• ISSA not in favour with school boys drug testing

ISSA not in favour with school boys drug testing

8:45 pm, Thu August 29, 2013

Dr Walton Small, the President of the Inter Secondary School's Sports Association, ISSA, says his association is not in favour of drug testing at the high school level.

After six Jamaican track athletes and one footballer tested positive for banned drugs earlier this year, a slew of individuals including Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller called for drug testing of the nation's young athletes.

Ahead of the new school boy football season Small says more needs to be put in place before testing can begin at that level.

‘We will it be pushing for it, but if it comes it will have to work. Because right now we believe that if they are gonna do some this like this, we are talking about phases. Can you imagine a rural person, they drink some bush tea and you may never know it might just turn up something that is unfavourable.

And therefore we believe that before we get into that at all we must do serious education. However, if it is something that is pushed on us, we may not have the resources, but the companies on board will have to do something to really intensify the education process because it can have some serious consequences,’ Small added.

One of the seven Jamaicans who have tested positive in 2013 participated at the high school level this year.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/sports/issa...s-drug-testing

ISSA not in favour with school boys drug testing

8:45 pm, Thu August 29, 2013

Dr Walton Small, the President of the Inter Secondary School's Sports Association, ISSA, says his association is not in favour of drug testing at the high school level.

After six Jamaican track athletes and one footballer tested positive for banned drugs earlier this year, a slew of individuals including Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller called for drug testing of the nation's young athletes.

Ahead of the new school boy football season Small says more needs to be put in place before testing can begin at that level.

‘We will it be pushing for it, but if it comes it will have to work. Because right now we believe that if they are gonna do some this like this, we are talking about phases. Can you imagine a rural person, they drink some bush tea and you may never know it might just turn up something that is unfavourable.

And therefore we believe that before we get into that at all we must do serious education. However, if it is something that is pushed on us, we may not have the resources, but the companies on board will have to do something to really intensify the education process because it can have some serious consequences,’ Small added.

One of the seven Jamaicans who have tested positive in 2013 participated at the high school level this year.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/sports/issa...s-drug-testing
    Dr. Small has common sense, how can we expect out teenagers to avoid cold medicines and the other minor stuff?

Oh?

Originally posted by Time View Post
      Dr. Small has common sense, how can we expect out teenagers to avoid cold medicines and the other minor stuff?
      Right, like the stuff a number of our soccer players have reportedly been purchasing at York Pharmacy.

senior footballer ....

as i understand it the jff team doctor provided the supplement in that instance.

children should not undergo this kind of testing that is way overreaching. issa is better served ramping up on educating juveniles/minors of PED's rather than testing them.

are bahamians and americans testing their children? mek dem try it in america and si how fast the ACLU drop on them like a tonne of bricks

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          Right, like the stuff a number of our soccer players have reportedly been purchasing at York Pharmacy.

Tell me more about it? Cold medicine or steroids?

Agree 100%. And wi not even start talk about the cost!

Schools should hire coaches who...dat nuh mek nuh sense. These are the same people who don't give a damn about the students.

You Are Correct

Agree 100%. And wi not even start talk about the cost!

Schools should hire coaches who...dat nuh mek nuh sense. These are the same people who don't give a damn about the students.
              I agree with you.

In addition, students are not professional athletes/sportsmen. Children and teens take part in sports for the entertainment aspect while we simply pray that they continue as professionals and represent us when they become adults. But while they are still youngsters, they should be allowed to have their fun in peace.

There is no question in my mind that increased education is the way to go (for both youngsters and their coaches) even while we place greater scrutiny on the individuals employed as coaches!