Bolt & Iaaf President Blast Wada As Ridiculous !

• Bolt & Iaaf President Blast Wada As Ridiculous !

Usain Bolt claims World Anti-doping Agency could scupper sponsorship

• Bolt says Wada told backer he was not eligible for Rio 2016
    • Olympic champion calls for quick resolution to Jamaica probe
    • [/color]
    Usain Bolt claims misinformation given by the World Anti-doping Agency cost him a lucrative sponsorship deal. Photograph: Imago / Barcroft Media

Usain Bolt has claimed the World Anti-Doping Agency's high-profile investigation into Jamaica could cost him a lucrative sponsorship deal because the potential sponsor wrongly believes Wada's warnings that the island could be thrown out of the 2016 Olympics.
    But Bolt, speaking after being named the International Association ofAthletics Federations male athlete of the year, said he would not be following his compatriot Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce – who won the women's award – in going on strike if Jamaica's athletes are not better looked after by their federation. "It's hard for me to strike because it's my job," said Bolt. "Shelly-Ann, you're on your own with that."
    Bolt, who lifted the IAAF athlete of the year award for the fifth time in six years on Saturday, acknowledged that "Jamaica has had some problems this season", but added "that is not part of my focus". Instead, he said misinformation from Wada had caused him "a lot of problems".
    "I know we've been going through a lot when it comes to drug testing, Wada and the IAAF, but this is causing a lot of problems for me," he said. "When a sponsor came up to us and was saying 'we'd like to sponsor you'. They then used an agency that does background checks to figure out if it's viable to sponsor you and it came back that Wada had said I would not be eligible to run at the next Olympics. That information is not correct, so there are a lot of things that are going on with this drugs thing that I really feel they need to clarify because, for me, it's causing problems for me when it comes to making money from my sport.
    "We really need to get this out of the way and move past this, get the rules down, get everything straight and get it down fast, because we need to move on," Bolt added. "In every sport there are drug scandals and problems, but people move past it. That's what we have to do because it's really costing me money now, and I'm not too happy about that."
    The IAAF president, Lamine Diack, used the awards presentation to criticise Wada for mounting what he called a "ridiculous campaign" against Jamaica and Kenya. "It was like a campaign, with Wada trying to make a statement," he said. "It was ridiculous. They went to Jamaica and what did they find? Nothing. We have to be clear on that.
    "We are doing our best in athletics. You will never have an athlete suspended for four years in football. Stop all this."
    Diack's comments followed a Wada statement that appeared to suggest the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission would be declared compliant after Wada's visit to the island to conduct an extraordinary audit this month. "Wada is satisfied that the minister [of sport] has accepted the practical suggestions it made and now looks forward to their full implementation in the coming weeks. These include ... an acknowledgement by the minister to undertake a legislative review of anti-doping law in Jamaica, along with the evaluation of Jadco's governance and management structure. The minister has indicated that an additional budgetary contribution of $8m Jamaican dollars [about £50,000] is to be made to Jadco to assist with these advances.
    "The government of Jamaica has made a clear commitment to address any deficiencies that exist and to improve on the efficiency and efficacy of the anti-doping programme in Jamaica."
    Mo Farah lost out to Bolt for the athlete of the year award, but his coach, Alberto Salazar, was named the IAAF coach of the year. Daley Thompson was also inducted into the IAAF Hall of Fame.
    Farah was not in Monaco, but Salazar said his preparations for next year's London Marathon are going well. "As he moves to the marathon we have to change his form. Already, in four weeks, not so much bobbing – he is already more efficient," said Salazar, before joking: "We tried to make him a sprinter, now we are taking him back the other way. Mo tells me I have to make up my mind."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What amazes me is the Jamaican T&F authorities and government reaction to this PR character assasination attempt.

Babylon media will discredit yuh MUMMA fi promote dem own , our saving grace is billions are on the table and babylon is divided..NIKE VS PUMA, IAAF VS WADA and the olympic organization is split.

Wi Lucky !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What amazes me is the Jamaican T&F authorities and government reaction to this PR character assasination attempt.

Wi Lucky !
      The whole whutliss lot of them(Ja T&F administrators) need to resign and go find a job where they actually get paid to do something.

