• Trivia for the Cricket fans.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdyF_YCIlXg

Which former West Indies Cricketer had a number 1 hit song with this song?

Uton Dowe

yeah man you got that right.

HL can read yuh nuh!

I know the song well but didn't know it was Uton Dowe... question is was he a better singer than bowler? some say he epitomised the "fast and foolish" moniker I liked the speed he generated but he just couldn't control it...

I lived in Jamaica in the early 70's.

It is actually a 'wild' guess--or better yet like muscle memory, there is neuron memory.

Dowe was energised but arrogant young man. I think his persona let him down more than his skills. He got festered easily and was a rebel. I think that affected his career more than anything. He mellowed later but by then cricket career was over.

Can say he was a good DJ as he only did a few songs and not many appearances. He still played cricket until the 90s in St.Mary for Oracabessa team.

One of the "rum bar" cricket stories that I remember vividly from my youth was about Uton Dowe vs Clive Lloyd in a Shell Shield match. Allegedly it was the same match that a young Mikey Holding had bounced the skipper a few times and had him in trouble.

According to legend, after Holding did his thing and then Uton got the ball, the shouts from the stands were: "Gwaan Uton! If the young bwoy can lick him you must can knock him out"

So Uton dropped it short to Lloyd and the ball was last seen leaving Sabina on its way to the moon.

Since this story was always told after spending extended time with J Wray and his nephew I would never vouch for its accuracy. Nice story though.

you never hear the one that the spectators were jeering him and Uton 'mooned' the crowd. LOL. Them say since then he never got any call up.

No I never heard that but it sound like something he would do.

don't forget seymour newman ......