• Everybody wants his 15 minute of fame

Tim Montgomery on Bolt: I pray that he's clean

Rachel Axon, USA TODAY Sports 8:05 p.m. EDT September 10, 2013

(Photo: Kirby Lee, USA TODAY Sports)
    Story Highlights
    • He has seen current world's fastest man improve form and strength over years
    • Bolt one of two who has run a faster time than Montgomery and not been tied to doping

SHARE 40 CONNECT 24 TWEETCOMMENTEMAILMORE

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- In the 11 years since Tim Montgomery set the world record in the 100 meters, the time has fallen considerably.
    The 9.78-second sprint he clocked in Paris in September 2002 was the fastest ever at the time but would later be disqualified after he received a two-year ban in 2005 from The Court of Arbitration for Sport for doping. Although Montgomery never tested positive, he admitted in 2008 to taking testosterone and human growth hormone over an 17-month span in 2000 and '01.
    RESTART: Tim Montgomery up and running
    Montgomery maintains he was clean when he set the world record.
    Since posting that time, six men have had better marks. Jamaican Nesta Carter matched Montgomery's time. He has not been tied to doping.
    American Justin Gatlin ran a 9.77 but had his record annulled after testing positive for banned substances. Jamaican Asafa Powell matched that time in two races and ran a 9.72 in 2008. He tested positive for a banned substance in June.
    American Tyson Gay and Jamaican Yohan Blake each clocked 9.69 seconds, but both have been tied to doping. Gay tested positive in June. Blake served a three-month ban in 2009.
    Besides Montgomery, Gatlin is the only one to have his time disqualified.
    Usain Bolt, the current world record holder, is the only runner besides Carter who has run a faster time than Montgomery and not been tied to performance enhancing drugs. The Jamaican has the three fastest times ever and set the current world record (9.58 seconds) in 2009.
    Montgomery has not seen Bolt, 27, since he was a teenager but has watched his form improve over the years. While Montgomery says he thinks the sport has as big of a doping problem now as it did when he competed, he hopes Bolt does not get tied to PEDs.
    "I cannot give you my opinion on Bolt," he says. "I sit back and watched him when he was 18 years old and how he ran, wild running and how he fixed his form and everything else, I pray that he's clean. I pray. If he goes down, it's gonna set track and field back big time.
    "I would love to see what his training is to run that fast. I want to see what his bench press is, what his squats (are)," he says. "9.58, oh my goodness, what is he doing?"
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Let's see which Jamaican journalist reads the forum:

WADA wants to step up blood testing program

Thursday September 12, 2013 4:00 AM

MONTREAL (AP) — The World Anti-Doping Agency says it wants to develop laboratory testing in "countries or areas of the world with limited or no blood analytical capability."
    Testing programs in athletics powerhouses including Jamaica and Kenya have been criticized for taking too few samples.
    WADA says its board agreed a laboratories strategy on the sidelines of IOC meetings in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
    The agency will next month publish an updated list of prohibited substances, including hydrocodone and tramadol, and said it will continue monitoring how athletes consume caffeine and nicotine "to detect patterns of misuse in sport."
    The board approved funding for 29 research projects, including "longitudinal monitoring for testosterone abuse" and "EPO gene doping detection."
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hydrocordone and tramadol.......lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why put medications that will turn you into crack heads on the list , those two drugs make you incapacitated to do anything but sleep.

Both have addictive properties and are abused by patients who seek treatments for them.

