Andrew Smith (Jamaican Athlete)

• Andrew Smith (Jamaican Athlete)

This morning I was working out at the gym. It was cold so I wore a Diadora hoodie.

This athletic looking guy commented...' you hardly see that brand around.............'.

"Yes" i said..." it's mostly seen in soccer circles".

"Ben Johnson the Jamaican runner used to wear that brand" he said. he further went on..." I use to run for Jamaica".

"Whats you name" I asked.

"Andrew Smith...but I converted to Islam". He went on to tell me his new Islamic name which I forgot.

I looked him up and this is what I found.

Anyone know of you him?
    http://www.sports-reference.com/olym...w-smith-1.html
    Last edited by HL; January 16, 2014, 04:20 PM.

Is this the same guy?

...the 1987 World Athletics Championships. There were no gold medallists but Raymond Stewart won silver in the 100 m and Merlene Ottey won two more bronzes (again in the 100 m and 200 m) to put in her medal cabinet. The Men’s 4x100 m team of John Mair, Andrew Smith, Clive Wright and Raymond Stewart won another bronze to add to the medal tally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History...thletics#1980s

1987 results:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1987_Wo...s_in_Athletics

----

Unfortunate that we only recognize (and know) ONLY the first place athletes.

"Winning is everything"

"Everyone likes a winner"

Yup!
        Happens in every area of endeavor/life. Yet the type progress achieved could not have happened if we did not also have the 'also ran(s)'.

Many are they, unrecognized...never given the recognition deserved who have toiled to make 'our world' the wonderful place it is.

you knew him before?

Recall above... I asked him his name?

No.

ok .... noted. sorry ...

I think him use to go Camperdown if memory serves my right. I membah running against a Andrew Smith from Camperdown at Gibson 82.

you memory good nuh rahtid. How you remember name when you mussi did a trimble nuh rahtid. LOL

yuhseeit, ah membah himkah is him did start to 4x2 wid mi. An yuh know seh mi done dem pan di first leg deh; Raymond did run inna di said 4x2 to. Gully country man ah bun skin, chat bout!! An him represent Ja, what a ting. Country man did hab a likkle sump'n den.