Are sports and performing arts not legitimate career goals?

• Are sports and performing arts not legitimate career goals?

LETTER OF THE DAY - Are sports and performing arts not legitimate career goals?

Published: Tuesday | February 25, 2014

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    There is a very strange thing going on in education. Apparently, there are persons who have got the education minister's ear, who believe that the efforts made by ISSA to prevent the widespread transfer of students from one school to another, simply to enhance the receiving school's chances of winning a sports competition, are not good enough.

It is a fact that, partly because of ISSA's regulations and partly because of the excellent job done by G.C. Foster College in turning out competent coaches in all fields, the incidence of transfers has diminished tremendously. But it has not stopped. Parents, recognising that some schools offer a better programme in the sport in which their child has talent, still agree to move their children.

So, if a boy shows tremendous talent at cricket and is sent to a high school that, for whatever reason, has no cricket programme, his parents try to get him into a school that does, depending on where he lives and his academic prowess. If the child's talent is in swimming or basketball, the same applies. Sometimes, although a school may have a programme in athletics, a parent may still try to get their child into a school where they believe optimum results can be gained.

It seems odd to me that educators can say that a child should be moved easily from school to school for 'academic' reasons only. This suggests that in the 21st century, some educators still believe that 'the 3 Rs' are the be-all of education! They still imagine that sports and the performing arts are simply 'supplements' to the education of our youth and not acceptable career goals!

So, if a youngster with talent in the sciences or the humanities wants to change schools in order to give him or herself a better chance to become a scientist or historian, we must facilitate this. But if a youngster with talent in sport or the performing arts wants to do so because he or she seeks a better chance to become a professional athlete, musician, or performing artiste, not only must we not facilitate this, we must prevent it!

Are we denying that sports and the performing arts are legitimate career goals?

Is it really true what some people say about our leaders in education? That some of them were 'nerds' who never really felt that sports and the arts were important? And that many of them still nurture slight animosity to those of their schoolmates who were very popular in school because of their prowess in these areas?

I really do not believe that this is so. But I am searching for a rationale behind the thinking.

KEITH NOEL
    keithanoel@gmail.com
    Kingston 8

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../letters1.html
    Last edited by Karl; February 27, 2014, 10:47 PM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good talk Mr. Noel. That mi a say long time. The problem is while we want to lift the standard, we have to be mindful not to blight the talent. Most of these talented youths have no other outlet but high schools sports. If we had a good parish sports or some academy it would be different but currently, the playing field is far from level. You have schools who can't afford to send their top athletes to boys champs and then you have schools who can send even the bag carrier.

Question: Which school would one wish to attend if they want to become a performing artiste?

calabar?

For Tilla

Mannings has turned out quite a few 'notables' in the Arts...inclusive of the Performing Arts!

Thanks, Jangle.

Good choice. Also good if you want to become an engineer, a pilot, a doctor, a lawyer or the Prime Minister of Jamaica. The options are limitless as a student of such a great institution.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is a good question because when I went to Titchfield they closed the radio station we had there once, stop drama classes and no music classes. Yet a few of my school mates could become radio jocks including Richie B, Dionne Mathis, Lloyd Weir, and others. Fleurette Harris big into drama, and a few have career playing instrument and performing. Now imagine if there was still a program at Titchfield?

Yuh seit!
                  Each kid has unique gifts...
                  Di development a di Whola Child mi seh!!!!

...bout henny wan discipline is mere 'side-show'
                  If the school provides it, excellence professional instructions and guidance must be norm!!! Anything less han a joke institution dat! Jus about haul a wi institution dem hah joke!

I don't have a problem with schools like this: Like Alpha Boys in JA, which I understand is under some pressure, that turns out accomplished musicians. What is important as you say is that the whole child is developed to take advantage of other opportunities; there is no guarantee that the Arts (or any particular) focus will provide for the child's future .

Introduction
                    A vibrant non-semestered school in the heart of the city, Rosedale Heights School of the Arts provides its students an opportunity to gain the knowledge and skills required to succeed in the new millennium, through high academic standards and an emphasis on the arts.
                    http://schools.tdsb.on.ca/rosedale/introduction.html

How about every school providing a basic music class, drama class, possible developing its students to get involved in plays, festival, musical showcase etc. It could also be a part of after school programs. I have seen so many youths I know carve out a career in these form despite no formal introduction, now I have to ask, could we double or triple that output with a little formal help??? We can't just say every kid will not benefit. Kiddo to the doctors, lawyer and Science related fields, and while we need more we also need other kids to be productive and give them a shot at using their talent, whatever it may be.

This is exactly what Calabar offers to ALL students in addition to its excellent T&F program.

Limitless fe true. All kinds of careers have had their genesis in those walls. LOL!

Last edited by Islandman; March 4, 2014, 04:21 PM.

how you so wicked??? damn

Why yuh affi did dis hup?
                              ...but truth be told criminals pop up from every sector of the society and no doubt every institution.