Bolt should not have let Shelly down like that. He could have 'understood' her frustration, 'apathetic' etc., but he should not have said it like that, 'you are on your own'.

I say Shelly got more balls than he does.

That WSJ story cannot just go like that. If the man feels he is being discredited, he needs to contact a good lawyer an dun di bway and the paper instead of the meek, 'OK you got me. Maybe i should resign'.

Seems like Bolt is all for the money, worrying about losing a lucrative sponsorship deal while hanging Shelly Ann out on a limb!

That is a really unfortunate statement. Bolt must begin to realise that he needs to be true to sport and be an ambassador and warrior for the sport that has given him his millions. He's beginning to remind me of Michael Jordan, and that's not a good thing in my book.

He needs to apologise to Shelly Ann and T&F for that DUMB statement!

10Q Mo.

Totally agree!

BTW, did you tape the StGC/Wolmers match? I hear it was a doozie and U are the only dependable person in Jamaica for these things! LoL

Yes it was a bit thoughtless. Hopefully he will backtrack.

He has made relatively few mistakes in terms of his public statements, so mek we cut him a little slack.

Lawsuit like that is almost impossible to win against a US media house, the bar to clear is very high.

Bolt statement about not supporting Shelly was very unfortunate , no doubt John Public will weigh in on it and put pressure on his selfish soul, but he made valid points about WADA having a negative financial toll on Jamaican T&F stars , that WADA needs to address !

NICE PR SPIN BY BOLT !

Poor spin, as it reads like a bad effect on HIS earning, not on the earnings or all Jamaican athletes. It was very unpolitic. He need coaching there, as its beeter to come across as magnanimous. It sounds licky-licky the way it was phrased and one has to wonder if Bolt is changing for the worse….

I agree with you. $$ greed is a hard thing to change. I respect Shelly for coming out the blocks first and using her podium as Olympic and World Champion to backing all Jamaican athletes...instead Bolt with a higher profile studying his earnings...

Bolt can afford a few PR slip ups , his team will rectify the nonsense he uttered in a min , he is a young man prone to mistakes , thank the lord it isnt much at his age , that said Team T &F Jamaica cant afford to and hasnt a clue how to rectify the assault.

It more a refelection of what is inside, rather than mechanical responses that can be drilled in.

He should have realized that ALL Jakan athletes are suffereing and used his large profile to protect the weak, even while bolstering his own case.

He could have easily said he understood/admired his colleague's fervor, but thought that there is a more effective way to handle the situation than a boycott.

His instinct should have told him that ditching Shelly is a BAD idea, especially as I know that at least up till 2010 they got on VERY well. Sheely said the the Dr Wrong comments hurt he badly and I am sure she is not the only Jakan athlete to feel that way. Where is Warren Fake in all this? Not a word uttered, while our athletes have been dragged over the coals for NOTHING!!!!!
                        Last edited by Willi; November 17, 2013, 10:03 AM.

Blake ? thats where the media comes in , why arent they putting pressure on the BLakes , Elliots , Fennels etc as per their PR response ?

The media is just as culpable, they seem to be with the pile on mentality , until recently , its a slow turn but a turn , as for the quack , this MD needs to be drilled this moron needs to be ,asked, where did he get info that test or info can be gotten up at UWI, why his belief of the tip of the ice berg ? given his position in T&F circles isnt his utterances malicious and unprofessional ? If he has proof of any wrong doing by anyone , where is his proof , isnt it his professional responsibility to bring it forth ?

What we have here is a dinosour with a political mentality, that sufferers cant be dealt with anyway,spoken to , about and implicated without any regard of the consequences and a media that is complicit with it...cc : X Kick off of Sickko Face about Ottey !

Regardless of Bolt verbal errors , his PR team will deal with it in a sec ,He isnt different from any young black millionare, ignorant and if willing to learn, he will for the better, if not , then a suh !

Such is Ja.
                          Last edited by Sir X; November 17, 2013, 09:59 AM.

Fair enuff X.

Cant really disagree with what you say here.

It just would be nice to know that Bolt has not changed much and that his heart is still full of empathy. That is how he used to be...

Yes, Islandman! He has been saying all the right things thus far, so this came as a surprise. Hopefully, he and his team will correct this misstatement.