Shelly's boycott Plans

• Shelly's boycott Plans

So Shelly has threatened to boycott 'major meets' in Jamaica to get her message across.

I notice she has not said anything about missing any races on the lucrative IAAF circuit which is where she makes her money.

Exactly how many meets would that be, the JII May Meet and Senior Trials? Are there any other major meets here that she would run in.

MVP athletes have boycotted the JII meet in the past and it still went on, Bolt and Blake have missed the meet as well but if she decides not to go the Senior Trials let see how many of her own MVP team mates who are on the verge of a breakthrough and eyeing Commonwealth Games medals will join her and lose money?

Can you see McPherson who just missed a medal in Moscow, deciding not to go for a medal in Scotland, or Carrie Russell who can medal in both sprints, or Christine Day who could make the final in the 400m or Spencer who by now must be desperate for a medal of any kind?

Shelly is set financially but how many of her club mates and other Jamaicans can say the same?

All that been said, we must salute Shelly for her stance and lending her considerable weight to the issues at hand.

You do get the point of making a verbal statement... PR wise ?....she can run every race for all I care, that needed to be said, you have any clue how that will play Bolt vs WADA,PUMA vs WADA,IAAF vs WADA, Nike vs PUMA ,JAAA,JOA vs Athletes,...just a statement.

Is this the condescending tone we expect from respected journalist?....kamedy to *****.. Unnuh deal wid di quack yet?.. Unnuh ready fi tear down Shelly?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good move that Shelly.. mek dem feel it if dem nah defen unnuh !