• Ominous!

SFP not resting on her laurels

Published: Wednesday | January 15, 2014 0 Comments

Sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce exchanges a high five with seven-year-old David Virgo, a kidney patient who will benefit from the proceeds of the Sagicor Sigma Corporate Run. Occasion was the official launch of the Sagicor Sigma Corporate Run 2014 which was held at The Jamaica Pegasus hotel in New Kingston yesterday. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer

Ryon Jones, Staff ReporterOminous! That is the only word that can be used to describe how Olympic and World champion, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce's competitors must be viewing her most recent utterances.
    Following a splendid 2013 season which saw her cop the sprint double at the World Championships as well as Diamond League wins in the 100m and 200m, Fraser-Pryce would have been excused for taking it easy this year - a season without an Olympic Games and World Championships.
    This is, however, not the case as the IAAF 2013 World Athlete of the Year is looking to get even better, especially in the half-lap event.
    "I definitely believe when you dream and aspire for great-ness, greatness comes when you put in the work, and I'm definitely putting in the work," the 27-year-old told The Gleaner. "What last year did for me was to help reignite that flame that was there when I thought, 'Can I go any further?' I showed myself that I can. So this year, I'm working. Even though we consider it an off year, there are still things I can get to try and make sure that I perfect and that I'm better for 2015 and 2016.
    AN 'OK' START
    "A lot of people believe I have a great start, but I don't believe I have a great start. I think it is OK," Fraser-Pryce shared. "It (start) could be a lot better and I am working on that.
    "I am also working on my top end, my finishing, my technique, my strength and my endurance for the 200m."
    Fraser-Pryce's personal best in the 100m and 200m is 10.70 and 22.09 seconds respectively, but she is eager to trim those times significantly this year.
    "I want to finally, this year, cross that line (200m) and see 21 (seconds)," Fraser-Pryce said. "That is the main objective for me this year, doing better in the 200m. I want to run 10.5 (seconds in the 100m) as well. I believe in my heart that I am a 10.6 (seconds) runner, so I am looking to one day run 10.5 (seconds); so that keeps the fire going."
    ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015