• Is Money Bolt's Only Concern?

Is Money Bolt's Only Concern?

Published: Friday | November 22, 201319 Comments

By*Orville Higgins

Shelly-Ann*Fraser*Pryce is transforming in front of our eyes. When most*Jamaicans*were aware of her in 2008, she was this attractive, shy, modest girl who had shocked the world by winning the 100 metres in Beijing.

Five years on, her stock has risen, and not merely by what she is accomplishing on the track. Nowadays her talent is taken for granted, but she is also winning new friends and influencing more people.

She has been making some rather strident remarks that the powers that be are not doing enough to helpJamaica's*athletes, in light of the battering that Jamaica's image is taking from*the*international*media, as it relates to our drug-testing regime. She has taken it upon herself to champion the cause of the athletes here in Jamaica, especially the less fortunate, and has vowed to set up a union so that athletes can have a voice.

The thought is noble. Shelly-Ann's success on the track has surely ensured that she is financially stable, at the very least, and, therefore, no longer suffering from the plights of the athletes whose cause she is prepared to champion.

She could easily have taken the position that she would look out for herself only, as so many others have done. That she is prepared to look out for those less fortunate than herself, means that beneath that ever-ready smile lies not only a super athlete, but also a wonderful human being.

Future president

She has gone as far as to say she would strike, down the road, if she doesn't feel that the concerns of the athletes are addressed. I could be wrong, but I can't think of many other Jamaican sportspersons, at the height of their careers, who would be prepared to strike, to put their own career, on hold, to help others. I don't necessarily agree, entirely, with Shelly-Ann.

I personally think that the issue of striking is much too premature, but I admire the fact that she is prepared to go this far. Shelly-Ann is preparing herself for a life after track. She could well be a Jamaica*AthleticsAdministrative Association (JAAA) president in the making. That is Shelly-Ann's stance, which is diametrically opposite to that of the other athlete of the year, Usain Bolt.

Note how quickly Bolt came out and said he wouldn't be striking because, "track and field is my job". The statement by Bolt, though understandable, is not one that escapes criticism. The very act of striking means that you are taking yourself, however temporarily, out of your job.

People do that every day, once they believe the cause is right, and Bolt's argument that he can't strike because this is his job, is, therefore, not only technically found wanting, but hasn't gone down well with many people who are now seeing him as being blinded to the social causes of Jamaica and its athletes, and only motivated by money.

Think on it. Bolt was complaining that the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) should get its house in order because (a) he feared that Jamaica might have been kicked out of the next Olympics, and (b) he was missing out on some commercial opportunities, because of the doubts surrounding his participation in the next Olympic Games.

Whether Bolt intends it or not, the impression is already being formed that Jamaica's image is not so much his concern, his commercial well-being is. Now all that may be okay for the average Joe.

If I were earning US$20 million a year, or whatever it is he makes, I would be keen on protecting that. But Bolt is not an average Joe. Among his many 'titles' is the one of ambassador for Jamaica, and I'm not convinced all his utterances have been 'ambassadorial', since this whole business of JADCO and its operations have taken the international spotlight. Bolt has to be careful he doesn't come across as being more conscious of the rewards he is making from the sport, as opposed to being more sympathetic to the plight of others.

Orville Higgins is a sports journalist and radio talk-show host. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com

Bolt going down the Jordan lane. Advisors urge him to stay away from all controversy and be liked by as many as possible.

Well put together article.

Question: Where is Frater? Where is Weir? Where is the statement from Ministry of Sport? The silence is deafening! How much punishment is enough? At least Shelly is fighting back.

This story is bothering me more every day. Something is not adding up.

It look bad. If Bolt don't mek another dime he should be set for life unless he does something stupid. So why is he so concerned about not making another couple millions while his country gets batter bruised by WADA.

He should also realise that...me and my goat mouth...best mi nuh say ntn.

Anybody ever wave $20 million inna you face with a few stipulations yet?

We can easily say $30 million or $50 million should be enough. We are not the ones who have the opportunity to make another $50 million.

Not saying Bolt is "right" or "wrong" , just saying until we are put in his situation we do not know what our position would be.

Bolt is also strongly protesting in his own way. Not sure if he has a pr person that he is running his thoughts through on this issue, but he could have easily turned the discussion to the health of the sport the need to meet the demands of the fans and to keep the sport moving forward, all that said would have achieved the point he was making about his money but talking about it from a wider lens, the rest of the athletes and the fans.

Don't forget money make the whole thing run and that is an important point, just needed to fine tune the message away from self. A strike is not the right move but symbolically it could have a helluva effect if she could get the support across the premier sports to push Wada to be more transparent and a clearer accountability path for various levels of use so anabolic type use is just straight up life ban and done, stimulants is a one year ban etc etc. second offense and each succeeding offense it doubles, trebles etc.

Perhaps, but I hope I would never come across as greedy as he is now appearing. There are hundreds of examples of sports personalities who stood up for what's right at the risk of losing millions!

I wouldn't classify what he said as greedy. Somewhat selfish yes, but mostly because he just doesn't think a strike is productive.

Let us not forget that he did call for the issue to be dealt with. I suppose we could also say that was for selfish reasons but...

As Stoni said, he can make a strong argument based on lost earnings if he shifts the subject off himself and speaks about the athletes in general terms.

I don't think Bolt is ever going to be a Jim Brown or Kareem and I am OK with that. A few years ago we were all saying that he might be losing his opportunity to sign some big endorsement deals and be set for life. Well, now he has them and there is a price to pay for keeping them.

He is still not making Jordan or LeBron money. Hell, he probably isn't even making Tendulkar or Dhoni money so lets not get too carried away with how much he may be worth. It could be a lot less than we think.

History will record SAF as initiating that verbal stand.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.