• Facing The Uncomfortable Reality Of Drugs

FACING THE UNCOMFORTABLE REALITY OF DRUGS

There was a time when Jamaicans were content to believe that the only reason why our athletes lost races at global track meets was because they were competing against drug cheats.

We rejoiced whenever someone, especially an American athlete, got caught. News of an American testing positive was like hearing news that you just won the lottery and, to a large extent, validated our beliefs that our athletes were clean and were being the top because many of those who stood there were there because of the chemical help they had along the way.

But after 18 adverse findings over the past five years, including lifetime bans for Steve Mullings and Julian Dunkley, a six-year ban for Dominique Blake, and a rash of minor offences, suddenly Jamaicans, or a large number of us, are taking a different approach to this drug testing thing.

It was shortly after the Commonwealth Games in 2006 that I first started hearing this ‘mantra’ that Jamaican athletes don’t take drugs. I found it kind of amusing but really didn’t say anything publicly about it. I found it amusing because if there was ever a country with an ‘enhancement’ culture, it would be Jamaica.

When I was a little boy I would often hear grown men talk about the benefits having a Guinness and a Phensic before sex. It was during a time when concoctions like ‘Strongback’, ‘Irish Moss’ and pills called ‘gungu’ that my more senior high school colleagues would talk about when boasting about their sexual encounters, were all the rage.

Fast forward 20 years and we hear stories every day about young men taking Viagra to get that ‘extra’ edge in the bedroom. Many students suck down cans of stimulant-laden Red Bull and Monster for a variety of reasons. But no, Jamaicans don’t take drugs nor do our athletes take performance enhancers.
    It’s almost as if we fail to recognize that many, if not all of our athletes grew up immersed in this culture of ours. How realistic is it that they would remain untouched by it?.

Now this is not to say that our elite athletes are getting help from a lab. The bulk of the adverse findings so far have been for stimulants – 2-methyl-4-hexanamine and oxilifrine and punishment has ranged from three to six months. In fact, in 2010 when a number of our athletes appeared before the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission, it was for the inadvertent ingestion of methyl-hexanamine. Like former elite sprinter Ato Boldon suggested recently, these are lesser offences in the grand scheme of things. These substances might be considered performance enhancers but the jury is still out as to how much enhancement they truly provide, especially in light of the fact that many ‘stimulants’ are legal when not taken just prior to competition.

That being said though, the fact is that now that an inordinate number of Jamaican athletes are running afoul of the World Anti-Doping Agency’s Code, suddenly we have a problem; not with the athletes but with the code. When Dr. Wade Exum exposed the USATF’s alleged cover up of American athletes who failed drug tests but who were allowed to compete at major championships, we all cheered and exclaimed that we knew all along that they were cheating. In reality the hated Carl Lewis tested positive for stimulants too, but we continue to crucify him.

Yes, we know Lewis is not well liked. I used to hold him in high esteem and was my hero back in the 1980s, but I grew to dislike him, a lot. Still, one cannot deny the facts. He tested positive for a stimulant. Now however, when our athletes test for stimulants, all of a sudden the list of banned substances is too long and too varied. How are the athletes to cope?

Did we ever consider that when we were considering the case of many of the American or European athletes who failed tests during that period? Heck no! We were too caught up in the validation of our beliefs. Now that the shoe is on the other foot it is easy now to find fault with the system under which many athletes, those who cheat, are being exposed.

Here is the reality. Whether the list of banned substances is extensive or not, all the athletes have to live by it, not just Jamaican athletes. Our anti-doping agency has to do a better job of educating the athletes and the people, and the athletes need to do a much better job of watching what they take and what they eat.

Yes, a number of athletes, our athletes, are getting into trouble now but I don’t hear Bolt’s name being called, I never heard Juliet Cuthbert’s name being called. I never heard the names Winthrop Graham, Danny McFarlane, Juliet Campbell, Sandie Richards, Brigette Foster, Lacena Golding, or Donald Quarrie being mentioned in connection with any drug scandals. If these past greats could do it, the current generation can too.

We need to stop making excuses, stop living in a dream world and start facing reality.

http://gleanerblogs.com/sports/?p=2142

A Dose of Reality!

Karl, this writer has certainly touched on some uncomfortable truths!

This is an interesting, hard-hitting article.

That he has, boss!

Dark Days

That he has, boss!
        Karl, many people still haven’t grasped the fact that the reputation of the Jamaican product has been severely damaged and that some of the luster of Jamaica’s sprint prowess is already gone!

Is it deserved though???

Yup!
            We have taken a number of rapid succeeding hits.

Trust has to be regained. The quicker we set up JADCO in a manner such that its every action can bear the most penetrating of scrutiny, the better for all our stakeholders.

Poor articles.

First off, except for McKenley/Wint time, the previous generations are NOT GREAT in comparison. This presently IS our greatest generation and we are lucky to see them first hand right now.

Carl Lewis is depised by us because HE COVERED up his positive stimulant tests for years and was preaching on his bully pulpit and still is. When we all found out 15 years later he acted like it was nothing..rightttttt!

The rejoicing over the Yankee busts was largely STEROIDS and known masking agents. No way should we conflate this with di plethora of stimulant busts we face. The few steroid bust we have seen should beour real focus and we need to eradicate that with extreme prejudice.

If Jamaica was such an enhancement culture, then where were the busts all along, and why the doom and gloom about Jadco, when they are the ONLY ones busting Jamaican athletes for whatever?

Speak for yourself, but I was not killing Tori Edwards for stimulants in sweetie or Inger Miller for coffee.

The article is a mess.

This writer is stealing from my reggaeboyzsc forum posts!

Seriously though, this is exactly the way I see it. Do a search for Carl Lewis' name on this or any Jamaican forum and see how we ( me included) gave him hell when the story came out that he tested positive. Steroid, stimulant, who cared? Drugs were drugs as far as we were concerned. Carl Lewis and Ben Johnson were no different.

Now we are all village pharmacists.

Not deserved, but certainly understandable.

If say Sanya Richards Ross had tested positive for a diuretic, what would Jamaicans reaction be?

Most likely something like this:

"Seeit deh, she dis yard, gone run fe 'merica and dem tun her inna druggist!"

Our queen run inna problem and we gone pon Google fe study bio-chemistry.

We were not fair in accusing others in the past, why should we expect them to be fair to us?
                  Last edited by Islandman; October 21, 2013, 03:28 PM.

What's going on with the Tyson Gay's drug bust???
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/oth...der-trial.html

Pistorius, who has been charged with the premeditated murder of his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp, faces the additional ignominy of having his Paralympic world records annulled and having to return his London 2012 Paralympic medals if evidence is given during his trial that he was taking steroids before or during the London Games.
                      The World Anti-Doping Agency said that it would allow the criminal proceedings to run their course rather than open an immediate case against him.
                      “Wada is aware of the newspaper reports suggesting that steroids were found at the home of Oscar Pistorius,” Wada said in a statement to Telegraph Sport. “As this is a police matter, Wada and the South Africa Institute for Drug-Free Sport must work appropriately with the police. Bearing in mind the ongoing police investigation, Wada must refrain from making any statement at present.”
                      It is standard procedure for Wada and other anti-doping agencies to wait for a criminal investigation to finish before they take formal action, although evidence presented in the Pistorius trial could be used in a sports hearing.
                      The International Athletics Federation said that any evidence given under oath that Pistorius took steroids would be treated as full disclosure and that it would react to the allegation retrospectively.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Don't know, not following it closely.

OF course, cause he is a dyam hypocrite and covered it up for 15 years.

Tom drunk, but Tom nuh fool!