A theory about Bolt. I kind of agree.

• A theory about Bolt. I kind of agree.

There was a time when the 100M Olympic champion and the heavyweight champion of the world were the two most important sporting personalities on the planet. That is just not true anymore.

But now that Bolt has gone some way to restoring this imbalance (with the commensurate level of remuneration that attends) perhaps we might see a testing of this theory.... although the allure of being a Payton Manning or Lebron James or Gareth Bale might make it difficult...

But anyway…the theory…

Rick Broadbent
    Published at 12:01AM, September 6 2013
    Here is a theory. The fastest man of all time is not even the man of the moment. Usain Bolt ends another season of alchemy in Brussels tonight. He is the undisputed best, what boxers call the GOAT (greatest of all time), a superhuman one-off. “I don’t think so,” David Epstein countered.

The American journalist’s new book, The Sports Gene, is provoking spirited debate about the merits of the 10,000-hour rule, which suggests that practice beats innate talent. Nature, nurture or neither, Epstein says it is actually down to both.

Bolt, who runs in the 100 metres in the Diamond League finale, has the AVTN3 speed gene, but would never have made it as a sprinter in the United States.

“I think we would definitely find someone as fast if we looked in other sports,” Epstein said. “I don’t think he’s a mutant that just happened, luckily, to be born in Jamaica.”

This is not a headline-grabbing quest for attention. Indeed, Epstein thought that publishers would “torpedo” his book proposal because it did not come to a shelf-shifting conclusion. However, he said: “Usain Bolt was 6ft 4in when he was 15 and wanted to be a pro soccer player or cricketer. If he was born anywhere else, other than Jamaica or certain parts of the Caribbean, no way would he be running track.

“In the States he would be playing American football or basketball. If we are talent-searching, we weed out the guys who are tall and explosive because height is so prized in other sports. Most elite sprinters are average height because taller ones tend to be in other sports.”

He cites the case of Calvin Johnson, a wide receiver in the NFL. He was also 6ft 4in when he was 15 and has clocked 4.35sec for the 40-yard dash, slower than Bolt but without specialist training. Johnson was courted by college football teams and last year signed a $132 million (about £85 million) contract. A Detroit Lions team-mate, Roy Williams, suggested amending Johnson’s nickname from Megatron to Bolt.

Epstein says that this is not to discredit Bolt, but to point out that athletes are distinguished both by their genes and training environments. Jamaica encourages people to run, other countries do not.

“There is no chance of a footballer slipping through the college system in the States,” he added. “In Jamaica, where high-school coaches bribe parents with refrigerators to go to their school, it’s the same with track.”

Epstein says one of the most surprising discoveries of his globetrotting survey was that scientists are withholding research on racial differences because of fear of a backlash. “That was an eye-opener,” he said.

Yet differences are obvious. Hence, most of the great sprinters of modern times have their roots in the same area of West Africa. Most of the great distance runners come from the Nilotic corridor in East Africa; many come from a specific tribe, the Kalenjin in Kenya. Epstein says that 17 Americans have run under 2hr 10min for the marathon, but 32 Kalenjin men did that in 2011 alone. The Kalenjin have narrow hips and long, thin limbs. Epstein visited Kenya and asked elite runners if they would swap running for a decent job. Many said yes.

“If Kenya had an economic explosion overnight, the running phenomenon would be done overnight,” he said. “And Kenyans are getting worse at track because they have no interest. Teenagers want to skip it altogether and go straight to the marathon, because that’s where the money is.”

There are always exceptions to theories. Mo Farah was born in Somalia, raised in Djibouti and moved to England at the age of 8. Epstein says that shows the culture is not a necessity, but Farah’s heritage means that he has the Nilotic body shape — “I have not measured him, but would expect him to have long legs in proportion to his body size”.

Size, then, is important. Paula Radcliffe has rare aerobic capacity and was “probably one of the best-trained athletes who ever lived”. So why did she not get the Olympic gold medal she craved? In a nutshell, she was too tall.

In the nadir of Athens, she was damned as a quitter for dropping out of the Olympic marathon in 95F (35C) heat. Epstein says she stopped because she is 5ft 8in. Smaller people have a greater skin surface area compared with the volume of the body, making them more able to unload heat. When body temperature reaches 104F, the central nervous system forces “a slowdown or complete stop of effort”. The winner in Athens was 4ft 11in. “If it’s hot, count out the tall runners,” he said.

So what of the 10,000-hour rule? Graft is clearly important, as Radcliffe proves, but so are genes, as her VO2 max suggests. Malcolm Gladwell, whose book, Outliers, built on earlier research about training, has criticised Epstein for the evidence he cited regarding chess masters. Epstein said that a 2007 study found the average time to become a master was 11,053 hours, but the range was from 3,000 to 23,000 hours. “Gladwell said I should have picked grandmasters,” Epstein said, “but it seemed strange that the level I’d picked was not good enough, yet they were already way beyond 10,000 hours.”