WADA ave sense ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

'Bolt inspired me':Gatlin

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

'Bolt inspired me': I really respect and appreciate him - Gatlin

Published: Tuesday | October 1, 2013 1 Comment

Jamaica's Usain Bolt (centre), Nesta Carter (right) and the United States' Justin Gatlin display their medals during the presentation ceremony for the men's 100 metres final at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in August. Bolt won gold, Gatlin, silver, and Carter, bronze. - file

André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter
          [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Justin [COLOR=blue !important]Gatlin[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] was an emotional man at the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]London [COLOR=blue !important]Olympics[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] in 2012, not because he had finished behind [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Usain [COLOR=blue !important]Bolt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and Yohan Blake in the 100 metres final, but because he had lined up beside them in the first place.
          "I got emotional at [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]the [COLOR=blue !important]Olympics[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] because my goal was to line up next to this guy and I was lined up next to him and [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Yohan [COLOR=blue !important]Blake[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] - between them, actually. I felt like, 'You may not like me, but you are going to respect that I am here; we are going to battle today.'"
          They say one's biggest rival is sometimes also their biggest admirer.
          When Jamaica sprinting superstar Usain Bolt announced himself to the world in 2008 at the Beijing Olympic Games, winning three gold medals in world record fashion, American Justin Gatlin was watching from afar in astonishment - at home, serving the second of a four-year drug ban.
          Gatlin, a former 100m world record holder himself, was still weighing his options after he was slapped with suspension in 2006 when higher-than-normal levels of testosterone showed up in his system.
          The then 28-year-old, disgraced and banished from the sport he loved, had started flirting with the idea of a career switch to American football, modelling or even acting.
          But what Bolt did in Beijing and a year later at the World Championships in Berlin, where he bettered his own world records in the 100m, 200m and as a member of Jamaica's 4x100m relay team, not only convinced Gatlin that the big Jamaican was the greatest sprinter ever, but also served as the motivation he needed to get back into the sport.
          "I watched (Usain) Bolt become Bolt from afar," Gatlin told The Gleaner in a recent sit down interview. "What he did, it inspired me. I was like, 'I will see you soon, Bolt. I will make sure I prepare and work as hard as I can, work overtime to make sure I can line up next to him."
          Reclaim Respect
          From 2008 to the point of his return to the track at a low-key meet in Estonia on August 3, 2010, Gatlin's main objective was to reclaim the respect of his peers and, most of all, to compete against Bolt - the man he hailed as the greatest sprinter of all time. That, in itself, is a mild surprise given the less-than-chummy relationship they both share and the public verbal squabbles of the past.
          "On paper, he (Bolt) is the best of all time. Multiple world records; anything that he has put his mind to he has accomplished, and in a shorter span than a lot of athletes have done in the past," Gatlin acknowledged. "At one point in time, I had the world record (later revoked after drug ban), Maurice Greene had the world record, Asafa Powell and Carl Lewis; it's a hard thing to do, so to be able to do it more than once is a feat in itself, and that's just in the 100m we are talking about.
          "You add the 200m and relay and it blows your mind," Gatlin added. "I really respect and appreciate him and he made me want to contribute more to the sport."
          Contributing to the sport, as far as Gatlin is concerned, is working hard to keep Bolt honest, to remind him every time that he will always find a determined adversary in Justin Gatlin.
          "Usain Bolt has changed the game. He made track and field more exciting. He made people sit and not go to the bathroom. It's almost like a Mike Tyson fight; you go to the bathroom you may miss the fireworks. He stops the world whenever he runs.
          "But it's my obligation to the sport, it's my job to ensure that it remains competitive. I don't train hard every day to come out there and get silver. I want silver, gold or bronze, but I go out there every time with no fear and with the determination to win," said Gatlin.

Wow, there is no point in saying something like that if you don't mean it, very unusual!

designed to lull ...

Why put medications that will turn you into crack heads on the list , those two drugs make you incapacitated to do anything but sleep.

Both have addictive properties and are abused by patients who seek treatments for them.

WADA ave sense ?
                How about Nicotine? Can that help as a PED?

I hear you, but Bolt don't train for one man, so it would be pointless. If he was consistently in the mid to low 9.7's I could see that but that is not even the case here.

If his heart was not taken in the flat event it must have been ripped out in the relay, he not only couldn't even keep pace but bolt just caught another gear and left him gasping in his wake!