• Interesting! - Lessons from the WADA conference in SA

Lessons from the WADA conference in South Africa

BY RACHEL IRVING
    Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I was invited by the World Anti-doping Agency (WADA) as an observer to the fourth WADA Conference in South Africa held during November 12 -15, 2013.

Up for closed-door discussion then were Kenya and Jamaica's anti-doping compliance. Let me state clearly that I was not privy to any official discussion about Jamaica or Kenya, nor was I a member of the official government delegation to the conference. However I, decided to find out, using a little psychology, how much help one could reasonably expect to be extended to Jamaica by the network within WADA.

Early in the conference proceedings, I smiled at the founding president of WADA, Dick Pound, and asked, "Are you guys treating Jamaica well?" He smiled back and said something to the effect that Jamaica needs to treat itself well before anyone else can.

I moved to greet David Howman, the current director general of WADA, who received me well and introduced his wife to me. This is someone, I thought, Jamaica and the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) can liaise with since he generally goes beyond the call of duty to extend a helping hand to signatories to the WADA code.

By the second day of the conference you were hearing whispers in the conference room about what would happen to Kenya and Jamaica. Many persons thought I was from South Africa so they spoke freely about the fairness or unfairness of the WADA reports on these two nations. Unofficial talk started to go around that Jamaica was required to work with the USA as its mentor for anti-doping. On the second day of the conference Travis Tygart, director of the United States Anti-doping Agency (USADA), gave a brilliant speech on expectation and compliance. At the end of his speech, I approached him because a mutual friend said he was someone Jamaica would want to have on its side. I told him I wanted to do an anti-doping workshop at the University of the West Indies on the pending 2015 WADA code. He gave me his card and told me to contact him at any time because he feels that anti-doping education is well needed in Jamaica.

As I moved towards the door, a disguised British reporter approached and asked about the lady who had made the report about JADCO. He asked if I thought she was being prosecuted and persecuted. I asked him in return if people who spoke negatively about the Obamacare in America were being persecuted and prosecuted. I commented that Jamaica was a free society like America and Britain. I also commented that by WADA compliance standards as reported on their website, Jamaica has been compliant since signing the code. I conceded that Jamaica is the dominant country in sprinting and as such is expected to align its anti-doping efforts to sprinting status. What was expected of us before Beijing can no longer be our reality.

Usain Bolt, Shelly Ann Fraser-Pryce and coaches Glen Mills and Stephen Francis have cemented and accelerated a legacy initiated by the likes of Arthur Wint and Herb McKenley. As indicated in the reformed code, Jamaica is now expected to utilise the smart sample analysis method with a testing distribution plan. This means that JADCO has to now examine risk factors associated with doping in the overall pool of Jamaican athletes.

The physiological demands of the sport and the potential performance- enhancing effects of doping have to be given weighed averages to determine proportionality. Statistical methods like regression analysis and chi-square will have to be used to check doping trends matched to risks and history within the country and region. The Jamaica testing agency is now required to prioritise between sports and disciplines.

JADCO is also required to prioritise between athletes and between testing periods to keep abreast of increased doping practices. Kenya too has to step up its anti-doping efforts. Kenya has set up a task force and has asked WADA for 60 days to make a report. Developing countries like Jamaica and Kenya with first-class runners who regularly outclass runners from developed countries are expected to have anti-doping agencies comparable to those in developed countries. As Jamaica and Kenya try to get their anti-doping agencies in top shape, the World Anti-doping Agency must be reminded that perfect should not be the enemy of good. Jamaica and Kenya have reasonably good anti-doping agencies. The world should not make them feel like cheats because much more was demanded than was clearly articulated.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Dr Rachael Irving is a Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medical Sciencies at the University of the West Indies, Mona.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2ls0U7oOs

Where were these voices before?

Makes you wonder ,where was the media to vet this obvious conflict of interest ? If all Wada had was a perception of conflicted interest with implications of weak testing standards (cover ups) why didn't the media shine the light on the obvious culplrits in JADCO, instead our media went after the perceived weak ones,the athlethes....stand up Shelly Ann! and their World is upside down.

Seriously our media/Jadco didn't see this coming ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nuh she did bring the duplicitous Pound to the UWI conference this year?

Pound nuh Ben Johnson old lawyer from the Dubin Inquiry.

Steeuuups, U think dem allow facts to ruin a good story?

Your point ? Pound is what Pound is the powers that be know this ,how do they prepare to nullify the assault of WADA/Pound with conflicted interest in an org that has singed unto WADA/Pound conditions ?...that is the problem that they and the journalist missed ,they put it all on the athlethes by focusing on over the counter stimulants,I agree with him to the point,we have to help ourselves and not expect the IAAF to bail us out.

125 drug tests before Olympics - JAAA boss counters WADA claim - Lists high frequency of testing prior to London 2012 Games

