Jamaican Antidoping Official Faces Résumé Questions

I have no idea! Is Bishop Herro Blair a bishop? I have no idea either!

What does that have to do with whether Dr Elliot has degrees from Columbia or not?

Is Dr. Phil a doctor?
      He is licensed psychologist. http://www.drphil.com/shows/page/bio/
      They wanted to get him for breaching patient-medical professional confidentiality but found out that they could not because his show is registered as comedy.

What does that have to do with whether Dr Elliot has degrees from Columbia or not?
        That's exactly my point! Dr. Herb Elliot has been a respected figure in international T&F for years and whether he has legitimate medical credentials is irrelevant for the job of Chairman of JADCO. The head of JADCO does not have to be a medical doctor and we have question what is the purpose of such an article that came out of left field. He certainly has years of experience in T&F administration to qualify for the job. The vetting of his academic credentials is up to his employers. Why would a foreign journalist want to go dig into the background of the head of a LOCAL body in a little Third World country? He is not the head of an international organization. JADCO has been on the defensive backfoot since the VCB story came to light. Why was Tyson Gay's drug bust released on the same day as Asafa Powell when it was known for months? Why is every story in the international press has the picture of Asafa Powell and VCB prominently displayed under the headline of "Drug Cheats"? These are more important questions and issues than Dr. Herbert Elliott's credentials. These stories are all designed to distract.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Preach jangle whey with PR deh?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Show me your company and I will tell you who you are.!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think you are way off with that analysis. His medical credentials are not very relevant. In fact there is not a question as to whether he is a doctor. His reputation and credibility on the other hand are extremely relevant in a position such as the one he is in.

If you know for certain that someone has falsified their academic credentials, are you saying you still would consider them as qualified to head your national drug enforcement agency? I wouldn't.

I totally agree that they are being very unfair to Asafa and the other athletes. Welcome to the major leagues, we should have expected it.

His reputation and credibility on the other hand are extremely relevant in a position such as the one he is in.
                In a political campaign, or any media campaign, it is not necessary to prove the accuracy of any "rumors". It puts your opponent on the backfoot to prove that the story is false and waste time or gives the other side the upper hand.

If you know for certain that someone has falsified their academic credentials, are you saying you still would consider them as qualified to head your national drug enforcement agency? I wouldn't.
                That is irrelevant if he has a "reputable" track record of handling the job. The article is achieving exactly what it is designed to do, get social media tlaking and debating this non-issue and taking away the glare from the the bigger issues.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Suh babylon media a employ di man? Dem expect I'm to fax it to Dem ova di phone?

Ok , I guess we will disagree on that.

If I was the minister in charge of Sport and such an article was posted in a major publication as the Wall Street Journal, I would kindly invite Dr Elliot privately to a meeting and ask him to furnish the relevant documents.

If he produced them I would issue a public statement that we are satisfied that Mr Elliot has the credentials he says he has and leave it there. If he could not produce them or tell me where I could obtain them he would have to go!

We are talking about the reputation of a national program which is under serious attack, it is not something to allow egos and personal pride to get in the way of.

To use the same Obama/birther example, he could ignore it for a while because he knew it was not true, but when the story started picking up steam and more people like Trump started to get too much undeserved attention he had to do what he did to kill it.

This is a different world we live in today. Perception is reality.
                    Last edited by Islandman; November 14, 2013, 01:08 PM.

That could have already been done. How many readers of the Wall Street Journal has any interest whatsoever in the credentials of the head of a TINY organisation such as JADCO in a little Third World country like Jamaica. This article is akin to putting away a winning lotto ticket for safety in a bank vault. Months later, after you've gotten everything in order....change your tel#, secured your lawyer, tell who fi tell fi come kiss yuh whatsitnotsit, identify your new house........ then you cash in.

The question you should ask is why would the WSJ even publish this article if as you say it is of no interest. You know how many other international media houses pick up on WSJ stories?

This is WAR!

Jangle you getting caught up in the dirty ways of the enemy instead of focusing on winning the battle. The enemy wants to KILL you, ignore at your own risk. In fact that is why we are in the position we are now in, bawling foul instead of fighting back.

Lol...Pablo is a quack !

read my suggestion for dealing with this in my other thread.

Complete Nutter, yes!

I fully agree.

Well one other Doc who I know knows him well has said he is a disgrace to the profession.

Frankly, from his many irresponsible utterances over the years, i long ago wrote him off.

If these are the kind of lunatics we put in important public positions, we deserve what we get!