When it comes to genes, Epstein says we are rolling the dice, but whether you come down on the side of nature or nurture, or somewhere in between, the Bolt era remains the tallest of stories.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/sport/...cle3861624.ece
    Last edited by Karl; September 6, 2013, 06:11 PM.

Old theory , tell him talk to Islandman, mi dun say it already , enviroment!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Seems to be saying pretty much what myself, Don1 and Mosiah have been saying:

Graft is clearly important, as Radcliffe proves, but so are genes...
      ....athletes are distinguished both by their genes and training environments.
      I have also had a feeling that this statement is true but had no proof:

Epstein says one of the most surprising discoveries of his globetrotting survey was that scientists are withholding research on racial differences because of fear of a backlash
      Just look at the reaction on this board to the mention of "sprint" and "gene" in the same sentence.

don't forget symmetrical knees and ankles -

http://www.plosone.org/article/info%...l.pone.0072244

Race is not a scientific term, it a social term. Many black Americans have more than 50% Causcasian genes.

I recall a British program where they said of all the prominent people they tested, Emmit King (yankee NFL star) had the highest %age of Sub-saharan black DNA they had seen at 79%!!!! Colin Jackson, the hurdler, was surprised to find that he was 39% caucasian.

I am surprised that all these mixed up africans are surprised , the african blood in the west is watered down through sexualy exploitation from slavery , from migration and immigration that goes with mixing with other cultures , west africans will tell us that in our face , again Jamaica is a classic example of this.

My uncle an Ex Munro grad was the fastest 100 m sprinter at western champs in his class and he was mixed to the point where his indian features shone through.If any gene was at play and still is to this day its champs.

We dont see that un watered gene from west africa shining through do we , where are the 100m specialist from west africa , or closer to home from Brazil which is as watered down as our culture , some would argue more so , could it be they are missing a champs gene ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That is absolutely true and I have stated it here before when discussing this topic.

However there is some correlation between geographic origin and how we classify race today, hence people get touchy and find it difficult to separate the two because they hear race when one is referring to geography.

Case in point, X making a comparsion to a "Chiney gene" whatever tht is, when I refer to the high occurrence of the ACTN3 gene in people of West African descent.

I can easily believe that scientists are extra careful when making public statements about this kind of science. This is totally understandable when you study the history of eugenics.

X do you understand the basics of genetics and how genes are inherited?

What the hell is a watered down gene? Or "the Indian gene"? You think because a mixed race person has the physical facial features of one side of his family, then it means all their DNA is in the same proportion? Have you ever heard of dominant and recessive genes?

My goodness, no wonder you have been making the posts you have been.
                Last edited by Islandman; September 8, 2013, 10:20 AM.

Boss I dont have time to read B.S , common sense run this

A) You and others admit they have a fast fiber gene in west africans

B) That Gene is identified in Jamaicans who they claim make them run fast.

So the questions is simple , why isnt it a factor with west african sprint dominance , who dont have the assimilation rates that we have in the carribbean ?

Are we to believe that this fast twitch is so dominate in the assimilated ones of Jamaica, more so the carribbean because that is where the pletheora of sprint dominance comes from , that rich mixture of cultures from the assimilated carribbean, is down to a west african gene , that west africans themselves fail to emulate or even challenge the assimilated ones dominace ?

I think yuh corn get mash wid common sense !

OK cool. DNA and genetics are BS. Common sense run tings.

Man have Indian hair and nose so him nuh muss have mostly Indian man genes? Simple logics!

So how him can win Munro Sports Day 100m race? Nuh islandman say only black man have dat gene?

Yeah man me corn get mash bad, bad. Me can't respond to dat kinda reasoning at all You win. LOL.

And just for the records, both your statements A and B are incorrect. It again shows that you do not want to understand or are being deliberately obtuse

Yuh a tell me say VENTURA at Prep School champs ,gene was down to some fast twitch west african gene ? nothing couldnt touch im from west africa !

Yuh know Ventura mixed background.

DWL. The insanity continues. Now we are at Prep School Champs.

What's the next stop? KPH maternity ward 5 yard baby dash? We must can find some elite world class sprinters there too, right out of the womb.

Pon the real though X, one of these days we haffe have a drink together. Jah know it would be a good time.

My uncle an Ex Munro grad was the fastest 100 m sprinter at western champs in his class and he was mixed to the point where his indian features shone through.If any gene was at play and still is to this day its champs.
                            ****!!! Suh Mo ah yuh uncle? Yuh head swell?? ... big mi mean

Dat mean Karl an Mo ah bredda?? Ah wha dis Faada???

Dis forum really family friendly babba!!!!! woooooiiiiieee

Easy wid dat , Mo wish im a mi uncle..lol..and im indian features a struggle fi come tru.