Published: Thursday | November 28, 2013 5 Comments

Dr Warren Blake

Raymond Graham, Gleaner WriterPresident of the Jamaica Administrative Athletics Association (JAAA) Dr Warren Blake has come out in defence of the nation's top athletes, following recent threats made by the World Anti-Doping Agency against the background that not enough was being done by the island's track officials to deal with drug use in the sport.
            "Our athletes are the most tested in the world, as prior to the London Olympic Games, some 125 drug testing was done on our elite athletes by the IAAF ... while WADA was not doing enough, the IAAF was extensively testing our athletes and our athletes are tested more than any other athletes in the world," said Dr. Blake.
            "When you look at the performances of our athletes since this extensive drug testing by the IAAF it is the best medal haul we have had in major competition in our history."
            Dr Blake made the comments while delivering his presidential report at the JAAA's annual general meeting, at Medallion Hall in Kingston, on Tuesday night.
            His defence is similar to that mounted by Lamine Diack, president of the sport's world governing body - the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) - who noted the high number of drug testing done on the nation's athletes in the face of criticisms by WADA.
            WADA's criticisms were sparked by a report published by former JADCO executive director, Renee Anne Shirley, which spoke to discrepancies in the island's out-of-competition testing of its athletes.
            Adverse analytical findings
            Additionally, several Jamaican high-profile athletes, including Asafa Powell and Sherone Simpson, had returned adverse analytical findings.
            But the JAAA had been under pressure for being too silent on the matter and only recently, World female Athlete of the Year, Shelly]Ann Fraser-Pryce, threatened to stop competing for the country, claiming that its athletes were not being defended by the JAAA.
            Dr Blake pointed out that positive tests could have an adverse effect on the nation's track programme and as such, they will have to improve JADCO's capabilities.
            "Positive dope tests have the potential to derail our entire programme. With this in mind, we have to ensure that JADCO's shortcomings will have to be rectified and their education and testing regime needs to continue as the Government has promised," Dr Blake pointed out.
            "We also have to ensure that we have an education programme in place for our athletes, coaches and other support personnel. Plans are already in place for regular seminars," said Blake.
            He also noted several of the positive achievements under his leadership since taking over as top man of the JAAA.
            "In the first year of this administration, track and field has continued on its growth path. Both our junior and senior athletes have done our country proud.," he said.
            "For the first time, we have topped the world at a global championships and also for the first time, we have dominated all the sprinting events at the World Athletic Championships, winning all the gold medals in the six sprinting events (WC) and also winning eight medals out of the possible 14 awarded in the sprinting events (WYC)," continued Blake.
            Blake spoke about increased funds contributed directly to athletes' welfare and support, organisation of medical and anti-doping committees, Memorandum of Understanding with the University of Pretoria, and the University of Technology and the University of West Indies, bilateral sports cooperation between the Government of Jamaica and the Government of South Africa, which is on the verge of being signed, the progress of setting up of a sports science laboratory with the opening tentatively set for mid-April 2014, a reorganised accreditation system, significant progress in setting up and insurance system for athletes, and significant input into the National Sports Policy, which was approved in March.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Proof as to how out of touch the media ,JADCO and our T&F heads are DR Wright aka Dr Wrong di Qucak ,mouths to the BBC with his tip of the iceberg comment , then when a NY times article comes out questioning Elliot the quack(Dr.Wrong) jumps to his defence ,keep in mind WADA/Conte called out Elliot in an article as being the mastermind of our doping scheme.Who does the BBC label our chief drug tester ..DI QUACK !The international media is in sync as to how and what to rip apart , we(MEDIA & JADCO, T&F HEADS ) didnt read this

Our media focuses soley on the athletes trangressions,nothing about the percieved conflict of interest, which they(JADCO) believed they dealt with by schuffling the deck, typical in Jamaican politics(genetic).

Conclusion

Jamaica will get its conflicted doping house in order(JADCO) ,and the ramifications are hopefully it will rub into other T&F organizations,Shelly Ann words will materalise into something of T&F union, how weak or strong that will be , to me depends on her and believe it or not Bolt.Our T&F system stands to gain , the media will continue with their heads in the sand,not having a clue and dealing reactionary to after shocks of whatever issue that arises.
              Last edited by Sir X; November 28, 2013, 09:09 AM.

Since when you legitimize terrorists? What U think Pound is?

Tell that to Dr Wrong !

I dont deal with strong and wrong!

We deal with (them) everyday, such is reality.Again what is it about Pound/WADA/CONTE/JOHNSON that we or our T&F authorities didnt know ?

It seems as if our T&F authorities game plan was to throw the athletes under the bus for stimulants with the help of our eager media and absolve themselves as doing their best with conflicted interest promoting themselves as having the highest integrity,they didnt see WADA media attack coming..lol..I am reminded of a saying as I type this

First they came for the Communists,
                      and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a Communist.

Then they came for the Socialists,
                      and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a Socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
                      and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a trade unionist.

Then they came for me,
                      and there was no one left to speak for me.

Good one!

But now they speak up ,after a NY times article questions a senior rep , Dr Wright comes to his defence (senior drug tester) board resigns ,JAAA president comes out swinging ,Journalist sight the rake and start giving a more balanced presentation as per our holistic predicament (we are all in it together) via Shelly Ann P.R statement.

Babylon media knows how to divide and conquer,it took how many years post Bejing 08 ..5 years to realise this ?......In truth better late than never and we have our history to thank for that , starting with Champs in the early 1900s to our 1st Olympics ,it is of note that the JAAA and JOA doesnt have any documentation of that rich history on its website , not even a link.

But now they speak up ,after a NY times article questions a senior rep , Dr Wright comes to his defence (senior drug tester) board resigns ,JAAA president comes out swinging ,Journalist sight the rake and start giving a more balanced presentation as per our holistic predicament (we are all in it together) via Shelly Ann P.R statement.

Babylon media knows how to divide and conquer,it took how many years post Bejing 08 ..5 years to realise this ?......In truth better late than never and we have our history to thank for that , starting with Champs in the early 1900s to our 1st Olympics ,it is of note that the JAAA and JOA doesnt have any documentation of that rich history on its website , not even a link.
                            Good one!
                            Totally agree!

Steeeupps.
                              Mi sight dem up long time and issue warning, but dem nu hear, su dem MUST feel.

Dem lucky Shelly help save dem..