Poster "Time", a question....

• Poster "Time", a question....

The Jamaican government and most Jamaican corporate entities are struggling in this IMF-dependent environment, and so the last thing that we need is money to throw away on gimmicks. So tell me this: Why on earth are we being called on to sponsor a tiny team to the Winter Olympics?

Don’t you think it’s much wiser and beneficial if we put our limited resources into genuinely developing our lagging sports facilities and activities like lawn tennis, swimming, soccer (both men and women’s), boxing, basketball, track and field (beyond the short sprints), volleyball, netball, and cricket?!

What on earth do we seriously expect to gain at the Winter Olympics? In 1988 we entered and failed to finish, but the popular Disney movie on that Jamaican effort in Calgary seems to have gone to our heads!

Last edited by Historian; February 9, 2014, 05:31 AM.

How much money did the GOJ actually contributed to the team? Whatever it was is a drop in the bucket.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes, I thought the bulk of the funds was privately contributed. ?!?

Missing My Point

How much money did the GOJ actually contributed to the team? Whatever it was is a drop in the bucket.
        You probably inadvertently overlooked the following portion of my original statement:

“The Jamaican government and most corporate entities are struggling in this IMF-dependent environment, and so the last thing that we need is money to throw away on gimmicks.”

Same could be said for horse back riding, football, and cricket...can extend to netball, swimming etc....

True. Once its private money if the people involved want to spend it on promoting dominoes and chess that is their choice to make.

We have been struggling with IMF like policies before our 1st trip ,if we are to subjugate what we prioritize in sports, its best we scrap it all and pump it all into social services and ganja eradication,be it private or government funding.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Still Missing the Point!!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Same could be said for horse back riding, football, and cricket...can extend to netball, swimming etc....
                But how can you even begin to equate potential Jamaican private sector support for bobsledding on the one hand with, on the other hand (to use your examples above), “horseback riding, football, and cricket….netball, swimming, etc.”?

We have had our shining moments in football, cricket, netball and swimming!! These are areas that, with increased scouting and LOCAL training and financial input, we CAN succeed at a high level. The lofty standards have already been suggested!

Now, where in Jamaica or this Caribbean region do we have snow to interest, encourage and prepare sports men and women for Winter Olympics sports?

Or do we just argue on this forum for want of something else to do?

Historian, You ever wonder why companies like Coca Cola and McDonald's, for example NEVER stop advertising their products?

In the grand scheme of things $80,000US is a drop in the bucket... and think of the "mileage" the two man bob-sled team has given Jamaica? It puts the country back at top of the mind awareness in marketing. I see this as just as good, positive publicity for the country as any slick million dollar ad campaign would buy. In fact, it's better because a human face is put on the Jamaican people, a positive one, that people like. People like these "rags to riches", "against all odds" kind of stories, so 'low de man dem.

Taxpayers not suffering, so I don't agree with your position. Nuff respect still.

I Have Nothing More To Say

Peter, we’re entering hyperbolic territory here! What “mileage” do you really think this two-man bobsled team will or has given to Jamaica? Does anyone, aside from us Jamaicans, really pay any attention to them?

Trust me, it is highly unlikely that Disney or any other major company will embark on another movie about tropical island guys entering the world of ice. As a movie idea, “Cool Runnings” was certainly novel at the time. Sadly, we will most likely never see a repeat.

If you want to talk about mileage, then I suggest you refer to the Reggae Boyz in 1997-98. Now, that is genuine mileage, topped only by our sprinters and hurdlers between 2008 and 2013.

My point remains: A desperately poor Third World country like Jamaica cannot afford to fritter away extremely scarce resources on foolish dreams! The private sector can probably invest more in the country, but they should do so in the case of realistic projects and situations!!

The fact that "Jamaica" gets numerous mentions on global media in a positive light is of enormous benefit to our brand

Jamaica cannot pay for that kind of regular spot PR directed at a global audience

True, but i would add that the private sector support for sports and entertainment is less about the national brand and more about THEIR brand.

When the benefit of the two coincide as they often do, great, win-win. But if there is a choice to be made you best believe that the money will be spent in the best interest of their brand! That is what Historian is missing.

Ok but I was addressing the narrow issue of the value of JA bobsleigh's global exposure

In a word...it's... Fantastic

Bobsleigh gets negligible corporate, federation or govt support.... but the PR payoff (driven by the novelty factor).... that's completely off the scale

paging dr freud ... dr freud you are wanted on the forum!!

yeah i was wondering how he missed the opportunity that brings. whether we take advantage of it is the next major issue. but when we argue with blinders and with a less than open mind .....