Some Jamaican Coaches Want Penn Boycott?

Re: Some Jamaican Coaches Want Penn Boycott?

Tenk yuh sah!
    ...but, im kno wi kno weh hit a come fram!

...but, to hot headedly ...soem would say cowardly slink around and threaten withdrawal?

NO!

...that cannot be an option!

I think you guys are missing the point here , the option to withdraw is part of the negotiating ploy.It must be after we anuh poppy show.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tenk U again.

Penn was small before we made it big.

So U support them in the perfidy of making alternative arrangements when they willingly fund americans? We truly must be children of a lesser God.

We need to get transactional and go for tghe best deal. I think Penn people are idiots for making it get this far. They have more to lose. Jakans will get tons of scholarships regardless. Champs, Carifta and world Games are more than enough showcase opportunities for us to secure scholarships.

As usual we have it backward, why not get our dam selves organize then talk about a pull out? What may happen is a few schools pull out for a year and other(some of who say they are going to pull) show up. It is no different from Chicita Banana killing our Banana and not one Jamaican Organization to say Boycott them, you only hear a few individuals saying it but buying their bananas.

We need to organise and then decide what are the step to take, I go to Penn from time to time, yes I would support an organized boycott, but I bet it won't happen. Who is Erwin Clear taking to? and is he representing these school's umbrella? Good move by him but he needs the help of JAAA or a coaches assocaiation of Jamaica to really affect changes.

I think of the Reebok games here in NYC, Ideally suitable to fill that vacum , that 35,000 plus at Penns would look small if the REBOOK meet stepped in and made an offer , they would have to build a new stadium right away , the whole a brooklyn alone would show up.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Agreed.

However Penn should have made the first overture, as they have far more at stake.

Penny wise and pound foolish.

Karl,
                  I would support a boycott but only because I want to see more Jamaican races. We are the biggest supporters of this event. We need to see more Jamaicans on the track.

The other problem is the rude security. My group bought 22 tickets this year and this security guard had the nerve to tell me that he is not going to allow me to re-enter the reserve area if I come downstairs again.

To give the devil is due, they do show some respect, the Jamaican Flag is in the only foreign flag flown at the Penn Relays. I am not sure is this is a marketing strategy or it is because the Jamaica Tourist Board supports the event.

True Willi but you know how them capitalists are, them nah complain as long as the money a go inna them pocket.

We have the obligation to show them the inequalities and alternatives.
                    Maybe we should also start looking elsewhere as now a lot of Jamaicans are in the South for example who need a quality meet with Jamaicans involved.