How about an Indoor Winter Sport Center in Jamaica?

I See....

Already, Jamaica is creating waves on the international scene. Tia Simms-
    Historian, can you tell me why this man persist on wasting money and time on this far-fetched non-traditional sport?
    I see! So the continued failures of our incompetent Sports Minister and sports administrators should lightly be swept under the carpet in the wake of this report?

You guys often talk about the ghetto, so let me ask this question: When will ghetto children be given a real opportunity to develop their already natural skills in boxing, swimming, volleyball, basketball, tennis, middle distance running, and so on? When will the proper marketing mechanisms be put in place to make Jamaica a recognized sports leader in the region?

And as for soccer.......

You are deflecting sir. Yes, successive governments have shortchanged the Jamaican youths since Independence, but your line of argument has nothing to do with mine, which is about we as a people/nation thinking outside of the box when it comes to sports, with the end results being more opportunities for many disenfranchised ghetto youths. If you remember, this conversation started out of a post about the government spending money to send the Jamaican Bobsled team to Sochi.

On another note, why single out those sports as us having "natural skills"? Why wouldn't we possess the "natural skills" for other sports? Showjumping for instance, look how popular horseracing is in Jamaica. Why can't some of these many jockeys that we produce excel at this non-traditional sport if given the opportunity? Why volleyball and basketball? The nations that excel at these sports are those where a good percentage of their population is over six feet tall. Jamaica's average height is around 5'9". That brings the argument around to genetics. What in our genetics would make us a "natural" for these sports? Why are we a "natural" for swimming, because we are surrounded by water? Why are we a "natural" for middle distant running? How many champions have we had at those distances in our long history of athletics?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Stoni you need to start reading more of my posts. Sometimes I can be serious.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015