cleared to compete again after testing positive for a banned diuretic last year, Campbell-Brown revealed that she had taken a lie-detector test to prove she was innocent of all charges and undergone a "financially and emotionally devastating" last few months.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/201...ican-athletics

He added that the violations were confirmed by witnesses Dr Paul Wright, and Dr Rhonda Hutson, the lead doping control officer and the doping control officer, respectively, and Dayna Williams, JADCO's chaperone.

"We knew these rules weren't followed. Once we heard from the witnesses, and the first was Dr Wright, and he testified that he knew what the mandatory procedures were, but he testified that WADA had told him that JADCO didn't have to follow the mandatory procedures, which seemed odd. So we knew that wasn't true," Jacobs said.

"The next person that testified was the doping control officer and she also knew the procedures were mandatory, and I asked her were they followed. 'No, they were not followed'."

Jacobs said she testified that she could not prove that the samples were not tampered with.

"She said the reasons we didn't follow the rules is because we didn't have any partial sample kits. It's not our fault.

"The last piece of evidence is that the person who was responsible for staying with the urine sample testified that she was with Veronica for the entire time, then it became obvious and she admitted that it wasn't true. She admitted that many times she was not with her.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...dered_16272469

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That's some scary sh!t. How many careers have these people destroyed? How many athlete's good name have been besmirched?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Dangerous bredda !

With all this in mind, two of the three-member JAAA disciplinary panel -- Dr Aggrey Irons and attorney Lincoln Eaton -- thought VCB had breached the rules, but the chairman, retired chief justice Leslie Wolfe, overruled them and concluded that the athlete should not be sanctioned and all charges against her be dismissed.
              "I wish to place on record that I agree with most of the views expressed by them in relation to the evidence adduced. However, I disagree with their approach to the evidence adduced in which a witness called by JAAA viz Dayna Williams testified that Mrs Campbell Brown required three attempts to provide a sufficient amount of urine for the testing," Wolfe stated in the court document.
              According to Justice Wolfe, the athlete testified that she provided the required amount of urine after two attempts.
              "Let me state that I find this evidence that she required three attempts to produce that amount of urine for testing a very serious discrepancy, and in my view discredits the whole procedure. It makes me wary to act upon the adverse analytical finding," he said in his summation.
              "I ask the question, did the finding arise from the urine provided from the two attempts which Mrs Campbell Brown spoke of, or the three attempts referred to by Dayna Williams?" asked Justice Wolfe.
              "I am not prepared to accept the result of the testing in light of this irreparable discrepancy. In the circumstance I find that Veronica Campbell Brown did not, in any way, breach the Anti-Doping Rules," concluded Wolfe.
              Campbell Brown was given a public warning by the JAAA disciplinary panel, but track and field world's governing body, the International Association of Athletics Federations' (IAAF) doping review board was of the view that the athlete had not met the necessary standard of proof to establish special circumstances in accordance with rule 40.4.
              The IAAF then remitted to the JAAA in accordance with rule 38.21 which now requires that they impose the sanction on the athlete for two years.

These are some serious issues here which points to some nefarious motives. If it is established that the rules were not followed by the persons collecting the samples, how can these people still find the athlete guilty? Veronica said she struggled to give two partial samples yet still three samples were provided to the lab. As a person in the know, I know that there are only 2 bottles that are provided in the kit and this talk about not having a partial sample kit is plain BS. There is no such thing. The forms that comes with the kit are written up right there in front of the sample giver and sealed. If VCB couldn't provide enough urine, she is nor the tester is allowed to leave the testing area and she should be given a limited amount of fluid (I forget the measurement) and up to 90 minutes to pee. Dr. Quack and him assistant too damn lie and should be sent to prison. This case should have been thrown out from the get go and not even a public warning issued. The process was corrupted and I cannot understand how the IAAF can issue a recommendation for a two year ban. For all those who want to discredit all that we've been saying about an organised effort to bring down Jamaica's T&F, well here is the blatant evidence.

Tip of the Ice berg....if dat comment neva raise a flag ,that yuh ave a mad man a run di asylum...memba mi tell dem ...dem deserve wha dem get.

This suggests - info given by Sir Leslie (Why is it I thought his name was Lesley?) Wolfe - the other members are either incompetent (which I hope is the case) or are serving with motives other than wholesome.

They are supposed to be making decisions solely on the basis of evidence presented as weighed against applicable 'law' = anti-doping rules and regulations and are to arrive at fair, impartial and just conclusions.

Their stance based on the report appear to be not mistakes but total disregard of the facts of the case. If true those members of the Disciplinary Panel should be removed.

Dr. Irons is well respected by me but the responsible body cannot afford to give him a bly. A message has to be sent to persons who sit on such committees of the enormity of responsibility held and also to the T&F and other sport disciplines of the efforts underway to ensure justice is served.

Because his name is LENSLEY perhaps?

Thanks!